Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 58 of 58
  1. #46
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    I ran cpuid and coretemp under Prime95 and they agreed with pc wizard. cpuid which also has a cpu temp reading had it at 55C.
    Gigabyte MA790FX DS5 - 5000BE AM2
    PC 3870 - Crucial Balistix 4-4-4-18
    Corsair 550 PSU Zalman 7000Al Cu

  2. #47
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,679

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    your still running stock voltage i assume. 37/42 are what i would consider likely temps at your oc and it's what i think i was getting with my ecs ka3 with the be running 3050mhz@1.36v.

    i just plugged in my ecs 770 with the be and a zalman 7500al. i'm getting those single digit numbers and 20/25 under load at all stock settings with both core temp and speedfan.

    ud

  3. #48
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    What is the ambient temp in your room? Is the 7500al that much better a cooler to allow you to get 20/25 under load. Is that Prime95 torture and 3050OC?
    Gigabyte MA790FX DS5 - 5000BE AM2
    PC 3870 - Crucial Balistix 4-4-4-18
    Corsair 550 PSU Zalman 7000Al Cu

  4. #49
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,679

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    currently stock 2600mhz and ambient 68f. haven't had a chance to rev it up yet. the 3050mhz was a different board, cooler and over a month ago . i usually see: winter/68 vs summer75 load temps: 54c vs 57/58, not a whole lot.

    my quess 7000 vs 7500 al difference would be a 3-5 degrees. there's a guy in the forums that uses a 7000 to oc his 939.


    i should have some comparison numbers later.


    ud

  5. #50
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,679

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    stock: 13x200@1.32v bios 39c

    idle core temp 13/13c & speed fan 13c(speed fan monitors core #1)

    load 25/29

    /////

    idle 13x230@1.32v bios 45c

    core temp 13/13c

    load 26/20

    //////

    15x200@1.32v bios 44c

    idle core temp 10c/10c

    load 27/31c

    ///////

    since idle temp shows approximately 15c lower than room temp add 15 to the core temp readings and 45c would be what i expected, plus or minus. i know this cpu will do 3150@1.42v and 3232@1.47v.

    16x201@1.47v bios 51c

    idle core temp 17/17c

    load 40/46c

    ///////

    so i figure i'm running slightly over 60c with the 7500al at max peak temps.


    what are your 2 core temp readings? both idle and load?




    ud

  6. #51
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    At 66F ambient my core temps are between 5 and 10C idle. 37 and 42C load.
    read by pc wizard at 230x13, 3.0, 1.32v default and C&Q enabled
    Gigabyte MA790FX DS5 - 5000BE AM2
    PC 3870 - Crucial Balistix 4-4-4-18
    Corsair 550 PSU Zalman 7000Al Cu

  7. #52
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,679

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    i see you have been hunting for answers elsewhere.

    looks like investing in another cooler is about the only way to find out.



    ud

  8. #53
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    i see you have been hunting for answers elsewhere.

    looks like investing in another cooler is about the only way to find out.



    ud
    Not sure what that meant, but I am taking this thread to have been saying that the core temps are what I should be worrying about. Right now during the winter, I am happy with these temps. If this summer changes things much, I might have to try another cooler. thanks
    Gigabyte MA790FX DS5 - 5000BE AM2
    PC 3870 - Crucial Balistix 4-4-4-18
    Corsair 550 PSU Zalman 7000Al Cu

  9. #54
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,679

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    i was doing a little googling to see if any one else had the same problem. i was glad you were using multiple sources but no one seems to have the answer. darn!

    ud

  10. #55
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    Hello Nate,

    I just built a 5000+ Black on a MSI 7325 with a Cooler Master Hyper TX HSF and Corsair TWIN 2X2048-6400C4. I started cranking it up a bit today and the thing is running great at 210 x 15 - 3150 Mhz. Vcore 1.3.

    I've just started memtesting the ram so I haven't adjusted that or any voltages.

    My temps are similar to yours. Core Temp says core #0 is usually 11-14 and core #1 is 7-10. CPUID Hardware Monitor gives me the same temps but reverses the core numbering. Right now it's telling me cores of 10 and 16 with a max for the day of 19 and 24, a CPU temp of 26 with a max of 36 and system temp of 35 with a max of 36.

    The only crash I've had is when I invoked the cool 'n' quiet function to see what would happen.

  11. #56
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    It is interesting that C & Q would cause a crash. I have it enabled with no problems at all. Does anyone know why it would cause an issue? Is it just some boards or perhaps a bad window's install?

    When you say 1.3v does that mean you are undervolting? the default is 1.32
    That might explain instability.
    Gigabyte MA790FX DS5 - 5000BE AM2
    PC 3870 - Crucial Balistix 4-4-4-18
    Corsair 550 PSU Zalman 7000Al Cu

  12. #57
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    That voltage is set to "Auto" in the bios. At the time I looked prior to posting, it was actually at 1.304.

    No idea why cnq would cause a crash. I didn't look into it. I just went back and disabled it. It's not an important function to me and it gets a pretty bad rap in the AMD processor forum.

  13. #58
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Athlon 64 x2 5000+ Black Edition

    Quote Originally Posted by danzcool View Post
    I'm putting together a system with the 5000+ BE and Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe. I know people like the 5000+ BE for overclocking, my question is what are you getting, and what settings are you using? What is a safe voltage range for this CPU, the default is 1.31 vcore. I'm mostly interested in just increasing the multiplier and not doing much of anything the the bus.
    Over the weekend I stopped my hemming and hawing and put together a nice little gaming rig using a 5000+ BE and a Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H. I have a Zalman CNPS9500NT for cooling, and am using 4GB (2x2) of Patriot PC-6400 (5-5-5-15).

    At the moment (put it together Saturday afternoon) it's running 3150MHz @ 1.3v. I set the multiplier at 15, and bumped the CPU bus to 210. Rock solid under XP SP2 (played Hellgate:London about 10 hours continuously yesterday), but Vista seems a bit unstable. I'm still investigating. Processor temp with my Zalman runs about 43' C under load. The board has fairly limited OC settings, but it's enough to bump CPU bus, alter the HTT multiplier, adjust the CPU multiplier, etc - the simple stuff. It was awesome to throw it in, install XP, get all that nonsense squared away, and then bump the multi to 15 with no issues whatsoever.
    Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
    Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE @ 200MHz x 15 / 1.3v
    Zalman CNPS9500NT
    4GB Patriot DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •