Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,268

    3-core AMD processors?

    http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=42369

    I hope this is true. 3 cores will be something unique and may be just the thing to keep pricing down and help AMD tackle dual core Intel processors at least.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    Certainly sounds plausible. GPU makers have been doing this kind of thing for years.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,583

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    A good way to increase yields.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    60
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    Looks / sounds promising!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18,901

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    Last edited by tenax; 09-16-2007 at 10:23 AM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    this is the weirdest news ive read todaye lol..wtf 3? im not gonna bite unles its the same price as duallies. and how the heck do u run smp on it?

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    1,972

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    So why should i choose 3core chip over a quad?
    Sorry but this just sounds like a silly idea.

    BF3 Dino:
    i7 2600k, ASUS P8Z68-V Pro, 8GB Corsair, X-25M 120GB, WD 300GB Raptor, 2xEVGA GTX570HD 2.5GB, X-fi Titanium, Antec 1200W.
    Monster: i7 930, MSI X58 Platinum, 9GB Corsair, WD 74GB Raptor, WD 2TB, Palit GTX460 1GB, PCP&C 750W.
    Beast: AMD4400+, Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, 2GB Corsair, 2x 1TB WD Green Raid0, 2TB WD Green, KFA2 9600GT, Dynex 500W.
    Relic: Intel P4 3.2GHz, Asus P4SD-LA, 1.5 GB PC2700, 160GB WD, 120GB Maxtor, ATI 9600Pro, Dynex 500W.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    its gonna be a price war. 3cores are a great idea if the 4th is dead or dying or soemthing ..else..they say its + but i dont know...im curious about the new numbering scheme..as if everything was clear now

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    60
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    Pricing will be the real test of it....not much else to talk about till then! $/core, I suppose.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    if the ycan break the sub 50 dollarski per core itll be a blast. id give it between 65-75 canucks per core tough..

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    15,767

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    this could go really well for amd, if the price and performance is right i wouldn't mind owning a tri-core as my next cpu. as they mentioned gamers barely see the benefits of dual cores, so why double the cores you don't even use yet?

    this way you get a little extra for the future supposing software starts taking bigger advantage of multiple cores without overdoing it with something like a quad core.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz (45 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    SB X-Fi Xtreme Music + Steelseries 5H V2
    XFX 6950 2gb (6970 bios) / 2 x 25.5" Asus VW266H 1920x1200
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black



    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    Quote Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
    and how the heck do u run smp on it?
    The same way you do with dual or quad core processors.

    Quote Originally Posted by tjdehya View Post
    So why should i choose 3core chip over a quad?
    Sorry but this just sounds like a silly idea.
    Price, power consumption, heat.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    If it's true I'm all for it, more options are always good I think.

    However I think if the pricing and performance isn't right people will end up just opting for a quad. I mean currently quads can be had in the mid $2xx range but I guess if it helps AMD make use of crippled quad dies more power to them.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    30,854

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    It's a good idea.

    3's my number. However, i'm certainly not crippled.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    57

    Re: 3-core AMD processors?

    AMD has gotta do something to compete, they're losing ground against Intel.
    I have 2 AMD systems, if I were to buy one now I wouldn't even consider buying a AMD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •