Ubuntu Server - with webmin

I haven't given up yet on Ubuntu Server for my fileserver/VMWare/FTP which I eventually want to inhabit my DMZ however, I'm still really struggling with JUST a CLI.

So my question is this - Is it more secure to go with the CLI and secured Webmin or stick with XUbuntu until I can feel comfortable with just CLI?

I'm using the current tutorial as a means to lockdown Webmin-
    http://www.linuxloader.com/modules.p...pid=29&page=12

I'm a fairly novice Linux user and just trying to figure out a good path to travel with this.

Thoughts?
    Soy el caimán seis cincuenta.

Re: Ubuntu Server - with webmin

Until you're 100% comfortable, I'd always stick with a GUI install. Once you have the box configured you can disable (switch to runlevel 3) or even uninstall the GUI if that's what you want.

I've been using Linux extensively since about 2001 and I still use GUI installs so it's nothing to be ashamed of I just still prefer a GUI text editor to vi or emacs

I think products like Ubuntu Server sometimes confuse newer members to the Linux community. Folks think they need it for a server - they don't. A server product in Linux speak is normally just a normal distro without the GUI. Any distro will act just as happily in desktop, laptop, server etc configuration as all the tools required are provided.
    Last edited by Ned Slider; 12-28-2007 at 01:41 PM.

I chose the server install because I really want a minimalist box with just a few roles I choose running (as opposed to a desktop install with a variety things running that I have to go and disable).

I have also been reading about installing/uninstalling the GUI so I might play with that some.

Thanks for giving me another angle to explore. Perhaps it is my Windows indoctrination caring over to the Linux world that I just never feel like anything is 'removed' after you tell it to 'remove' it.

Quote Originally Posted by Gator650 View Post