Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 84
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Overclocking nView/4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Now trying to get down to the business of oc’ing DreamCatcher v2.0’s mobo / CPU and….

    Have finished flashing to Bios 15 and everything seems to be working “normally”, that is until in went into bios to start setting up for oc’ing!

    SoftMenu Setup:

    Set CPU Operating Speed to User Defined. Go into CPU External Clock (MHz) and the up/down arrows don’t respond nor can I change any values with the keyboard. The screen shows the min and max setting plus the line with the red box that I assume is where the new value should appear.

    Advanced Chipset Features:

    HT Spread Spectrum doesn’t even show (as illustrated in the manual)

    So I’m stuck at stock….what have I done wrong or what am I missing?? Please say it is my stupidity and not something with the board or bios!
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 02-25-2008 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Changed Title

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    usb keyboard? see if there is a enable for that in the bios.

    maybe try a ps/2.

    did you do a bios/cmos clear after flashing the bios?

    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    usb keyboard?
    yes

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    did you do a bios/cmos clear after flashing the bios?
    OOPS!

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    again because if that doesn't help, read below.

    ABIT NF-M2 nView Discussion Thread

    one thing i discovered about my mobo is that when i flash the bios using winflash, the board totally unstable even at default speed! everything went fine when i reflash with abit flashmenu. same bios file of course.

    ud

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Okay reset the CMOS, but the parts are still missing and up/down arrow issue still exists.

    Also noticed in this go around under Advanced Chipset Features is a new Option: CPU Feature = Virtualization Enabled

    Also have a question under peripherals... On Chip USB > should keyboard be OS or Bios?

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    again because if that doesn't help, read below.

    ABIT NF-M2 nView Discussion Thread

    ud
    So does this mean I'm back to ground 0 and need to reflash using abit flashmenu?!?

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    unless you have a better guess.

    do you have a ps/2 keyboard? plug it in the board.

    what happens when you enter an features area and hit the enter key? long shot


    ud

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    unless you have a better guess.

    do you have a ps/2 keyboard? plug it in the board.

    what happens when you enter an features area and hit the enter key? long shot

    ud
    No ps/2 keyboard the usb one works fine everywhere else in the bios except there!

    Oddly enough on Abit's site it talks like its flashmenu is only needed for "older boards".

    Time to back off and rethink.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)


  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Use +/_ to increase/ decrease settings. Up and down is to move through the menus Hit enter to open the whole menu.
    Spread spectrum is for stability (it's to reduce interference if you experience it in some other hardware) and doesn't effect ovreclocking


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    Use +/_ to increase/ decrease settings. Up and down is to move through the menus Hit enter to open the whole menu.
    DOH!!!!! Anyone ever hear of the num lock key!?!? I can type in the value now!

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  12. #12
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Yea, that one's got me more than once!!!


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Setting Up / Overclocking My nView & 4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    This particular wireless k'board doesn't have an idiot light for cap or num lock so one has to be "aware". Also it doesn't help to ass_u_me because bios has num lock "set" for normal operations that it would be set IN the bios operations!

    Well at least I won't be such a woose at flashing as I've done Bios 15 with Winflash and Bios 14 & 15 with Abit's FlashMenu (super simple!).
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 02-25-2008 at 12:14 AM. Reason: added flashing note

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  14. #14
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: Overclocking nView/4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    Changed title and will now only be doing oc'ing!

    02/25/08 08:45

    Components:
    Mobo: Abit NF-M2 nView w/Bios 15
    CPU: AMD 4000+ Brisbane
    HSF: Stock Opty 175 w/80mm Tt SmartFan 2
    Memory: Corsair CM2X1024-PC6400C4

    Using settings recommend by uddarts I started testing as follows:

    core: 1.40v
    Memory Voltage: 1.90v**
    CPU Frequency: 210
    Hammer Fid Control: Factory (Can’t Find)
    HT Frequency: Factory (Can't Find)
    PCIE Clock: 100
    Multi: 10.5
    Memclock: 667-5-5-5-15
    1T/2T Memory Timing: 2T

    **Currently I have an abit utility running called "Abit EQ (The Hardware Doctor Utility)" that gets excited if I run higher that this value.

    Okay had no problem getting to boot at 285HTT (started at 210 and stepped in 10s) but would not run SPi. Managed to get an 8M run at 280HTT. Started running Prime with a Core #2 failure after 17 min. Dropped back to 275 which only lasted 24 minutes (again Core #2).

    02/25/08 15:30

    After conversations with ud I decided to dump the Abit EQ utility. Also after some thought took a chance that the HT Frequency I could not find was what Abit referred to under “Advanced Chipset Features” as K8 <-> HT Speed might be the same, so………

    Changed mem voltage to 2.1v and the K8 <-> HT Speed from Auto to 3x I rebooted back to 280HTT and started again.

    Right off the bat I managed to do an 8M S-Pi run so decided to try Prime again. I got impatient (what’s new) and stopped it at 1-1/2 hours to play with ClockGen.

    I’ve managed to get an 8M S-Pi run at ClkGen of 295.5 / 3.10GHz, however I noticed in SpeedFan Core #1 is doing most of the work and am a little concerned as the prior failures in Prime have been with Core #2.

    Got to hit the hay for a short nap before work so I’m going to try Prime at 290 which gives me 3.0GHz and see how long it will run.
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 02-25-2008 at 06:26 PM.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Overclocking nView/4000+ Brisbane (DreamCatcher v2.0)

    S pi uses one core. You can use Windows Task Manager to assign an affinity to one core (#0 and #1)

    Wouldn't worry about surper pi runs till you have the OC area you want.
    Orthos will indicate the failing cpu while running prime95 on both cores. I wouldn't do long runs till I was working my way down from max oc with quick (less than 10min) failure of 1 core.
    Have fun!!


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •