Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27

    Memory Latency + Sandra

    Do these numbers look normal? Because the latency seems extremely high to me. Any input?



    64 x2 4000+ @ 2.8 GHz
    G-Skill 6400 2x1Gb @ 4-4-4-12-2T 400 MHz
    Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 AM2
    Last edited by Cataligh; 12-31-2007 at 04:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Yes, those do look high. I'll have to run sandra on my system when I get home to compare. I know that I run in the low to mid 40ns on my a64 x2 4200 running ddr 400 at 2.5-3-3-10 at 1T. I can't remember what I get on my two c2d systems with ddr2, but I know the latency is higher, but I don't think that high.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Run czu-z latency.exe
    s939 has superior latency to AM2. 2T has a lot to do with it and there are higher timings that are board controlled.
    It is very important to not be doing anything when you run Sandra.
    Yes it seems high, what is your memory speed?


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Ok, the above test was run at 4-4-4-12 2T 800 MHz. I swapped in a Biostar TF520 A2+ board, ran memory at 5-5-5-15 2T 800 MHz and my scores went way down

    90 ns
    84.30

    So the memory isn't the problem, its the Gigabyte board. My question is is that Nforce 430's fault or just a faulty board?

    BTW Glasman, I'm the same guy who was posting about memory bandwidth problems. With the Biostar board, my speeds are 8800 mb/s as opposed to the 6300 mb/s I was getting with the above Gigabyte board.

    Thing is I'm not a big fan of this Biostar board, its not as stable as my Gigabyte board.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Cataligh, if you look at the 3 systems in my sig, in order, my latency scores are 83ns, 85ns, and 76ns, respectively. Now that's across a couple of versions of sandra (XI - XIII). Also, latency on my biostar system per an old version of everest is 49ns, as opposed to the 76ns I got in sandra. In any case, yes, your originally posted latency score was quite high.

    Per your last post, it sounds like something is happening with that gigabyte mobo to cause such high latency. That's interesting, because when the cpu, psu, hdd, and memory in my biostar system were in a soltek K8T-939 mobo and running at identical speeds, and running the same version of everest, I used to get a latency score of 41ns. So obviously the mobo can make a difference in memory latency. That's surprising to me given that the memory controller is on a64 chips. I do recall that the soltek mobo, even at stock, was considered a fast mobo. I can appreciate that now. I'm curious how a mobo can affect memory latency so much.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3,463

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    The memory controler is on the CPU, but the BIOS still controls all the settings/timings, including ones you cannot see or change, and the PCB traces are still on the motherboard.

    Something is clearly wrong with the timings the Gigabyte board is feeding to the CPU/memory.

    Chipset is irrelivant, it is not in between the CPU and ram. The traces go directly from the dimm slots to the cpu socket, in the case of K8/K10 chips.
    Last edited by oralpain; 12-31-2007 at 10:23 PM.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    With the Biostar board, my speeds are 8800 mb/s as opposed to the 6300 mb/s I was getting with the above Gigabyte board.
    Thing is I'm not a big fan of this Biostar board, its not as stable as my Gigabyte board.
    think there might be a relationship??
    Hi again, Cat.
    On my s939 VnF4 I got the time down to 32?ns that was 222@240ish. Like I said above s939 is a lot quicker When I ran sandra on the AM2 I was diappointed by the latency times, (but they weren't over 100 eithe)rbut they did look better in latency.exe I didn't have that 64MB hit your did.

    Does your MB have an Optimal Settings as well as Failsafe?? Might try that. Clear cmos first to ensure every thing gets reset.

    PS you may want to try the Gigabyte Forum here. they should know the board and maybe have a solution.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    BC,Canada
    Posts
    678

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Here's a compare for u, I'm also DL COD 4 while I did the test.

    Since we have the same boards could u run the membandwidth test in sandra XI lite SP2 if u've got it? Thanks

    SiSoftware Sandra

    Benchmark Results
    Memory Latency (Random Access) : 71 ns
    Speed Factor : 69.7
    Results Interpretation : Lower index values are better.

    Benchmark Breakdown
    1kB Range : 3.1 clk (~1.0 ns)
    4kB Range : 3.1 clk (~1.0 ns)
    16kB Range : 3.1 clk (~1.0 ns)
    64kB Range : 3.1 clk (~1.0 ns)
    256kB Range : 17.8 clk (~5.9 ns)
    1MB Range : 96.6 clk (~32.0 ns)
    4MB Range : 67.3 ns (203.2 clk)
    16MB Range : 70.2 ns (211.7 clk)
    64MB Range : 71.1 ns (214.6 clk)

    Performance Test Status
    Run ID : FEADUP-on Tuesday, January 01, 2008 at 6:14:18 PM
    Platform Compliance : Win32 x86
    System Timer : 3.6MHz
    Memory Access : Random

    Processor
    Model : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
    Speed : 3.02GHz
    Model Number : 5600 (estimated)
    Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
    Type : Dual-Core
    L2 On-board Cache : 1MB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

    Chipset 1
    Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 1008MHz (2016MHz data rate)
    In/Out Width : 16-bit / 16-bit
    Maximum Bus Bandwidth : 8064MB/s (estimated)

    Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
    Bank 0 : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM 4.0-5-5-15 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS) CR2
    Bank 1 : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM 4.0-5-5-15 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS) CR2
    Bank 2 : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM 4.0-5-5-15 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS) CR2
    Bank 3 : 1GB DDR2-SDRAM 4.0-5-5-15 (tCL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS) CR2
    Channels : 1
    Bank Interleave : 4-way
    Speed : 2x 377MHz (754MHz data rate)
    Width : 128-bit
    Memory Controller in Processor : Yes
    Cores per Memory Controller : 2 Unit(s)
    Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 12064MB/s (estimated)
    Last edited by peski; 01-02-2008 at 12:03 AM.

    LG 204WT,OS XP pro 64/ OCZ GXS 850w/ x2 5600+@12x250 & Tuniq Tower 120/ Ga M61P-S3/ Firestix pc6400 2x1024 dual/ 80g + 250g seagate sata2/ 8800GTS 640MB@ 650/975 / SB Audigy LS/ 2x80mm,1x120mm/ Pioneer 109 cddvd combo.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Memory Latency + Sandra

    Sorry to bring this thread back from the dead, but I am having the same problem. Here is a copy of what I sent to AMD and posted on AMD's forums.

    I built a system using an AMD Sempron LE-1150 (2GHz) with 1GB (2x 512MB) DDR2-800 running at DDR2-667 5-5-5-15-20-2T on an ASRock ALiveNF6G-VSTA. The memory latency is horrible, 285ns in Sisoft Sandra random memory latency test (http://img162.imageshack.us/img162/6...latencyvq5.png). I picked the ALiveNF6G-VSTA because I built another system with it and was very happy with it. That system used an AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2GHz) with 2GB (2x 1GB) DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-20-2T. In Sandra it does around 100ns at stock speeds. After lots of switching of the RAM and CPU in each motherboard, I have ruled out the RAM as the problem. When using the 3200+ in either mobo with either set of RAM I always get under 125ns in sandra, even when setting up the 3200+ to be as much like the LE-1150 as possible (only differences being voltage, L2 cache, and orleans vs sparta core). It's hard to believe there would be such a huge difference in the 3200+ and the LE-1150. I've come to believe either this is normal for a LE-1150, or there is a problem with the memory controller on my LE-1150, or maybe the LE-1150 and ALiveNF6G-VSTA don't quite work so well together, even though it is on the supported list. I don't think the mobo is the problem however I had the same problems with this CPU in an MSI motherboard which is part of the reason why I ended up switching to the ASRock thinking it was the MSI board. I can't test again with the MSI board due to a bad BIOS flash (trashed the bootblock and all) and it's soldered on and I haven't had the time to remove it and add a socket. I don't have any other AM2 boards to test with.

    I contacted ASRock and got a pretty generic broken english reply that said nothing. I contacted AMD 2008-03-03, but haven't heard anything yet. I seem to not be the only person who has ran into this problem as I found this (http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=450060) while searching on google.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •