Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    i just assembled a new computer and i have a few questions about the ram/mobo. I have a gigabyte motherboard, x38-ds24 . The mem slot says that it's 1.8v. I also have g-skill DDR2 1066 memory, which says 2.0~2.1v on the sticker. Is this an issue? I don't think so, because i am using it right now but for longevity reasons do i need to worry about it? another question, about cas latency, the ram says 5-5-5-10, but in my bios, it's reporting 5-7-7-20. I can enter in numbers manually, but when i put in the 5-5-5-10, the computer wouldn't boot. so, as i said, it's working fine the way it is now, but i would like to know if it's worth the effort to get the maximum out of what it says.

    thanks for any responses.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    try setting the vdimm to 2.0v/save and exit. then return and manually set the timings to factory spec. see if that helps.


    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    ok, so i tried that, and it didn't work, maybe i should just leave it alone.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    Might look at this thread to through some light on the subject.
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=452066

    I've had very good luck with G-Skill. Try 2.1v


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    thanks, ive been following that....

    ok, so now ive noticed that my motherboard is not actually 1.8, but it must have automatically adjusted to 2.1, cause it says that, i just didn't notice before. I am getting 5-7-7-20 tho, and i cant change to the "optimal" or max of 5-5-5-10 that is on the sticker. The best i could come up with is 5-5-5-15, but when that happens, it changes the memory from 400Mhz to 533 Mhz, which i don't really want...I have run memtest on both ways and no errors either way, so i think i will just let it be, cause i don't have any problems...thanks for the responses

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Healdsburg, CA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    967

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by smhoward2 View Post
    The best i could come up with is 5-5-5-15, but when that happens, it changes the memory from 400Mhz to 533 Mhz, which i don't really want...I have run memtest on both ways and no errors either way, so i think i will just let it be, cause i don't have any problems...thanks for the responses
    That's perfect. That is the specified operating specs of your memory.

    Your memory is designed to run at 5-5-5-15 @ 533MHz.

    DDR2 1066 memory runs on a 533MHz bus.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: question about gskill ram and gigabyte motherboard

    hmm, thanks for letting me know something i should have already known
    I was thinking all along that 1066 was 400 Mhz, not 533....thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •