Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    5,755

    Thumbs up AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    I just bought a cpu/MB/1gig ocz ddr2 ram combo for the girl friend at fryes for $130 bucks local. I couldnt believe how well it ran only being 1900mhz.Anyone else had any luck with these cpu's.I did a search and they are around $100 bucks which seems a little high compaired to higher clocked cpu's anyway it runs pretty decent for such a low priced system.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    nice ! what board did you get with it ?
    IMO most low end cpus available today are more then enough to run todays apps , it is all the hype that you need some mega giga Hrz CPU to run the latest software when in fact you reay dont. shoot I ran a 4000+ AM2 that runs Supreme comander just fine . Guess it just all the hype out their that unless you have a super CPU then somehow your not going to have enough.

    so , have you tryed any overclockin yet ?
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    So true any dual core can handle todays games and appz.You dont need a quad

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    actually u dont need a dual core necessarily, a single core c2d would do nice in most game. will it be as smooth compared to its cousins who offload some f the work on the second or 3rd,4t core etc? nope.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    the "high"er price is for the low power usage of the chip.

    a single core c2d
    is there any such animal???


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    5,755

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    ECS GeForce6100SM-M2 is the board from the price of the combo with the OCZ ram I figure not a bad deal.I havent even tried over clocking the thing but it runs in the mid to high 30's celcius range under a load.She plays WoW so the onboard vid is fine for her.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    nice. it should clock good till 300 mhz or so given its got the apripriate bios options

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    is there any such animal???

    i hea theyre phasing out the cellys and bringing these to the table. not bad, at all.if it comes tru.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    5,755

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    Im probly going to pick another one up for myself the BE- 2350 looks like a good deal also like $10 bucks more and 200 more mhz Im wanting to build a sff rig and with the low temps seems like it would maybe be the best option.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA
    Posts
    1,392

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    Great option. Any pc will start to bottleneck depending on the OS, be2300 or quad core...after time...when running windows xp or vista!

    A simple re-format is almost a necessity every 2-3 years these days.
    Intel E6750 C2D
    400x8 (3.2GHz) 32C idle/58C Load @ stock 1.31V/HSF | Gigabyte DS3R Rev 1 bios F13 | OCZ XTC Rev 2 @4-4-4-15 | Antec Sonata 3 500W | Palit 8800GT driver v.169.21 | WD 500GB | 22" 226BW | Logitech x-540 5.1

    AMD64 (754) 3000+ @2GHz |
    | ASUS K8N-E DLX BIOS 1.11 | 512x 2 OCZ Premier DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 | Antec Sonata 380W | 9600 Pro 128MB | 19" 930B

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 Dual Core

    I will let you know soon, the BE-2350 I ordered for the GF came in yesterday, I should have it built by tonite.
    Couldnt pass it up: Gigabyte HDMI board, CPU, 2-gigs Corsair XMS memory, Corsair 450 watt power supply, and a 320gig Seagate HD. Around $450 shipped.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •