Thread: Laptop died

Laptop died

My laptop croaked but I'm fairly certain that the hard drive is fine since it's fairly new. I have to do some magic to get the files back and I have no experience with recovering files from a linux partition. I'm assuming only another copy of linux can read it (ext3 file system).

When I do finally retrieve the files how much of them can I use to recover my original install? I upgraded my laptop to an older P4 to an AMD 64 bit processor. My neighbor, who's a linux freak, made some comment a while back that I could literally just drop my files onto another system and just run it provided I had the hardware drivers. Is there any truth to that? It's a moot point because I've already installed the latest KUbuntu.

This laptop came bundled with Vista so it's my first experience with MS's latest. Not really happy with that and the fact that a new laptop comes bundled with 18,000 spyware infested pieces of garbage software. I couldn't get Linux on here fast enough.

Re: Laptop died

Hi snowball,

Can you just clarify exactly what it is you want to do (the bit about Vista is confusing me slightly).

Anyway, as a general rule of thumb...

If you just want to recover documents, pictures, config files etc then pop the drive in any working machine and use a Linux LiveCD to boot the machine (I normally use knoppix for recovery like this, but you can use virtually any LiveCD). Then mount the partition on the HD and copy off your files. You have a number of choices to where you copy them - to a USB pen drive, burn them to CD/DVD with K3B (if you have twin optical drives), copy them to a network share, upload them to an FTP server etc, whatever option is available to you and most convenient.