Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,690

    DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    I am looking at Corsair, OCZ, and Mushkin 2x1GB RAM.

    Is there any problems one might have or not being able to clock the RAM to 250MHz?

    Thanks in advance
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/...iet-coup/7364/

    Must see video
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-money-masters/

    If workers are more insecure, that's very healthy for the society, because if workers are insecure they won't ask for wages, they won't go on strike, they won't call for benefits;, they'll serve the masters gladly and passively, And that's optimal for corporations.

    Alan Greenspan

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    If you can get the external clock to 250MHz stably, or if your BIOS supports a DDR500 ratio, it should not be a problem.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Go kingston or mushkin.
    Last pair of corsairs I had couldnt do 1T command even at 200 mhz.....

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,690

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Quote Originally Posted by oralpain View Post
    If you can get the external clock to 250MHz stably, or if your BIOS supports a DDR500 ratio, it should not be a problem.
    How would I check to see if my BIOS support DDR 500? I think it does but not sure.
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/...iet-coup/7364/

    Must see video
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-money-masters/

    If workers are more insecure, that's very healthy for the society, because if workers are insecure they won't ask for wages, they won't go on strike, they won't call for benefits;, they'll serve the masters gladly and passively, And that's optimal for corporations.

    Alan Greenspan

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Find where to adjust the memory ratios. If you see an option of 250, or 500MHz, it does. You'd need an E6 rev chip (all dula core 939s should be E6) and a recent bios.

    Also, don't get hung up on a certain specific brand, just make sure you find some quality memory that will do DDR500, and make sure you don't pay too much.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,690

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Quote Originally Posted by oralpain View Post
    Find where to adjust the memory ratios. If you see an option of 250, or 500MHz, it does. You'd need an E6 rev chip (all dula core 939s should be E6) and a recent bios.
    What I have in the memclock to CPU Ratio is

    1:1 (DDR 200
    4:3 (DDR 266)
    3:2
    5:3 (DDR 333)
    2:1 (DDR 400)

    By OCing the CPU I can get faster memclock. Not sure this would keep DDR 500 stable? What do you think. I need to get to 240MHz/480 DDR stable to have the best OCing of the CPU. As you can see in my sig the memory I have now and how it is OCed. Do have the BIOS for the dual core.

    Will the DDR 500 help me to OC?

    This is the RAM I am looking at presently. I think I can get it cheaper.
    http://www.axiontech.com/prdt.php?it...a87031f1baf115
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/...iet-coup/7364/

    Must see video
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-money-masters/

    If workers are more insecure, that's very healthy for the society, because if workers are insecure they won't ask for wages, they won't go on strike, they won't call for benefits;, they'll serve the masters gladly and passively, And that's optimal for corporations.

    Alan Greenspan

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,685

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    it's always a gamble.

    i have 2 170's and i get 2800mhz out of them.

    your board and cpu should do 10x280. that puts the pc 4000 right on the edge of their limit.

    i have a set of crucial tracer 2x512@2.5cas. i was able to get them to 280 by raising the cas to 3. i got a superpi run of 30.44s. i then used 166 divider/cas2.5 and got 31.54s.

    i then put a set of corsair c2's 2x1gig cas 2.5 and a 133 divider and got 32.5s.

    all were at 2t command rate.

    you can't juggle the multis to find a better max ram setting because your board won't let you above 280 htt.

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=445895


    newegg and directron have that memory scheduled for arrival tomorrow. if they show up then there is a rebate ending the same day. axion is a sub of directron.


    so the question is, is a couple of seconds worth $75-$100. any good $100+ 2x1gig ram with a 133 divider will get close. whether the mushkin are better or worse, don't know. and yes the board will handle the pc 4000. just set it to 200fsb.

    edit: since the ram is rated at cas 3 to start, no telling what it will max out as.

    ud
    Last edited by uddarts; 10-08-2007 at 02:42 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,690

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Thanks uddarts

    As you can tell I am still in the learning stages of what can and can not be done. I am debating between the two, 2x1GB or 2X512MB DDR PC 4000. I have read the difference between CAS2 @ 200MHz and 3. You have to get to 250MHz on CAS3 to have the same performance. Not sure the 2GB will do me much good because I don't do much gaming and have no plans upgrading to Vista with the present mobo. I figure by the time Microsoft stop supporting XP I will have to go to DDR 2 or DDR 3 with all new components. Just want a fast system to edit pictures and movies when needed. It is amazing how much faster 170 @ 2.7 is than the FX-53 @ 2.4. Heck I haven't updated XP to SP2 because I don't like Internet Explorer 7 with it's layout. I like to stick to what I know or think I know until it comes time to where I have to make a change plus until I do have to make a jump most if not all the bugs will be worked out on a new system that I would have to put together. Then all I would have to do is go by the numbers to have a rock solid system.
    Last edited by falcon_view; 10-08-2007 at 05:06 PM.
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/...iet-coup/7364/

    Must see video
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-money-masters/

    If workers are more insecure, that's very healthy for the society, because if workers are insecure they won't ask for wages, they won't go on strike, they won't call for benefits;, they'll serve the masters gladly and passively, And that's optimal for corporations.

    Alan Greenspan

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,685

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    np

    i think, since your content with your system and plan on keeping it, that over the long haul you'd be best off with 2x1g. i also think you'd see benefit with your editing.


    maybe some others can give additional input.


    ud

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    66
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Definitely go with two 1 gig sticks. That will help minimize paging to disk and maintain memory speed at DDR400, whereas 4 sticks will very likely fall back to DDR333. I run an opteron 185 in mine and love it.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,685

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    that didn't take long.


    tks b


    ud

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,462

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Quote Originally Posted by falcon_view View Post
    I am debating between the two, 2x1GB or 2X512MB DDR PC 4000. I have read the difference between CAS2 @ 200MHz and 3. You have to get to 250MHz on CAS3 to have the same performance.
    3-4-4-9-T1 @ ~250MHz was all-round faster, bandwidth, latency, and real world performance than ~200-220MHz 2-2-2-5-T1 w/the tightest sub-timings possible, when I was using my Opteron 165. CPU speed was 2.71GHz in both cases.

    Going to T2 command rate, or worse, not having enough memory, is a much bigger hit than going from CAS2 to 3.

    2x1GB is pretty much the only way to go.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,690

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Thanks uddarts and oralpain, howdy BWM

    I've got a 185 setting here waiting to be installed when I get my order of thermal paste (Arctic Cooling MX2). For the 2GBs I do have this Corsair-XMS(Platinum Series)-2-GB-PC3200-Dual-Channel but it does not OC will. Only to about 217MHz. I have built a box for my wife that has the 2GBs in it so I will swap out the PRO 1GB in my box for the 2GB in her's and see if I can OC the 185 to 2.8GHz.
    Last edited by falcon_view; 10-08-2007 at 08:03 PM.
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/...iet-coup/7364/

    Must see video
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-money-masters/

    If workers are more insecure, that's very healthy for the society, because if workers are insecure they won't ask for wages, they won't go on strike, they won't call for benefits;, they'll serve the masters gladly and passively, And that's optimal for corporations.

    Alan Greenspan

  14. #14
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,685

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    have you tried the 2gig corsair in your current setup?

    what's the stepping(birthday) on the 185?


    ud

  15. #15
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: DDR 4000 In A A8V Deluxe 939 socket

    Quote Originally Posted by BWM View Post
    Definitely go with two 1 gig sticks. That will help minimize paging to disk and maintain memory speed at DDR400, whereas 4 sticks will very likely fall back to DDR333. I run an opteron 185 in mine and love it.
    Watcha talkin bout?!!?!?1
    I got 4 sticks and I can reach 265 with my RAM.
    Running @250 no problem right now,2T command of course due to A64 memory controller limit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •