Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: OC'ing xp2500+

  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    OC'ing xp2500+

    Hey guys, i want to get a little more push out of my processor and was wondering the best way, (and safest) to overclock my AMD athlon XP 2500+. Any links or info may help. Im new at this, so any info is a big plus. thanks. My rig has a Soyo KT600 Dragon ultra mobo, 1 gig (2 sticks)pc3200mem, 1 160gig ultra ata, and 1 120gig ultra ata hd's, and a nvidia geforce 6600gt graphics card. Dont really want to touch pci components or agp during oc. thanks guys. any info will help!

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    Does your motherboard allow OCing in BIOS?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    yes, auto and manual with fsb settings

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    I can go up to 200 mhz in cpu frequency mode, the default is auto which i have now

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    103

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    Loosen your timmings on your ram.

    Overclocking its pretty safe if you know what you're doing.

    Volts is what kills.

    Volts = Heat.

    Good cooling or decent solves that problem.

    The only thing thats ever gave out on me was my mobo because I seated the memory too hard. Not due to overclocking.

    Overclocking is just like driving 200kmph on a 120kmph highway, theres always some kind of risk.
    System.

    6400@stock
    AB9 Mobo
    2gb DDR 800 ram.
    8800GTS
    2X160Gb HDD
    250GB HDD



    3D 06 - Highest 1112
    3D 05 - 19320

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Minnesota
    Age
    55
    Posts
    662

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    Do you have some decent cooling for the processor? If so, you can get a reasonable overclock without much risk, if any.

    When I got my barton 2500+, I used a thermalright SLK-900U cooler, then just set the FSB to 200, and the multiplier at 11. (Lock the PCI bus first) Easy 400Mhz overclock to 3200+ speed, and the processor ran at 39c idle, and 43c under load. Plenty cool for that chip.

    If you want to squeeze every last ounce of performance out of the chip, and see just how far it will go, you'll find plenty of help around here.

    As it happens, I have the SLK-900U for sale in the trading forums:
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=437897
    What a coincidence!

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    I dont remember if XPs allowed lowering multiplier,my old one allowed lowering and raising cause it was a mobile chip but im not sure if normal XPs even allow lowering.
    In any case if you can lower it,lower it to like 4 or 5 and then raise fsb little by little to find the max fsb your board can do,RAM may also limit you so relax memory timings to the max.
    Run prime95 torture test with "in place fft" to test for stability.

    Once you have found your max fsb,next thing is to find max CPU speed,leave multiplier at default for you CPU then raise fsb little by little and run prime95 torture test in "small fft" to test for stability.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    My multiplier is at 11 right now(says cpuz), but i dont know if my bios has a option to lock my pci bus, or change the cpu multiplier. I was noticing the values of my Dram/agp/pci change as i was changing the fsb freq. didnt save to cmos though. How do i get prime 95 stability test?

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    I don't think the kt-600 chipset lets you lock the agp and pci buses. I had one, the albatron version, and I had a mobile 2600 Barton installed. I could safely manipulate speed only by changing either the multiplier for the chip or the divider for the default fsb. If you're running a 2500+ XP, your overclocking choices are very limited unless you want to risk stressing whatever components are on your pci and agp buses by bumping your fsb. Unless that's a mobile chip, you cannot raise or lower your multiplier. In contrast, a mobile Barton allows you to both raise and lower the multiplier. Like someone above said, you probably want to set your divider to 6 (fsb of 200). If your chip can handle that, it will be the fastest you can run the chip without stressing your buses. I mean, sure, you probably can bump the fsb up a little, but you'll risk system stability and stress to your components.

    The lack of a pci-agp lock was the biggest criticism of the kt-600 board, and in fact was one of the main factors for the demise of via-based mobos. The kt series boards, from the kt-266 through the kt-600, all had no locks, in contrast to the nvidia boards. Some of the early Athlon64 also had problems with the agp-pci buses not locking. Personally, I thought via boards were still pretty good boards, having owned the the soltek kt-333 and the alby kt-600, and the soltek K8T-Pro-939 board in my sig. The kt-333 and kt-600 boards by the way are running to this day at my son's school, where they are part of two systems I donated.
    Last edited by alex666; 03-26-2007 at 06:01 PM.
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    my bios has cpu to pci divider, can i change this setting when i overclock to keep the same default 33mhz speed for my pci slots?

  11. #11
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    that board has a dip switch setup to change the multiplier. you'll need either the manual or download the pdf manual from the soyo site. the big question with your xp2500 is whether it's multiplier is unlocked.

    you will be able to raise the fsb so the cpu runs 11x200 as long as your memory is pc3200/400.

    the best help will be in the soyo forum. andy has 2 of those boards.

    http://forums.pcper.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25

    edit: there is no pci lock on the board but you probably run 210 without a problem.
    ud

  12. #12
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    28

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    found the dipswitch multiplier in the manual, and on my board, how do i find out if my cpu is unlocked?

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    let's move this to the soyo thread. that way andy will have the info that you and i are working on.



    ud

  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Age
    63
    Posts
    337

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    I had one of those boards and it wouldn't run stable at 200MHZ. If I remember there was something a little odd about the dip switches and you had to be careful not to set them all backwards because the manual was confusing.
    Gigabyte DS3, E4300, 7900GS, 2x1GB OCZ pc6400, Antec 650 Trio, 3GHZ
    Asus A8N-E, Opteron 165, x800Pro, XP90 2.85 ghz
    Gigiabyte K8N51PVMT Micro, NV6600
    Abit Nf7s v2.0 M2600+, Biostar M7NCD pro M2400+, Shuttle AN35 M2200+

  15. #15
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: OC'ing xp2500+

    well,see if u can change the multi in bios. set it to 10 or soemthing,save reboot and cpuz it

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •