Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    656

    Question Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    Hi, I have a Pentium 2.8 knorthwood cpu
    Yesterday I made an instructional video in Camtasia. The original uncompressed file that Camtasia produces is a format known as .camrec, that file was 218Mbs in size.
    When I rendered it out as a universal .WMA file it took over two hours to finished.

    Is that is how long AVI usually take? Iíve encrypted files (Not AVIs, real encryptin) much larger then that, and itís never taken anywhere near this long. The computer can rip through encryption, but not AVIs for some reason, why? Is there a big difference with the new Dua-core cpus?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,682

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    Northwood Pentium 4's are quite old and don't do very well in video encoding.

    On the other hand, you could get a G5 workstation(Apple) if lucky and have lightening fast video encoding.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    i say build a c2d 4300 wit ha mobo that clocks or pinmod it.
    and yes,its gonna take a while depending o nfile size,filters,etcetc.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    My Own Mind
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,545

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    My wife's profession is video production. She has a second computer that she uses when she's rendering. So yeah, it takes a long time.
    Ebay---Heatware---Paypal verified---Project:Geared Up---My Site-ROSSWERKZ.COM

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,843

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    I don't know if northwoods have SSE3 instruction set which what makes the encoding process perform faster. If you can get a hold of a prescott CPU rather cheaply then I'm sure you'll notice an increase in compression time. I remember it took my old Athlon2500XP w/ 1gig RAM up to 24hours to compress a 4hour DVD video file down to a whooping 700mbs DIVX.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    not worth it to spend money on old tech. dc is the way to go, and the new oens.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    Quote Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
    not worth it to spend money on old tech. dc is the way to go, and the new oens.
    Depends on how cheaply one can get a better cpu that fits the current system and how much of the current system would be usable in a new rig verses the cost of a completely new rig. Upgrading to a new tech in this case would more than likely require a new mobo, cpu, ram, vid card, and psu verses the cost of just a cpu upgrade.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: Rendering AVI, Doses it really take this long?

    well,if he gets an asrock he can keep the ram so tahst a plus

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •