Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    If you own a Q6600, please reply with your VID and the stepping of your chip. The VID can be found using coretemp. If you're using vista, coretemp will not display the stepping in some cases, so you can use CPU-Z (it's listed under "revision") to get the stepping.

    Here is a shot of mine for reference:


    If all else fails, look on the box your q6600 came in; the last 5 letters after the Q6600 in the production code will tell you the stepping. "SLACR" means it's a G0 while "SL9UM" means it's an older B3. Here an example shot taken by XtremeTiramisu to give you an idea:


    So, I have a B3 w/ a VID of 1.2875v

    EDIT: Here are the data as of 23-Sep-2007 at 7:30 AM based on people's replies to my VID thread here and elsewhere; just as a reminder, please do not post your VID from here on out as I won't be updating the data sets:


    *Histograms generated with SBHisto

    Total replies: 208
    102 replies so far for B3 stepping Q6600s:
    (VID: # of replies)
    1.1625: 3
    1.2125: 1
    1.2250: 1
    1.2375: 1
    1.2500: 5
    1.2625: 2
    1.2750: 13
    1.2800: 1
    1.2850: 1
    1.2875: 12
    1.3000: 14
    1.3100: 1
    1.3125: 15
    1.3200: 1
    1.3250: 31

    158 replies so far for G0 stepping Q6600s:
    (VID: # of replies)
    1.1125: 1
    1.1520: 1
    1.1625: 5
    1.2000: 5
    1.2125: 9
    1.2150: 1
    1.2200: 1
    1.2250: 8
    1.2375: 10
    1.2500: 16
    1.2525: 1
    1.2600: 1
    1.2625: 17
    1.2650: 1
    1.2700: 1
    1.2750: 25
    1.2850: 1
    1.2875: 23
    1.3000: 17
    1.3125: 10
    1.3250: 5
    Last edited by graysky; 09-23-2007 at 08:09 AM.
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    I have G0 with a VID of 1.152


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by Palandri View Post
    I have G0 with a VID of 1.152
    And where, pray tell, did you find one of those?
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by MrNovi View Post
    And where, pray tell, did you find one of those?
    I got mine at http://www.clubit.com/ for $305USD

    http://www.resellerratings.com/store/ClubIT


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by Palandri View Post
    I have G0 with a VID of 1.152
    OK.. that's the lowest VID I have seen. Are you o/c'ing it? If so can you report your O/C setting (i.e. 9x333 or whatever) and the vcore you used in the BIOS to do it? Also, have you minimized the vcore by using prime95 v25 or 2x orthos to make sure it's stable to like 4+ hours?
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by graysky View Post
    OK.. that's the lowest VID I have seen. Are you o/c'ing it? If so can you report your O/C setting (i.e. 9x333 or whatever) and the vcore you used in the BIOS to do it? Also, have you minimized the vcore by using prime95 v25 or 2x orthos to make sure it's stable to like 4+ hours?
    No I am not Overclocking it. I took out an Intel 945 3.4ghz dual core, installed the Q6600 and cleared the CMOS and booted up. Everything is at default except the memory timings. I got that reading with CPUZ.

    I am using an Abit IP35 mobo, with the second bios for the board #11

    vcore is set to auto in bios. The only thing I changed in the bios was the memory timmings to 5-5-5-12

    I haven't ran any stress programs, but I have gamed with it online for about 3 hours and haven't had any stability problems.

    It also seems to run real cool. I expected it to run hotter. Here's my AbitEQ reading (if it's accurate):



    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by Palandri View Post
    I have G0 with a VID of 1.152
    I've never seen one that low... does it change if you launch coretemp when idle vs. closing core temp and launching on load?
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Just updated the first post of the thread with the data collected. Have a look!
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by graysky View Post
    I've never seen one that low... does it change if you launch coretemp when idle vs. closing core temp and launching on load?
    I started AdAware and Virus Scan and it went up to 1.160/1.162

    I am not sure it's getting read correctly.


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Quote Originally Posted by Palandri View Post
    I have G0 with a VID of 1.152
    That looks like the voltage when speed step is kicking in.

    I still haven't been able to get coretemp to work with Vista yet so I'm not sure what mine is.

    EDIT: Well I guess the disabling the driver signatures works, VID for my B3 is 1.3125
    Last edited by highoctane; 07-29-2007 at 02:18 PM.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    The speed coretemp is reporting is wrong, I'm running 8x400(3200)


    Shot at 2007-07-29
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    sacramento,ca.
    Posts
    801

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    My QX6700 B3 is 1.3125 and my q6600 B3 is 1.2875.
    Core I7/GA-EX58-UD4P
    6 gigs of ddr3 1600
    Raid 0 x2 WD 320AAKS
    4870 X2
    Silverstone 1000w Strider psu
    Thermochill PA 120.3 with dual pumps

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Okay guys, just updated the first post of the thread to reflect the new replies... have a look!
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


  14. #14
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    56

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    Windows XP Professional
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 3.0 MHz (Conroe) OC to 4..0 MHz
    Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
    RAID 0 X 2-36 GB Western Digital Raptor
    2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-8500
    BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC 768MB
    Thermaltake Mozart Tx Case
    Swiftech Custom Biuld H2O, Apogee GTX, 480 Quad Radiator
    Samsung 245BW 24-Inch Widescreen LCD Monitor.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Q6600 owners... what is your VID?

    I don't quite know what to make of this whole lower VID = higher o/c potential thing. My chip for example, is a B3 stepping Q6600 w/ a reported VID of 1.2875V (coretemp), yet I can run 9x266 (stock) which is stable to 2x orthos for over 8 hours (I stopped it after 8 hours) @ 1.1375V in the BIOS which is 1.040V in CPU-Z under load. I can also run 9x327 @ 1.2275V in the BIOS or 1.208V in CPU-Z under load or a full 9x333 @ 1.2625V in the BIOS or 1.232 V in CPU-Z.

    My point is that all these vcore values are under the VID reported in coretemp. In my case, the VID reported in coretemp doesn't seem to mean anything given that I can run my system up to a 25 % o/c well under this voltage.

    Questions:

    -What does the coretemp VID mean if anything?
    -When comparing two identical stepping chips, does the one with the lower VID equate to anything meaningful?
    http://encoding.n3.net <--- for all your DVD and audio CD backup needs!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •