INTEL Overclocking Questions Please help

I have always had AMD stuff. Now I think I will go with a Intel E8400 and a Gigabyte P3S-D53L and Corsair PC6400 cl4. So I have some overclocking questions. I have limited experience with OC on the AMD side.

1) Is the E8400 an unlocked chip - by that I mean, can you change both the frequency and the multiplier in the BIOS?

2) My understanding was that oc'ing by changing the CPU Multiplier is easier and more successful generally, due to the fact that this would not impact the RAM and other things. Is this true? From what I read on the web, it appears they only oc this chip by changing the CPU Freq.

3) Is it possible to overclock the E8400 by changing the CPU Multiplier and not changing the CPU Frequency? If so, I would think this might give better results if your RAM is limiting you.

4) Has any OC'ed the E8400 using PC6400? I have Corsair PC6400 cl4 that I would like to use and hope it will work. I only intend to go somewhere between 3.5 and 3.8. I believe (depending on motherboard) I will need to up the RAM voltage, as this is 2.1V ram.

Thanks for your input It sounds like this is a killer chip for a steal of a price.

Re: INTEL Overclocking Questions Please help

Intel chips have multipliers which can change, but only downwards, and only within a certain range. This is essentially because it is needed in order for SpeedStep to work. Thus my E6600 has a set multiplier of 9, but can vary it down to 6. I can therefore select 6, 7, 8 or 9 in BIOS, but no other figure. The range varies from chip to chip, but it is always locked above the nominal value.

This means that you can't use the multiplier to raise the CPU speed, only to get the same CPU speed at a faster bus speed.

There's no reason not to use 6400 RAM, as the RAM speed makes little difference in overall performance.

M

Hi,

I also changed over from AMD to Intel for the performance and overclocking potential.