Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    @sewage - yeah
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  2. #17
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,892

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    Close enough anyway. The general principles of overclocking haven't changed since it was invented. All that has happened is options have been added (or taken away) and things have had their name changed (HT rather than fsb for instance).


    M

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    167

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    Why did you choose to set the PCI Express Frequency to 100Hz specifically? Will this number change depending on the system? Same questions for PCI Clock Synchronization.

  4. #19
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,892

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    Default for PCI-E is 100MHz. Changing this figure makes no difference whatsoever to performance (I have data somewhere) so you might as well leave it. O/C rule number 4:

    If it doesn't make any difference, leave it alone.


    M

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,896

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    I had an odd experiance with the system in my specs (Q6600 & P5N32-E SLI).

    On trying an OC, ASUS Probe started reporting VHT, SB Core, VTT, DDR2 Term and NB core as 4.08V ... and it was a rock solid 4.08, no variance whatsoever.

    Now, those voltages would've fried my motherboard, so I knew it was faulty.

    The one that worried me was NTune, which was reporting my memory at 3.3V.

    I cleared my CMOS, set things back to basics with Voltages on auto, and everything seems to be reporting normal voltages now.

    So a hint to anyone with this board! Clear the CMOS if weirdness happens; because overclocking/volting without a relatively accurate way of gauging your voltages and temps is a bad thing.



    and thanks for the effort on this guide, graysky!

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    You're welcome; glad you found it useful.
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  7. #22
    Joined
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    35
    Posts
    82

    Cool Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.1

    Great tutorial, Thanks alot!

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.3

    Just updated the guide to version 1.3 which contains new info, fixes, clean-ups, etc. Enjoy!
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.5.1

    Updates made.
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  10. #25
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.5.2

    Version is now 1.5.2 (updates in first post)
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  11. #26
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.6

    Guide is now version 1.6

    • Added a detailed section to help you find the minimum stable CPU and MB vcore settings. Check it out (near the bottom of the guide entitled, “Stress Testing and Minimizing Your Vcores”)!
    • Updated the CPU table
    • Provided a less than $5 method you can use to shave off some NB load temps (in the thermal management section at the end of the guide).
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  12. #27
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.6.1

    Version 1.6.1 is up. Totally re-wrote the section on memory which now includes a discussion on both DDR2/DDR3 and formulas you can use to calculate max supported FSB of a given module based on it's DDRX-Y and PCX-Y designations. Also re-ordered the first part of the guide.
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  13. #28
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15,846

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.6.1

    i got a question, where did you get your copy of prime95? is it a modified version? the one i have doesn't seem near as featured as yours, truthfully it's the same version i've always used where you had to run multiple instances to stress multiple cores.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  14. #29
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.6.1

    @brandito - there's a link to it in the guide (1st post of this thread). Technically, it's a beta version but it's very stable for torture testing.
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  15. #30
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    34
    Posts
    15,846

    Re: HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.6.1

    Quote Originally Posted by graysky View Post
    @brandito - there's a link to it in the guide (1st post of this thread). Technically, it's a beta version but it's very stable for torture testing.
    yeah i found it after googling, was weird that i didn't see it on the prime95 home page. it's much improved over the previous version.

    ran it last night and found that with vista i needed a slight voltage bump for my vcore, though orthos and occt confirmed this as well, priming for about 15 hours no without an error.

    i'm wondering does orthos support quad cores in a single instance? or do you need to run multiple instances?
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •