Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Age
    39
    Posts
    353

    q6600 what's too hot?

    i'm currently running the new intel quad 6600 at 100% i'm getting like 48c is this about normal? at idle it's somewher in the high 20's. i want to overclock it a little but at about 50c now i'm not sure if i can. my watercooling setup could be more efficient but i don't want to sacrifice noise. i have all my fans at the lowest speed cause the pc is in my bedroom. so what's the top safe operating temp for this chip? thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    even if you were getting 50c idle shouldnt be a big issue..theres 4 cores under the hood.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    If I'm not mistaken B3 steppings are rated up to 62.5C so I wouldn't even worry about it until you get upwards of 60+C and even then there usually reserve left from advertised specs.

    Mine runs around 55C at 3.2ghz quad orthos prime at priority 8 with 120 ultra air cooling and a fairly quiet fan.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near São Paulo, Brazil
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,416

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    Quote Originally Posted by mystikjoe View Post
    i'm currently running the new intel quad 6600 at 100% i'm getting like 48c is this about normal? at idle it's somewher in the high 20's. i want to overclock it a little but at about 50c now i'm not sure if i can. my watercooling setup could be more efficient but i don't want to sacrifice noise. i have all my fans at the lowest speed cause the pc is in my bedroom. so what's the top safe operating temp for this chip? thanks
    My E6400 runs hotter than this with stock HSF. Of course, that's in Brazil.
    ***STILL WITH THE DARK SIDE, BUT PLANNING TO GO BACK TO AMD SOON ***

    C2D E6400/ GA-P35-DS3 / HD4670


  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    Quote Originally Posted by highoctane View Post
    If I'm not mistaken B3 steppings are rated up to 62.5C so I wouldn't even worry about it until you get upwards of 60+C and even then there usually reserve left from advertised specs.

    Mine runs around 55C at 3.2ghz quad orthos prime at priority 8 with 120 ultra air cooling and a fairly quiet fan.
    What vCore voltages did you need to hit 3.2GHz?

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    The vcore in the bios is currently set to 1.475 but when all four cores are kicking at 100% prime load it drops all the way down to 1.37ish.



    I haven't tried tweaking it any after that test run as I currently have the machine boinc crunching for a little competion on another forum. With boinc the temps are lower than when running quad orthos prime, it fluctuate in the 43-45C range with reported vcore showing around 1.39ish.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    sacramento,ca.
    Posts
    801

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    I have seen folks running quads in the 70's. I run mine 24/7 at 1.36v 3.4 ghz. Temperatures are about 59c with windows smp running. In the mornings it dips to around 57c. This quad can do 4.2 ghz easy on 32c water. Just from what I have seen mine actually runs a little hot.
    Core I7/GA-EX58-UD4P
    6 gigs of ddr3 1600
    Raid 0 x2 WD 320AAKS
    4870 X2
    Silverstone 1000w Strider psu
    Thermochill PA 120.3 with dual pumps

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    Very impressive guys

    I'm not surprised the voltage drops significantly from what it's set at in the bios under full load. At 3.6GHz, 1.475v it's drawing 272 Watts which must be killing the motherboard regulation supply circuitry for the CPU

    OK, next question - recommendations for a good motherboard for this setup? I'm thinking maybe a Gigabyte 965P-DQ6 as it has a decent high end quad 3 phase CPU circuitry (12 phases). The 680i is a bit pricey here for my liking.

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider View Post
    Very impressive guys

    I'm not surprised the voltage drops significantly from what it's set at in the bios under full load. At 3.6GHz, 1.475v it's drawing 272 Watts which must be killing the motherboard regulation supply circuitry for the CPU

    OK, next question - recommendations for a good motherboard for this setup? I'm thinking maybe a Gigabyte 965P-DQ6 as it has a decent high end quad 3 phase CPU circuitry (12 phases). The 680i is a bit pricey here for my liking.
    That screen shot can be decieving with orthos, allot of the times when changing the multiplier a majority of apps will still use the default multiplier which is why I have the cpuz shot in there, only 3.2ghz for the time being.

    If I get a chance to get the new water setup together I will really see what she can do, if I can get a comfortable temp 3.6ghz I will be very very happy. For 3.6ghz I have a feeling I'm going to need around 1.45-1.5 vcore after vdrop takes its toll and a fire extinguisher on hand incase the power transistors get frisky.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    So the multiplier is semi-unlocked on these chips then. The default is 9 x 266 = 2.4GHz, but I see from your sig you've got yours running at 8 x 400 for your 3.2GHz. I was thinking (assuming) you'd have to run it at maybe 333 or 366 on the 9x multiplier, but if you can turn the multiplier down that allows the fsb to be cranked up to 400? Even better

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: q6600 what's too hot?

    Yup multiplier unlocked downward, the B3 steppings seem to have resolved the fsb limitation that allot of earlier revisions where experiencing, its definitely nice to be able to crank up the fsb to 1600mhz!
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •