Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 54
  1. #31
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA
    Posts
    1,392

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    chris89, you sound very impatient and are squeezing more than your pc can handle. Your temps are way too high and you're getting bios corruption/crashes. Might need to look at better cooling solution for cpu and gpu. You should temper the overclock down and stick to a 1:1 cpu:memory ratio. That's key for stability for starters.
    Intel E6750 C2D
    400x8 (3.2GHz) 32C idle/58C Load @ stock 1.31V/HSF | Gigabyte DS3R Rev 1 bios F13 | OCZ XTC Rev 2 @4-4-4-15 | Antec Sonata 3 500W | Palit 8800GT driver v.169.21 | WD 500GB | 22" 226BW | Logitech x-540 5.1

    AMD64 (754) 3000+ @2GHz |
    | ASUS K8N-E DLX BIOS 1.11 | 512x 2 OCZ Premier DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 | Antec Sonata 380W | 9600 Pro 128MB | 19" 930B

  2. #32
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Yeah, lol i love overclocking core 2 duo's lol. Well this e6420 overclocks like a mofo... I got it up to 3.6ghz and got into windows and it restarted half way thru the benchmark. So i took it back down to 3.4ghz where it runs solid. What i realized is that overclocking really matter doesn't so much at all for games, what it comes down to is the X1950XT doesn't have enough shader performance to run at high settings at high resolution. I ran the crysis benchmark and at stock 2.13ghz i got 20fps avg and at 3.4ghz i got 23fps avg. Also since i'm running at 3.4ghz, What other higher end processors would be comparible to mine? I was reading about the x1950xt and it has only 8 vertex shaders, 48 pixel shader processors, and 16 pipelines. What r the specs of say a 2900XT or 8800GT OC? I was thinking the 8800GT OC would be the best bang for ur buck at this point in time. Oh yeah and about the heat issue, I turned the qfan feature off, or whatevers its called. Uped the fan speed to 2000rpm rather than 1000rpm... that sounds a little low to me... how do u adjust the cpu fan speed to 100%? Also i just opened my bedroom window and lowered the temp significantly.
    Last edited by chris89; 02-20-2008 at 09:01 AM.

  3. #33
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA
    Posts
    1,392

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    I presume you're using the Intel HSF? No matter what you do the temps will be pretty high for an overclock. 3.6 is really nice, but you're doing that with the intel HSF? I would never do that! It's not worth the risk. Plus, the fan is loud. It's only good running stock.

    CPU oc's generally won't help for gaming..it's mostly for bragging rights, and for photoshop apps to run faster.

    Your grafix card is holding you back. The GT will laugh at the games you play. Clock is 600mhz core and 1500 memory, but it's the # of pipelines and the 65nm technology that makes the card fly.

    Don't get the 2900xt. I believe that thing is one hot mofo that consumes much more power.

    Do a search here for "8800gt" to get more info. Plus you can read up on the cooling and overclock that around 25% for even more bang for the buck
    Intel E6750 C2D
    400x8 (3.2GHz) 32C idle/58C Load @ stock 1.31V/HSF | Gigabyte DS3R Rev 1 bios F13 | OCZ XTC Rev 2 @4-4-4-15 | Antec Sonata 3 500W | Palit 8800GT driver v.169.21 | WD 500GB | 22" 226BW | Logitech x-540 5.1

    AMD64 (754) 3000+ @2GHz |
    | ASUS K8N-E DLX BIOS 1.11 | 512x 2 OCZ Premier DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 | Antec Sonata 380W | 9600 Pro 128MB | 19" 930B

  4. #34
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    I just noticed that the only setting in crysis that causes significant fps decrease is high shader setting. I was wondering why my card has the most trouble with high shader settings? I turn it to medium and it runs awsome at like 45-65fps then at high it goes down to 15-25fps. Yeah i'm using the stock cpu cooler, it runs pretty cool at 55* celcius or so under full load at 3.4ghz... btw is 3.4ghz stable a good overclock? I can't wait to get an 8800GT OC... Do u think it might run over 30fps at 1440x900, no aa, no vsyn, and all very high settings in dx10? Oh yeah and benchmarking with 3dmark03 i can see a good amount of difference in points just by overclocking the cpu... but doesn't hardly run any faster in games?

  5. #35
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Ok so last night i was in game "crysis" and the power supply blew up! heard a loud pop! lol so i took the power supply out and got it replaced under warranty and now i'm up and running fine once again. Why do u think it blew up? was it related to the overclock? The power supply i'm using is a Logisys 550W... One of the reviews said it's a 400w rather than a 550w maximum and the 12+ rail puts out a max of 25A... My ATITool says i'm drawing over 37A+ under full load... Where can i find precise specs on the AMPS etc? this is actually the same as mine... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ter-_-17170019
    Last edited by chris89; 02-22-2008 at 01:40 AM.

  6. #36
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Never heard of logisys, and it costs 24.99 or so. Since there are no reviews it is safe to say that you might not be so lucky when it blows up again.
    http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/..._Supply_Makers
    On the list of not recommended.

    You are not drawing 37 amps, either system are card, so I don't know where you get that
    http://web.aanet.com.au/SnooP/psucalc.php


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  7. #37
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Cool that helps out alot. I got 30.0amps draw on my gpu in ATITools. On the psu calculator it said i was using 510w... and my power supply is only 400w... But the computer still runs... Am i losing performance? Also the computer isn't very stable. What's the BEST bang for my buck power supply that'll work with my system flawlessfly and a 8800+ series.... Looking for something Under $100...


  8. #38
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151027

    Dont know what video card you have, but none draw anywhere near 30 amps, so I don't think that new "feature" is working right.

    Did you use that psu calculator I linked? I've never seen one that high (510), what system specs did you use?


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  9. #39
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    BTW i think i'm gonna want 650W+. the calculator said i was using 510W being overclocked and 430W none overclocked... i've heard that this power supply will starve any card of power that's the same or better than a x1650pro. I've heard that this power supply puts out 400W well it says 400W on the side of the PSU... but MAX is 550W.. what's the difference. Well i'll definetely need to be getting a new power supply soon. My system specs are asus p5b-plus skt 775, e6420@3.4ghz@1.6V, 2x 1gb ddr2-800, sapphire x1950xt, sound blaster live 5.1, netgear wireless-g, mouse keyboard, USB hub, 3X SATA2 Western digital 250gb, liteon 20X DVD+RW, Logitech x-530 speakers, Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" 16:10 Widescreen (1440x900@60hz).
    Last edited by chris89; 02-22-2008 at 03:00 PM.

  10. #40
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    267w@1.35v 282w@1.45v and 314@1.65v (and not long for this world ) is what I got. 20 to 24 amps of 12 volt draw. (UPS rating is different, is done in VA and includes monitor)

    Max is for a very short time, like a minute or 2. Every psu that puts it's max rating in big type and/or name is guaranteed junk. (besides being rated at 25C)


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  11. #41
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    I need to find a really good 650w+ power supply that'll support my Core2Duo / 1950x/ 8800gt (soon to own) setup.... I see that this power supply is designed for a p4 and most likely designed for AGP... Are there any really good power supply Brands in particular that are Specifically designed for core 2 duo and Any graphics card available for Under $100 Or so...?

  12. #42
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    I recommend SeaSonics #1, and the Corsairs, Antecs, and PCP&C made by them. All their SLI/Crossfire PSU's are single 12v rail. (this allows the full psu potential 12v to be delivered)
    There are other good brands as well. Check this site, and jonnyguru for excellent psu reviews. Also xbit, spcr, and HardOCP.
    Be prepared to spend more than 100 bucks


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  13. #43
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Ok, so i found this power supply and i noticed it's quad gpu ready etc... do u think it would still be fine to run such a beastly power supply on the system that's not gonna use alot of the features? All i'm looking for is a really good power supply that'll give my system all the power it needs...
    http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=10007112

  14. #44
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    475

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    if you're only going to be running a single graphics card, anything much past the 600W mark is just OVERKILL. unless you're running like 6 optical drives, 12 hard drives and using them all AT ONCE. I'm running an 8800GT with an e6750 overclocked to 3.4 gHz 2 internal hard drives, two optical drives, 8 120 mm case fans on a 620W corsair powersupply and i've never noticed any problems at all. I've been running mine for a year straight, comp on everyday.

    The corsair powersupplies are AWESOME. They are very efficient, they have modular cabling, and the 620W is rated for dual SLI should you want to add on later. I'm bet you could run your system with the new 8800 GT on the 550W supply. I went with the 620W solely because i have a full tower, and i expect to add things to this comp as i go and run many things in it. That, and i like to be a little on the overkill side of things, but not by much.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139001
    OR:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139002
    if you want the little bit extra power
    Last edited by Captain O Hair; 02-25-2008 at 01:01 AM.

  15. #45
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,923

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Aren't Corsair's PSUs made by Seasonic? Or am I getting confused again? But my Corsair 620W seems pretty good. I'd endorse TheGlasMan's list as well, being generally an Antec man.


    M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •