Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    MS,LA,GA,& AR
    Posts
    4,439

    How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Was it "live taught" or CBT?

    If live taught, where?
    -TMack

    "Forgive everyone for everything"

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Bought a book on A+, study it till you know it as the Test is an adaptive test where if you get 1 question wrong on printer topics, more questions from the pool of printer questions will be added to your exam.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indian-uhhh
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,807

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    That's what I'm doing right now: self-study. The book I've got gives the answers with a letter and then later gives an in-depth explaination. I read the in-depth explainations, but not the question. I also wrote down things that were the hardest to remember, like IRQs, DMA and I/O addresses.

    I'm fairly confident I could pass now, but I don't want to blow money on a test and fail. That, and I'm getting socked with a bill for having my wisdom teeth pulled soon...oh, well. More time to study.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    You can get some free online tests here:

    http://www.freecomptia.com/core.html

    Or you can buy a test from here that has a pass quarantee:

    http://www.preplogic.com/products/ex...tice-exams.asp

    They go on sale from time to time for around $50.00
    ......
    ................. Heat .....................

    24/7 speeds
    w/c - * GA-EP45-UD3P - Q9650 - 3737 - 9x415 * ...cpu-z... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2925 - 9x325 * ... cpu-z ... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2826 - 9x314 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 165 - 2250 - 9x250 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTS250

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    a galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    3,689

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    What do you need to be A+ certified for? Anyone I mention to that I'm A+ certified simpy kinda chuckles. Is it really good for anything?

    I did self-study. And I found the curricula on the test to be WAAAAAAAAAAAAY out of date.

    My video "tribute" to Armed Assault.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    MS,LA,GA,& AR
    Posts
    4,439

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chiles4 View Post
    What do you need to be A+ certified for? Anyone I mention to that I'm A+ certified simpy kinda chuckles. Is it really good for anything?

    I did self-study. And I found the curricula on the test to be WAAAAAAAAAAAAY out of date.
    Yeah, I see that stuff as being out of date the very second it gets published.

    Really not sure why they want me to get A+ cert (I'm good with Net+ though).

    Sheesh I really thought once I got my CDIA cert, I was good to go (in my industry) but 'twas not to be...........

    But then I never thought I would be moving out of the sales arena into "Digital Solutions Specialist" either......almost weird, that since I know a little about computers...they think I'm a prime candidate for DSS. Heh. Little do they know..........everything I've learned was by hanging out at PCper.

    Thanks all!
    -TMack

    "Forgive everyone for everything"

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chiles4 View Post
    What do you need to be A+ certified for? Anyone I mention to that I'm A+ certified simpy kinda chuckles. Is it really good for anything?
    I've had the same, but I realized those people that ignore you're mention of A+ are the ones that know nothing about computers and are just reading tech support scripts off their computers!


  8. #8
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Indian-uhhh
    Age
    38
    Posts
    5,807

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    I know I'm doing it to have something that says to the uneducated that I do know something. It's not that I hate my job, but some of the management and company policy blows...that, and I'd like more money. This is a start.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    bay area, ca
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    I got my A+ and Network+ certs by self-study. here in california every tech job, that I've seen, requires at least an A+ certification.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    41

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    well i got my A+ cert from self study too i downloaded all the materials and practice test i needed from www.projectw.com but they site down rite now. i wrote my A+ exam in jan of this yr scored 719 on the HW and 792 one OS. about to go write my net+ exam next mnth. all from self study too. id advise that u go to project thats if they working bak yet n download all the materials u need from there along with the test them. also purchase the books n read them through at least twice, n dont write the exam until ur averaging like 85% on the practice exams. ull come out of the exam in less than a hr. Good luck.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    41

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    shit one quick correction the site is www.projectw.org sry about that

  12. #12
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Doesnt A+ certification requiere advanced software and programming knowledge?
    I didnt know hardware was involved.
    Cause if it is only hardware I might think about doing this shit and adding it to my resume,I already went to school to be a hardware techie,and if I can add to that with this that would be great.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ganj View Post
    Doesnt A+ certification requiere advanced software and programming knowledge?
    I didnt know hardware was involved.
    Cause if it is only hardware I might think about doing this shit and adding it to my resume,I already went to school to be a hardware techie,and if I can add to that with this that would be great.
    A+ Certification is for a PC Technician.

    So, you have to have knowledge of Hardware as well as Software.

    But it's not very advanced on the software side beyond knowing how to use DOS, and fix problems with operating systems.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,843

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    I don't have an A+ But I've been a technician for over 2years and know my way in and out of PC hardware and intermediate level OS Problems. The A+ helps in getting jobs in Geek Squad, etc. where they require certification.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,884

    Re: How did you get your Net+ /A+ ?

    Edit
    I Never Use Signatures.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •