Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    Hi all. I'm more or less renovating an old Soltek DRV5 system I built with a tbred-rev b running at 166 X 13 with 512mg of ddr333 ram running in sync. It passes an hour or so of memtest86 and prime95, but sometimes midway through 3dmark 2001se it goes back to the XP desktop and flashes a little gray error message screen that says "3dmark cannot be completed because the 3dmark display window lost focus". It says the cause of the error is reported in an error log, but I'm not seeing any explanation for why it's crashing in the log. I should add that my system temps are all quite cool, low 30s, gpu temp low 50s even under load.

    Update: I should add that sometimes the system just freezes during 3dmark 2001se. Now I'm going to try 3dmark 2003 and see how that runs.

    Anyone encounter this before? Any suggestions? BTW, a google search comes up with some hits, but no real explanations that I've found so far. I also turned off both my malware programs. That seemed to fix it at first, and I thought that was the issue, but I still get the crashes even with Windows defender and threatfire disabled.

    This is a system I had donated to my son's school a few years back, and to make a long story short, I'm trying to get it up and running again and stable. Other than 3dmark, it seems to run quite well, still a pretty fast system actually. Helluva lot faster than my Pentium 4 work computer!! Thanks.

    marty
    Last edited by alex666; 02-23-2008 at 11:07 PM. Reason: clarified some stuff
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,926

    Re: 3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    My experience is that it's just a sign of instability in many cases - there has been a slight glitch in the background which has interrupted the CPU. I'm assuming that you've disabled programs like DC projects, where loading a new unit can trigger this. When I raise the voltage or lower the O/C is usually goes away. If you are not overclocked, try raising the CPU and or RAM voltages.


    M

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: 3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    I might have solved it. When I built this system a couple of years ago, I installed an old gfs card, something like that. Anyway, this time I installed a 6600gt. I uninstalled the old drivers and installed the newest for Nvidia 6-series cards, the 169.21 drivers. However, I had not updated dx9, i.e., the version that was in there was from early 2005. So I updated it, and now all seems to be running just fine. I've run multiple loops of 2001se, I even turned on my malware programs while running 2001se, and now it's not crashing. So I've got to wonder if it was just an issue of updating dx9.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: 3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    Aargh, I spoke too soon. Same message: "Reliable benchmarking cannot be completed because the 3DMark display window lost focus".

    On the one hand, this system is not overclocked at all, though I'm running the chip, which is technically rated as a tbred b 2100 at 133/266 running at a mult of 5 such that it's running at 166/333. But it's always been able to run 3dmark 2001se at this setting. Hmm. Maybe I need to back off on the video driver and find an earlier version. I'll give it a shot.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Age
    75
    Posts
    598

    Re: 3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    Could it be maybe that your screen saver is trying to kick in?
    Basicly you've got another app that is trying to launch and it's taking the focus away from the benchmark, check the task manager and see what other apps are in the background.
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my "Techno Teepee"
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5142Mhz [21x244] 1.536v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=53c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.6 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120GB SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: 3dmark 2001se "display window lost focus"

    Quote Originally Posted by oldbrave View Post
    Could it be maybe that your screen saver is trying to kick in?
    Basicly you've got another app that is trying to launch and it's taking the focus away from the benchmark, check the task manager and see what other apps are in the background.
    Thanks for the input. I've got my screen saver turned off. The thing that's odd is that on every system I've ever built, I just run the 3dmarks and have never had to worry about background tasks. In fact, I've never even seen this error before. When I push my oc too far, the system would freeze. But not this error. Plus, keep in mind, my very first full build was on this mobo, so I know it very well, and I've never had this error. This just perplexes me. But I'll double check to see if there is some process running that I'm missing. Who knows, maybe there's a virus on this puppy that I'm missing, as it's been out of my hands for several years, though I've upgraded the AV and spyware apps.

    Finally, I bumped the vcore one notch. I'm wondering if someone dropped the vcore a bit when this was out of my hands. It was set at 1.675 so I bumped it to 1.70, and I think that's where I had set it when I added the t-bred b. I'll just keep playing with it.

    Update: well, the bump in vcore made no difference. I finally found a direct reference to this error message at the futuremark website. They pretty much say it's due to some other program running in the background and intruding. Odd that I've never had this happen before. I mean, I've been running the 3dmarks since 2002 and this is the first I've ever seen this error. Very odd. I'll play some more to see if I can figure this out, which process might be causing it.

    marty
    Last edited by alex666; 02-25-2008 at 01:23 AM.
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •