Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 54 of 54
  1. #46
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=474
    The TX series are a different maker, and are good as well. The HX's are Seasonic's (520 and 620)

    It's hard to keep up with it all


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  2. #47
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Well i think that my 550w would work work on an 8800gt... but it's really only a 400w and it says max 550w... My power supply blew up last week with overclocked at 3.4 from 2.13 and it was pretty bad... i was in-game Crysis.... So i got a new power supply and seems the voltages are a tad bit high and i've noticed 3fps increase with the new "crappy" Logisys 550w (really just a 400w)..... So if my card isn't getting all the power it needs, it'll have reduced performance...? I've decided to go with the ASUS 8800GT 512MB and the Corsair 650W..... I only shop at zipzoomfly... newegg is ok sometimes.

  3. #48
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?


  4. #49
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Yeah i just noticed that at idle i get (+12) @ 12.14v (+5) @ 5.17v (+3.3) @ 3.23v.... and under load i get (+12) @ 11.83v (+5) @ 5.27v (+3.3) @ 3.20v.... I know that's bad....
    Last edited by chris89; 02-26-2008 at 01:50 AM.

  5. #50
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Ok, so i unplugged my 2 other hard drives, my dvd-rw drive, my floppy, and removed my wireless pci adapter... and the voltages didn't change at all from idle to under load... Here's a pic of the ratings for my power supply...

  6. #51
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Don't be surprised if it blows up like the last one. Don't be surprised if it takes your board with it.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  7. #52
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    Could insufficient power translate into decreased fps?

  8. #53
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    475

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    not having personally experienced lower fps due to low power levels, i don't know, but from reading countless posts in forums about people solving their "mysterious" problems with a new powersupply, it can lead to many other problems, instability included. not having enough power can kill components in your system.

  9. #54
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    31
    Posts
    909

    Re: How to stabily Overclock Core 2 Duo?

    well then i can't wait until i get my new 8800GT and Corsair 650W power supply!!!! Then i can experience at what it was meant to look like.... and decent fps tooo.... I'm hoping.... ????

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •