Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    I know I should have installed more ram from the start but there you go.

    As ram has come down in price I thought I would add some more. I have '1024Mb Corsair Value Select VS1GBKIT400 PC3200 DDR400 Memory Kit' (2x512) installed and I was looking to add the same again, bringing my total ram up to 2Gb.

    Will this run ok, and will the two matched pairs work in dual channel mode?

    Your comments would be appreciated.

    Regards

    John

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Hey John,

    I'm going to move this over to the MSI forum.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Shouldn't be any problem at all. It should remain in dual channel. Expect memory speed to fall back to DDR333 however, perhaps even 200. This is entirely normal, is per AMD's specs, and does not indicate a problem.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    They now make single row 512MB sticks. So if all 4 sticks are single-row, then it will stay at DDR400 dual channel. Otherwise it will fall back to 333 or 266 just like BWM explained.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Thanks guys, I have ordered my new ram.

    Sorry moderator for putting thread on the wrong forum.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by BWM View Post
    Shouldn't be any problem at all. It should remain in dual channel. Expect memory speed to fall back to DDR333 however, perhaps even 200. This is entirely normal, is per AMD's specs, and does not indicate a problem.

    What he said


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    My new ram has arrived, they are a pair of double sided 512Mb sticks. Now the pair that are already in my PC are single sided will the advantage of the additional 1Gb of RAM out weight any disadvantages of loss of memory speed?

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by John Williams View Post
    My new ram has arrived, they are a pair of double sided 512Mb sticks. Now the pair that are already in my PC are single sided will the advantage of the additional 1Gb of RAM out weight any disadvantages of loss of memory speed?
    Yes. Much less paging to disk. Memory at any speed is still FAR faster than ANY hard disk in existence.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Age
    51
    Posts
    341

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by BWM View Post
    Shouldn't be any problem at all. It should remain in dual channel. Expect memory speed to fall back to DDR333 however, perhaps even 200. This is entirely normal, is per AMD's specs, and does not indicate a problem.
    why does the speed fall back?
    scott
    LOTS of Koolance water cooling hardware/cases/coolers/ for sale cheap. PM if interested.


  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    loading on the memory controller increases with the number of sticks and the number of chips on each stick. This skews/degrades the integrity of the timing waveforms, which effects higher speeds more than slow speeds.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,156

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    DONT FORGET TO MEMTEST THAT corsair value ram every once in a while. Those sticks DO go bad. RMA is no hassle though. From what i have seen many people have had one stick go bad on them.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: Adding additional RAM to a K8N Neo2 motherboard

    That a good point Morphed, this all started from a corsair value ram failure.

    Thanks guys for the advice

    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •