Page 18 of 40 FirstFirst ... 814151617181920212228 ... LastLast
Results 256 to 270 of 590
  1. #256
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by JokerCPoC View Post
    Well that Asus P5K3 Premium would still make one heck of a Cruncher, Albeit a bit on the expensive side, 10 layer motherboard, 2GB Guaranteed 1500MHz capable ram and definitely an XP x64 candidate, It might do for Vista after SP1 is applied. Who knows the price might come down when It comes up for sale.
    You'd probably need that for Vista just to get it running at a reasonable speed

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  2. #257
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Yermo, CA, USA
    Age
    54
    Posts
    9,946

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider View Post
    You'd probably need that for Vista just to get it running at a reasonable speed
    True, Vista from what I've read isn't exactly fast, Snails probably can keep up with It.

  3. #258
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    13,852

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider View Post
    You'd probably need that for Vista just to get it running at a reasonable speed
    Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    4GB Corsair PC6400
    ATI X1650 Pro

  4. #259
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    5,886

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Hey guys/gals, any advantage running XP Pro vs XP 64 for a quad setup with 2 GB of ram?

    And would my XFX 6800 XXX Edition be better than the ATI 1650 Pro card?

  5. #260
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by scruff35 View Post
    Hey guys/gals, any advantage running XP Pro vs XP 64 for a quad setup with 2 GB of ram?
    Not really. It's just harder to find 64-bit drivers.

    The main benefit from 64-bit is native support for >4GB memory

    Seeing how WinXP will load and run quite happily in 256MB, 2GB should be plenty for the foreseeable future

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  6. #261
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    13,852

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by scruff35 View Post
    Hey guys/gals, any advantage running XP Pro vs XP 64 for a quad setup with 2 GB of ram?

    And would my XFX 6800 XXX Edition be better than the ATI 1650 Pro card?
    No advantage!

    I went with XP 64 because I had 4GB of ram, only reason.

    I think the ATI card is better overall not to mention newer technology but I would run the XFX 6800 XXX provided it's a PCI express card, assuming you're getting a P5K series board. I don't think any of them have an AGP port.

    If you do plan to buy a new video card and going the ATI route, Sapphire tends to sell at a cheaper price then anyone else. Asus is pretty pricey but usually some extras

    Hope that helps
    Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    4GB Corsair PC6400
    ATI X1650 Pro

  7. #262
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    13,852

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    I reseated the HS and improved my temps by 3c

    57c
    56c
    51c
    52c

    @ stock under load with case cover on. Basically worse case scenario.
    Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    4GB Corsair PC6400
    ATI X1650 Pro

  8. #263
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    74,684

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Im waiting for the "Fluff" report on the new stuff!!

  9. #264
    Fluff n Stuff's Avatar
    Fluff n Stuff is offline ♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♪♪
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    South Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    12,386

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Can't get mine under load... no WUs 'nStuff.

    Might have to switch over to Spinhenge a little early...



  10. #265
    Fluff n Stuff's Avatar
    Fluff n Stuff is offline ♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♪♪
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    South Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    12,386

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by jimzinsocal View Post
    Im waiting for the "Fluff" report on the new stuff!!
    Fluff Report:

    New stuff is installed and running... 36,000 odd points in 3DMark.

    ...2001

    Installed BOINC and SETI, and I'm now waiting for WUs.

    Kinda odd thing... the BOINC benchmark came in a little low maybe? I have no context...

    2347 Floating Point MIPS
    5111 Integer MIPS

    Can that be right?!?



  11. #266
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluff n Stuff View Post
    Installed BOINC and SETI, and I'm now waiting for WUs.

    Kinda odd thing... the BOINC benchmark came in a little low maybe? I have no context...

    2347 Floating Point MIPS
    5111 Integer MIPS

    Can that be right?!?
    Sounds right. Mine benched at 3000/6000 ish, but it's overclocked

    It took me ages to get some SETI WUs too - they're having a few issues atm, but hang in there and you'll get some eventually. Fire up another project in the meantime

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  12. #267
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay See Bee View Post
    I reseated the HS and improved my temps by 3c

    57c
    56c
    51c
    52c

    @ stock under load with case cover on. Basically worse case scenario.
    Haven't you overclocked it yet

    It'll probably do 3GHz at stock voltages.

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  13. #268
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    13,852

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider View Post
    Haven't you overclocked it yet

    It'll probably do 3GHz at stock voltages.
    I did tinker a bit but it would reboot after being in windows for 2-3 minutes.

    You're dealing with a total OC amateur here , I stopped boinc but it still rebooted in the same amount of time.

    Only set these, every thing else to auto:

    9 * 333
    PCIe 100mhz
    Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    4GB Corsair PC6400
    ATI X1650 Pro

  14. #269
    Fluff n Stuff's Avatar
    Fluff n Stuff is offline ♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♫♪♫♪♪♫♪♫♪♪
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    South Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    12,386

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    JCB... what are you using to monitor your temps? Only thing I have is the ASUS utility, and it tells me I'm idling at 23C at low fan speed 'nStuff.

    I NEED to get some WUs!!! :sigh:



  15. #270
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    13,852

    Re: The Pond Quad Core Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Fluff n Stuff View Post
    JCB... what are you using to monitor your temps? Only thing I have is the ASUS utility, and it tells me I'm idling at 23C at low fan speed 'nStuff.

    I NEED to get some WUs!!! :sigh:
    Core temp:

    http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/
    Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
    Asus P5K Deluxe
    4GB Corsair PC6400
    ATI X1650 Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •