Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 111

Thread: opteron 165

  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    opteron 165

    i have a asus a8v with an opteron 165, ram is corsair value select, ddr 400, the HSF is a XP90, with 90mm panflo fan,
    i would like to squease more than the 1.8GHz stock, but i have some questions about OC.
    do i need to boot up my machine and run stability tests for hours every time i up the frequency by 5Hz?
    i have seen people rport 3GHZ on this chip, but with a mult of 9, that would mean 333MHZ FSB, but my A8V only goes up to 300, so am i never goin to be able to get 3.0 GHZ?.. so my max would be 2.7GHZ?


    more questions will follow
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: opteron 165

    I would start high. Go for 300 and test. If it crashes either add more vcore or drop it 5 and re-test. No sense wasting hours testing at 205 as most 165's will do 2.5 or higher.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    my board cant even reach 280MHZFSB?
    im lowering the mult so that the cpu speed stays under 2.8
    and raising the voltage of the ram.... wont boot vista a 280 mhz... shame
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: opteron 165

    You may need to change the Ram Divider to make sure it stays within spec. Also, Via chipsets aren't as overclockable as NVidia chipsets. Some won't lock the AGP/PCI bus which can limit how high you can raise the fsb. Just because it has the option to set it to 300 doesn't mean it can actually run that fast. Check some of the stickies for Overclocking Guides and check your motherboard manual to see if that board can lock the PCI/AGP bus.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    i have a running OC...
    BUs = 266 MHz
    mult = 9
    HTT = 3
    Vcore 1.408V
    MEM 171 MHZ (2.5/2/2/6) 2.7V ...
    temp idle, with core temp is (40-43 & 44-48), for both cores

    however it aint very stable, .. just running super pi caused a crash at 55C
    should i loosen the timings in the memory, or what could be the problem?
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    i lost a sata disk... vista no longer sees it!!!!
    could this have anything to do with the oC?
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    i have a choice between xp90 cooler and the original amd cooler that came with the chip?
    sugestions
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: opteron 165

    I don't think the mem is the problem. It's more than likely the PCI/AGP bus running out of spec.

    Losing the SATA could easily be from an unlocked PCI/AGP bus running out of spec.

    It would depend on which HS it came with. If it's the four heatpipe version it would probably be a tossup unless you have an extrememly high powered fan on the XP90.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: opteron 165

    however it aint very stable, .. just running super pi caused a crash at 55C
    should i loosen the timings in the memory, or what could be the problem?
    55c is a reasonable temp at load. shouldn't be the reason for the crash. have you lower the memory divider yet? set it to 133 for the time being.

    i lost a sata disk... vista no longer sees it!!!!
    could this have anything to do with the oC?
    not sure. that's a storage drive?

    i have a choice between xp90 cooler and the original amd cooler that came with the chip?
    sugestions
    the xp90 would be better as long as the rpm of the fan isn't to low.

    after lowering the ram divider, superpi still crashes, raise the vcore another level.


    ud

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: opteron 165

    that board has the 800pro chipset and pci "should" be locked.

    he could try a different sata channel. ie: 3 instead of 1.


    ud

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    It would depend on which HS it came with. If it's the four heatpipe version it would probably be a tossup unless you have an extrememly high powered fan on the XP90.
    i have a panflo fan, but its not very fast... it usually rotates at arround 2000rpm
    the HS has two tubes on each side comming from the bottom and crossing in at the top... is this what u mean by the 4 pipe HS?
    you are right about the pci-agp lock, i set it to 66-33 and the HD came right back... nice!!!!



    i kept the ram as is, im not sure about what divider means... i mainly have 4 settings on the ram 1:1, 2:1,5:3... and the one i haxe now....

    anyways, i just started a prime95 torture test, so il have some news on that in 8 hrs or so...

    can u just clarify if i shold change the heat sink?


    thanks
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  12. #12
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: opteron 165

    No, but you could increase case airflow, priming 2 cores puts out a lot of heat, causing a high temp environment for the cpu.

    By the way you are doing good.
    Run cpu-z to get your actual memory speed, the post screen almost always is incorrect in overclock situations.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  13. #13
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Location
    northern USA, aka CANADA
    Age
    38
    Posts
    99

    Re: opteron 165

    testing for 6 hrs now, no errors, but prime 95 is not using 100% load, so i started two instances of superpi.. HEHE temps are 59/61...
    improving case flow is not an option.. the case is open..lol
    The green Earth say you?
    That is a mighty matter of legend, though you tread it under the light of day!




    Ozma. He is like a big rainbow ball of hate...

  14. #14
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: opteron 165

    this app will give you a tcase number, what does it show.

    http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/

    i have 2 xp90s and use this fan on them.

    http://www.svc.com/92smartcasefanblueled.html

    as gm mentioned, cpuz would be helpful.

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    here's the how to: get prime95 to run both cores.

    http://www.diy-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16446

    or orthos

    http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm


    ud

  15. #15
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: opteron 165

    with cpuz: what does htt read? under memory tab, what is the frequency? what is your current vcore?

    ud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •