Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 268
  1. #31
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    3,072

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    I think that's an nvidia chipset thing. On my K9N platinum, all SATA drives showed up in the "remove safely" icon on the taskbar, along with USB drives. That doesn't happen on the ATI chipset board. Anyway, I'll try as is when I get the external SATA drive, and then activate AHCI if needed.

  2. #32
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    4,940

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_raider View Post
    I think that's an nvidia chipset thing. On my K9N platinum, all SATA drives showed up in the "remove safely" icon on the taskbar, along with USB drives. That doesn't happen on the ATI chipset board.
    Yeah you're probably right.
    I thought that this was an interesting statement in the MA790FX-DS5 manual.

    OnChip SATA Type (AMD SB600 chip)
    Configures the operating mode of the integrated SATA controller.
    >> Native IDEAllows the SATA controller to operate in Native IDE mode. (Default)
    Enable Native IDE mode if you wish to install operating systems that support
    Native mode, e.g. Windows XP/2000.
    >> RAID Enables RAID for the SATA controller.
    >> Legacy IDEAllows the SATA controller to operate in Legacy IDE mode. In Legacy mode the
    SATA controller uses dedicated IRQs that cannot be shared with other device.
    Set this option to Legacy IDE if you wish to install operating systems that do not
    support Native mode, e.g. Windows 9X/ME
    >> SATA ->AHCI Configures the SATA controller to AHCI mode. Advanced Host Controller
    Interface (AHCI) is an interface specification that allows the storage driver to
    enable advanced Serial ATA features such as Native Command Queuing and
    hot plug. For more information about AHCI, please visit Intel's website.

    AMD SB600 chip and please visit Intel's website all in the same paragraph - that's a hoot .
    My HTPC

    ASRock 970 Extreme3
    AMD FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
    M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
    Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
    Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
    Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
    Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (partitioned)
    Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
    Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


    You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.

  3. #33
    Joined
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Harvest, AL
    Posts
    19

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Add my thanks,
    Had AHCi enabled on my Gigabyte P35 ds 4 rev2 , XPpro. Some how it blinked and I was back to IDE Checked the program files, Windows 32, and The drivers were in the Intel folder Ran the AHCI.reg file rebooted and reset the bios , back in business. saved a copy of the reg file to an outside drive

  4. #34
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    I don't know what caused this but disabling AHCI in Bios allowed me to restart my son's Sager 2090 (7300 core 2)
    The notebook kept shutting down and restarting (safe mode no help)
    Instinctively I disabled AHCI and it was able to start normally.

    His Vista disks are back at college and he will not be able to mess with things anyway (good, smart kid on an Ipod, not PC tech savy)

    I should mention it's an SATA 7200 rpm HDD in notebook and he has a WD 500gb external, which I think is also sata, but not sure. Could the problem have been caused when he removed it at school (he didn't bring it home) and the notebook tried to do a restore? Is n't AHCI having to do with hot swapping? Is that what corrupted it?

    I am clueless, tried Sager tech support, waiting for a call ( on Christmas Eve, good luck to me!)

    I posted here because you all seem to have a handle on AHCI. I am comfortable installing drivers by using device manager but registry editing scares me. And I've learned to not go where I am scared!

    Any harm leaving AHCI disabled?
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  5. #35
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Sager Tech Support sends this:

    Please try update the driver from this site, see will solved the problem.


    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?

    strTypes=all&ProductID=816&OSFullName=Windows+Vista*+64&lang=eng&strOSs=150&submit=Go%21


    The download they point to says it's no longer available. Any idea which download the could be refering to in order to fix AHCI boot problem?
    Would it be a chipset/matrix storage, or should I just let them rply in a few days?
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  6. #36
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Hello, Im not sure if this article is old or not but, i tried this on my WinXP pro 32bit comp.

    Running Gigabyte DS-4 motherboard and E6750 CPU (if that matters)...

    I did as the manual said, but after i changed mode in BIOS to AHCI, it boots fine, but when i entered windows, it found new drives just as mentioned.

    Im not sure if i did something wrong though, cause i got a screen asking me if i would like to install Gigabyte GBB36X Controller, and i did.

    After that i tried running the installer which i downloaded earlier from intel, and it says my machine does not meet the requirements to install it.

    Annyone have any clue ?

  7. #37
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    I was able to successfully enabled AHCI mode with the Vista registry fix.

    However, I am unable to hot swap my external SATA drives.

    Here are the specs:

    OS - Vista Ultimate 32-bit
    CPU - Intel® Core™2 Duo Desktop Processor E6400 (http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL9T9)
    MOBO -Intel® Desktop Board DG965WH (http://www.intel.com/products/mother...65WH/index.htm)

    The OS boots to the WD Caviar® SE16 SATA Hard Drives 500 GB, 3 Gb/s, 16 MB Cache, 7200 RPM (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/produ...01&language=en)

    I use these EZ-Rack 3.5" internal SATA drive trays (http://www.meritline.com/197-130-001.html) with two Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 400-GB Hard Drive (http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.js...eqPage=Support)

    After the Vista registry fix, I rebooted, went into the BIOS and enabled AHCI. When login back into Windows, it detected the drives and installed the drivers.

    However, I am not able to hot swap these drives. It would not detect even if I have one of the drives out and then inserted into the tray.

    Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

    -----

    Edit: An apparently enabling AHCI mode was a major hardware change that I had to call MS to reactivate Vista!
    Last edited by graffixx; 12-30-2007 at 05:03 PM.

  8. #38
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    49
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Welcome to the forums

    Quote Originally Posted by graffixx View Post
    Edit: An apparently enabling AHCI mode was a major hardware change that I had to call MS to reactivate Vista!
    LOL - I wonder if hot swapping a drive will require reactivation too

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  9. #39
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,225

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider View Post
    Welcome to the forums



    LOL - I wonder if hot swapping a drive will require reactivation too
    On several occasions I've had XP request reactivation after a software install/remove. They're getting a bit overzealous about the whole thing...

  10. #40
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    480

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    I did the registry edit on Microsoft's page to enable the AHCI driver for Vista.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

    Then I rebooted, went in to the bios for my P5N32-E SLI motherboard, which uses the Nvidia 680i chipset, turned on RAID mode, which also turns on I believe AHCI for the Nvidia SATA Controller, rebooted and noticed that my system was faster, and it works perfect.

    The Vista registry edit, works on Vista 32 and Vista 64.

  11. #41
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ, but am from Chicago area
    Posts
    606

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    My issue turned out to be a Robson issue. The Robson drivers somehow got corrupted ( or were flakey from the beginning).
    Disabling AHCI disabled Robson and masked the real issue. An update to the Robson software and all is OK. AHCI is nbow enabled again. This is on a laptop.
    Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL,2500+ Barton, Corsair 2X256MBTwinX512-32000LLPT@5-2-2-2,(11X202),Works 430W PS,
    ATI 9100 64MB (279/261MHz),2 WD 40GB 7200RPM,DVD/CDRW/8X DVD+/- RW,Antec PlusView 1000

    Albatron KX18D Pro,2600+Barton,Kingston 2X256 PC2700 VR CL2.5@11-3-3-2.5,(11X200, dual channel in sync),Matrox 32MB-G400MAX,CDRW, Black Raidmax]


  12. #42
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Great simple!
    But for my Aspire 9920 I added more DEV's:
    HTML Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_282A&CC_0104]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2822&CC_0104]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2821&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2682&CC_0104]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2681&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_27C3&CC_0104]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_27C6&CC_0104]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_27C5&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#VEN_8086&DEV_2653&CC_0106]
    "Service"="iaStor"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
    "Type"=dword:00000001
    "Start"=dword:00000000
    "Group"="SCSI miniport"
    "ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
    "ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
    "tag"=dword:00000019
    "DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
    "queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
    "0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2821&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02\\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
    "Count"=dword:00000001
    "NextInstance"=dword:00000001
    I just don't know what controller type used in my system, so this .reg makes a deal with all types!
    Last edited by Peter Shilkin; 01-08-2008 at 06:57 AM.

  13. #43
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Found this thread when googling for a way to enable AHCI mode after I installed windows XP on my Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H motherboard (nforce 630i / Geforce 7100).

    I have found the necessary AHCI driver for my motherboard and so on, BUT...
    my problem is that I have tried for almost a day now to understand what entries to add to the registry from the .inf file...so I wanted to ask if it would be possible for anyone to help me with this. I have tried looking for programs to convert the .inf file to a .reg file, but this sort of programs seems to be very rare indeed.
    Also, there is no floppy drive in the computer.

    The contents of the .inf file looks like this:

    Code:
    ; Copyright (C) 2002-2007  NVIDIA Corporation
    ; Unauthorized copying or use without explicit permission of NVIDIA
    ; is prohibited
    ;
    [Version] 
    Signature = "$Windows NT$" 
    Class=HDC
    ClassGUID={4d36e96a-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318} 
    Provider=%NVIDIA% 
    CatalogFile=nvata.cat
    DriverVer=11/30/2007,10.1.0.28
    
    [DestinationDirs] 
    Crush11.Files.x86_12 = 12 
    Crush11.CoInstFiles = 11
    
    [SourceDisksNames.x86]
    0=%Desc_x860%
    
    [SourceDisksFiles.x86]
    nvgts.sys=0
    idecoi.dll=0
    
    [Manufacturer] 
    %NVIDIA%=NVIDIA
    
    [NVIDIA]
    
    
    %NVSTOR_DESC%=Crush11_Inst,PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0554&CC_0106
    %NVSTOR_DESC%=Crush11_Inst,PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_07F4&CC_0106
                                               
    [Crush11_Inst.ntx86] 
    CopyFiles = Crush11.Files.x86_12
    
    [Crush11_Inst.ntx86.HW] 
    AddReg=Crush11_Inst.ntx86.AddReg.HW
    
    [Crush11_Inst.ntx86.AddReg.HW]
    ; allow access from system and administrator only
    HKR,,"Security",,"D:P(A;;GA;;;SY)(A;;GA;;;BA)"
    
    [Crush11_Inst.ntx86.CoInstallers]
    CopyFiles = Crush11.CoInstFiles
    AddReg = Crush11_Inst.CoInst_AddReg
    
    [Crush11_Inst.CoInst_AddReg]
    HKR,,CoInstallers32,0x00010000,		\
    	"idecoiins.dll, NvIdeCoInstaller"
    
    
    HKR, Uninstall, Script,0,"nvide.nvu"
    HKR, Uninstall, Name,0,"NVIDIA IDE Driver"
    HKR, Uninstall, INFSrcDir, 0, %01% 
    HKR, Uninstall, Uninstaller,0,"nvuide.exe"
    
    [Crush11_Inst.ntx86.Services] 
    AddService = nvgts,0x00000002,Crush11_Service_Instx86,Crush11_EventLog_Instx86
    
    [Crush11_Service_Instx86] 
    ServiceType = %SERVICE_KERNEL_DRIVER% 
    StartType = %SERVICE_BOOT_START% 
    ErrorControl = %SERVICE_ERROR_CRITICAL% 
    ServiceBinary = %12%\nvgts.sys
    LoadOrderGroup = "SCSI Miniport"
    AddReg = Crush11_DisableFltCache_AddReg
    AddReg = pnpsafe_pci_addreg
    
    [Crush11_EventLog_Instx86]
    AddReg = Crush11_EventLog_AddReg
    
    [Crush11_EventLog_AddReg]
    HKR,,EventMessageFile,0x00020000,"%%SystemRoot%%\System32\IoLogMsg.dll;%%SystemRoot%%\System32\drivers\nvgts.sys"
    HKR,,TypesSupported,0x00010001,7 
    
    [Crush11_DisableFltCache_AddReg]
    HKR,,DisableFilterCache,0x00010001,1
    
    [pnpsafe_pci_addreg]
    HKR, "Parameters\PnpInterface", "5", %REG_DWORD%, 0x00000001
    
    
    [Crush11.Files.x86_12] 
    nvgts.sys
    
    [Crush11.CoInstFiles]
    idecoi.dll
    idecoiins.dll,idecoi.dll
    
    
    
    [Strings] 
    
    ;  *******Localizable Strings******* 
    NVIDIA= "NVIDIA Corporation" 
    Desc_x860= "SRCDATA" 
    NVSTOR_DESC= "NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller"
    
    ;  *******Non Localizable Strings******* 
    
    SERVICE_BOOT_START = 0x0 
    SERVICE_SYSTEM_START = 0x1 
    SERVICE_AUTO_START = 0x2 
    SERVICE_DEMAND_START = 0x3 
    SERVICE_DISABLED = 0x4 
    
    SERVICE_KERNEL_DRIVER = 0x1 
    SERVICE_ERROR_IGNORE = 0x0 
    SERVICE_ERROR_NORMAL = 0x1 
    SERVICE_ERROR_SEVERE = 0x2 
    SERVICE_ERROR_CRITICAL = 0x3 
    
    REG_EXPAND_SZ = 0x00020000 
    REG_DWORD = 0x00010001
    Thank you to everyone for any help.
    Last edited by Dexter07; 01-20-2008 at 09:31 PM.

  14. #44
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    Ok I did everything that to enable AHCI installed the .reg file rebooted and now AHCI works but I have a PCI device that has a ? in device manager. It says Other Devices: PCI Device? How do I install a driver for it? What should I choose? Should i change something in my registry?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by zimbiez; 01-21-2008 at 11:05 PM. Reason: add more detail.

  15. #45
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA
    Posts
    1,391

    Re: HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows

    I will give this installation a try. In the mean time, some additional links for installation and benefits of ncq:
    http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/...m/379005733831
    http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=2318
    http://www.techtalkz.com/guides/7232...alling-os.html
    Last edited by chrispycrunch; 01-22-2008 at 11:52 AM. Reason: update
    Intel E6750 C2D
    400x8 (3.2GHz) 32C idle/58C Load @ stock 1.31V/HSF | Gigabyte DS3R Rev 1 bios F13 | OCZ XTC Rev 2 @4-4-4-15 | Antec Sonata 3 500W | Palit 8800GT driver v.169.21 | WD 500GB | 22" 226BW | Logitech x-540 5.1

    AMD64 (754) 3000+ @2GHz |
    | ASUS K8N-E DLX BIOS 1.11 | 512x 2 OCZ Premier DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 | Antec Sonata 380W | 9600 Pro 128MB | 19" 930B

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •