Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 58
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Just ordered one and AS5
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  2. #17
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    36
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    I got mine to 2.5ghz at 1.45 volts prime stable. I bet in a couple weeks I can hit 2.8 with 1.55.

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    I'm looking forward to overclocking mine as well. Could only get 2.35 Ghz out of my Winchester and needed 1.60v to get that.

    So what will I notice different in the performance of my PC moving up to a dual core X2?
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  4. #19
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    36
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    You will notice big performance gains to say the least Just think of the performance you have now, and then an extra processor in the background helping with other services/apps/threads etc.

    I just got the other two today and they are both the same stepping as before - LCBKE 0643SPMW. Again, it seems 500mhz out of the box is easy to hit. I can also hit 2.6ghz and priming now. 2.7 @ 1.55v did not work.

  5. #20
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ramsey NJ
    Posts
    483

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    my machine has been humming along so nicely that I stopped coming here. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? In either case this looks like an awesome deal!
    1 Windows XP
    AMD XP 2600+ on ECS KM400-M2, Aspire X-QPack (green bezel)
    Sapphire Radeon 9600XT 128MB GDDR2 128-bit
    2x512 Kingston HyperX PC3200
    2x250g PATA

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    2 Windows XP [Nemesis 4.0]
    AMD 64 3400+ on BIOSTAR NF325-A7, Lian Li PC86
    HIS Radeon x1950 Pro
    2x1024 Corsair XMS PC3200
    1x80g Raptor, 1x250g PATA, 1x300g SATA, 1x500g SATA, 1x750g External HDD

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Been a long time since I posted. I would have ordered two of these, but my dad said one was enough.

    Got her up to 2.7GHz with 1.39v... right now temps are limiting me (58C average load). Need to upgrade my heatsink. I would post a screenie if I could remember how to link the damn images.

    LCBKE 0643SPMW. RIP my 3700+, retired yesterday.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Newegg now as the 2.0 Ghz Manchester core for $129 (retail version) if anyone prefers that core over the Toledo.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&Order=PRICE
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sumter,SC
    Age
    45
    Posts
    903

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Now down to $89.99!!!! Of course the price dropped the day after I ordered mine!!

  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Quote Originally Posted by liquidsoul View Post
    I got mine to 2.5ghz at 1.45 volts prime stable. I bet in a couple weeks I can hit 2.8 with 1.55.
    Mine is at 2.65 / 1.35v right now. Been running Orthos for 5 hours. I get errors after about 20 mins at 2.70. Planning to bump the voltage up next.

    Update: Seems stable at 2.75 Ghz / 1.45v but it runs hot - a little too hot for my taste.
    Last edited by Lenny; 04-21-2007 at 05:03 PM.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  10. #25
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 down to $90

    Now newegg has the OEM Toledo and Manchester core 2.0 Ghz for $90.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nd&Order=PRICE

    Some say the Manchester's OC better but YMMV. I got 2.65 at default voltage from my Toledo.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  11. #26
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indian-uhhh
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,807

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 down to $90

    Oh, and eWiz also has some pretty good prices on the X2 3800+. I order mine off of them. I don't know if it still works, but use the code 'wizbunny' (no quotes) and get an extra $5 off. Worked for me, but YMMV.

  12. #27
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    36
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    What stepping did you get Lenny?

  13. #28
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 now only $96

    Quote Originally Posted by liquidsoul View Post
    What stepping did you get Lenny?
    Same as yours - LCBKE0643SPMW Toledo
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  14. #29
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia, USSA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    13,825

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 down to $90

    Newegg now has the 3800 X2 in a combo deal with a Biostar T-Force 6100 AM2 mobo for $139.98! Hell of a nice combo for that price!
    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing

    Edmund Burke

    RIP PCPER TLR
    7-14-19

  15. #30
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ OEM Socket 939 down to $90

    Quote Originally Posted by kbohip View Post
    Newegg now has the 3800 X2 in a combo deal with a Biostar T-Force 6100 AM2 mobo for $139.98! Hell of a nice combo for that price!
    How about 2GB of PC5400 DDR2 for $90 or $75 if you have an email promo code to go along with that
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820609219
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •