Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Question Asrock overclock problem....

    ..or crappy heating? Ive got a Intel pentium 915 (2.8ghzx2 2mbx2 L2 cache) that runs 14x200Mhz. Im new to overclocking so I boosted the 200hmz up to 201 and the thing just refused to boot so I had to clear the CMOS data. putting it up by so little couldnt do that could it?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    which asrock mobo? i ask because the 775 dual vsta while a great mobo in terms of stability and other features, is a crappy overclocker. also, what are you using for a heatsink? i have an asrock vsta with a 915 mildly overclocked..and the pentium d's unfortunately are a hot running processor..they are not a processor i'd try to overclock at all without aftermarket cooling.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    is a conroexfire-esata2 mobo. its been great up to this. Yea they are hot CPU's and im getting a artic cooling frezzer pro 7 soon

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    53
    Posts
    10,804

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    I doubt it is a heat issue, as unless you raised the CPU voltage as well, that small overclock won't increase the temp at all.

    More likely you changed something you shouldn't have, or else the RAM can't take the higher speed. Try a lower RAM divider if the board has them.


    M

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    dual vista and the revised 4core dual are great overclockers since u dont have much of a control over voltages. what u need to do is look up fsb mods for 775 cpus, vrzone has them.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  6. #6
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    Quote Originally Posted by Meridian View Post
    I doubt it is a heat issue, as unless you raised the CPU voltage as well, that small overclock won't increase the temp at all.

    More likely you changed something you shouldn't have, or else the RAM can't take the higher speed. Try a lower RAM divider if the board has them.


    M
    I didnt touch to voltage, the RAM mHz is set to auto and its running really slow at about 233 Mhz with the option to go higher. Should I put up to a higher setting?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    53
    Posts
    10,804

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    What is the full rating of the RAM and what is it currently running at? That's all the 4-4-4-12 etc settings as well as the speed. The rating should be available from wherever you bought it.


    M

  8. #8
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    Quote Originally Posted by Meridian View Post
    What is the full rating of the RAM and what is it currently running at? That's all the 4-4-4-12 etc settings as well as the speed. The rating should be available from wherever you bought it.


    M
    this is the RAM ive got
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=126737
    its running at 266Mhz and I dont know about the 4-4-4-12 because its set to auto but i think its 4-4-4-12
    Last edited by qazwsx; 04-12-2007 at 09:21 AM. Reason: missed info

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    look up cpuz and itll tell ya timings, in winnie.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    53
    Posts
    10,804

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    As the man says. Fire up CPU-Z, and the "Memory" tab will tell you the current settings, and the "SPD" tab will tell you the design settings.


    M

  11. #11
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    ok its timings are as follows;
    clock speed 266Mhz (I can push that to 333Mhz, should I?)
    then its 4-4-4-12-15
    the FBS : DRAM=3:4
    anything else I u need to know?
    Last edited by qazwsx; 04-12-2007 at 03:16 PM. Reason: smily appered

  12. #12
    Joined
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    I really need help on this 1. whats going on?

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    drop the ram divider more and see again. po pa few pics of the bios screen as well, if you cant fint them online

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    103

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    I hated ASROCK, in raid 0 everytime I tired of oc it'd wipe my array.

    All i know is that when overclocking, you can get MUCH higher OC's without sata devices.
    System.

    6400@stock
    AB9 Mobo
    2gb DDR 800 ram.
    8800GTS
    2X160Gb HDD
    250GB HDD



    3D 06 - Highest 1112
    3D 05 - 19320

  15. #15
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Asrock overclock problem....

    thats what im saying for years. sata and oc dun go that well together..array and oc? hmmm

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •