Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    solid NICS for IPCop

    I'm getting ready to add an Orange* and Blue* to my IPCop. I figured I would ask you guys what you would recommend for NICS on this.

    I'm looking at gigabit speeds on everything but the RED* interface.

    I'm currently looking at these two products:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833180026
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833181009

    Although this is about $20 worth of NICS for those two links, the budget is around $75-$90. However, I am a big fan of bang for buck.

    Red - external connections entry NIC
    Orange- DMZ NIC
    Blue - Wireless connections entry NIC
    Green - LAN outbound NIC
    Last edited by Gator650; 05-17-2007 at 07:55 PM. Reason: ip cop color clarification

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    What operating system will you be running?

    Linux? Vista? XP?

    I would get a Network Interface Card from Intel if you want stability and the ability to work almost on every OS.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833106123
    Last edited by AMDAthlonguy; 05-17-2007 at 02:10 PM.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    I have that card for my green interface, I was just thinking there might be as good of products for cheaper.

    I think I'll get another one of those for the DMZ, and then a crap NIC for the blue.

    I'm talking about the NIC for the IPCop box... not the clients.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    what are all these mentions of colors?

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Quote Originally Posted by AMDAthlonguy View Post
    what are all these mentions of colors?
    I believe they are the different "interfaces" in the IPCop software - wan, lan, dmz.

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Quote Originally Posted by AMDAthlonguy View Post
    what are all these mentions of colors?
    If you look in the first post, I edited it to give a bit of a laymans overview of what each color represents on my firewall.

    For example, since the blue is the wireless entry point, I don't care about it enough to spend $30 on a nice Intel NIC. My DMZ however is much more important to me so I can justify using my Intel NICs on it.

    Let me ask the question a different way... when it comes to your firewall do you find it easy to justify the $30 on a nice NIC or do you find that one the firewall level... since most connections really don't go over 10Mb/s that the cheapy's work just fine.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Yes I would easily spend more on a product that I trust for my DMZ.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    No one else wants to weigh in on NIC recommendations for IPCop?

    Bryan? Ned? Mjölnir? Slick?

    At this point, I'm pretty much going to go with AthlonGuy's Intel for the DMZ, keep my current Intel for Green, and cheapy for the Blue.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    What is connected to each of the zones?

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Red - Modem
    Orange - Webserver/SQL Server (goes right to DMZ switch)
    Blue - my two wireless clients (goes right to wireless router)
    Green - LAN (goes right to LAN switch)

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,269

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Im using 3 nics in my IPCop. Red interface is just some no-name NIC I had laying around, Green is a US Robotics 10/100, and my Blue is a Linksys pulled from my dads old computer. I dont think it should really matter which NICs you go with as long as theyre from a reputable company. In the 12 years Ive been working on computers, Ive only seen a NIC go bad one time, and that was from a power surge.
    Quote Originally Posted by mostholycerebus View Post
    PCPer CAN'T have a dollar value attached. For those of us, PcPer is worthless!

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    midyxadryl, I am pretty much in the same boat as you. However, I will feel better with a nice NIC on my DMZ, and a crap NIC on my blue.

    I went ahead and got AMDGuy's Intel suggestion for my DMZ, and one of my cheap'os for my Wireless entry point.

    Thanks for all the feedback everyone.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Quote Originally Posted by Gator650 View Post
    No one else wants to weigh in on NIC recommendations for IPCop?

    Bryan? Ned? Mjölnir? Slick?

    At this point, I'm pretty much going to go with AthlonGuy's Intel for the DMZ, keep my current Intel for Green, and cheapy for the Blue.
    I would do but I'm still stuck on 100mbit so I don't have any direct experience with gigabit products or their support under Linux, or any first hand experience with IPCop. What kernel is it based upon?

    That said, I guess it depends to an extent on the volume of traffic/connections you anticipate on each interface. I would agree that you certainly can't go wrong with a genuine Intel nic, but whether they represent good value? For a web server with a large number of connections, I wouldn't hesitate at spending the extra on an Intel nic.

    For 100mbit, I've always used £1.99 OEM Realtek 8139 nics and for the large part they work flawlessly (plus are natively supported by every OS under the sun). When they fail, throw 'em out and chuck another in it's place at that price (I always have about 10 spares sat in my cupboard).

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,269

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    I see what youre saying Gator . Im not running a webserver or SQL on my setup (yet), but will probably go for a more reputable NIC once I decide to set up my Orange. The only server Im running right now is my SAMBA located on the Green. Blue has DMZ pinholes to allow access from my laptops to the laser printer and my SAMBA server.
    Quote Originally Posted by mostholycerebus View Post
    PCPer CAN'T have a dollar value attached. For those of us, PcPer is worthless!

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Arkansas/Oklahoma
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,890

    Re: solid NICS for IPCop

    Ned, what we need isn't always in line with what we want.

    Do I have a legitimate use for gigabit? Nope
    Do I even have enough traffic or security concern to even warrant a DMZ? Nope
    Is it fun and nerdy? Yep!!!

    My primary reason for this is to enforce better habits with the security of my coding (too easy to get lazy with everything on green) at home. To make sure I keep good habits at work as well as better understanding of coding with a 'non ghetto' network is another bonus. Same with virtual machines. Do I need a half dozen virtual machines? Nope... does it help me keep using/learning/developing n-tier applications? Yep.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •