Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Corruptfornia
    Posts
    3,785

    Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I see NewEgg has it. This has the 780G chip. Was wondering
    if anyone was running it yet and what their opinions of it
    were. Thanks, n2gc.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128090

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Mwave has if for $85 and it is in stock. I might order it just because!

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I've been sitting on the fence for some time on getting a new rig.

    Want something cheap that I can use as a multi-media PC.

    Music, Tv, and simple music recording.

    This could be it.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I was pricing one out earlier this morning. MB, 5000+ Black, and 4 gigs of Patriot memory came to $275 with shipping.
    Darn hard to go wrong with that setup. Especially for a HTPC.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I came up with about the same thing John cept only 2G rams, bout $250.

    You were pricing it at Mwave?

    Ok I just Price the system at Mwave, bout $240.

    I'd be all over that but I just bought a brand new Bass guitar.
    Last edited by themortarman; 03-13-2008 at 08:46 AM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Amazing what you can build these days.
    Mwave is on the same level as Newegg as far as I am concerned. I have had great luck with them in the past.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Quote Originally Posted by John C View Post
    I was pricing one out earlier this morning. MB, 5000+ Black, and 4 gigs of Patriot memory came to $275 with shipping.
    Darn hard to go wrong with that setup. Especially for a HTPC.
    Argh, that was the setup I wanted to run, but at the time I built my rig (two weeks before the 780 was announced, three? somewhere in there), there was no 'official' announcement for the MA78GM, and only one shady-looking vendor had it. I went with the 69GM instead, otherwise as you spec'd - 4GB Patriot ddr2, 5000+ BE.

    ah, well. Patience truly is a virtue, though I'm quite happy with the setup I have now.
    Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H
    Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE @ 200MHz x 15 / 1.3v
    Zalman CNPS9500NT
    4GB Patriot DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15)

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    The 69 is really a great little board in it's own right. I have one in my GF's computer, with a BE-2350. It has been running 24/7 for over 6 months now with no issues. The big advantage to the 78 is that it is DX10 capable, and of course supports more hardware acceleration for HD playback. But you can pick up an ATI 3450 for $50 and toss it in there and have the same video!

  9. #9
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Location
    The Big Easy
    Age
    54
    Posts
    35

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I bought the Ga-ma78gm-s2h recently for my wife's pc. I really like it so far except for the fact that I can't get the Hybrid Crossfire to work and that was a big selling point for me. I'm starting a thread asking for help with it, but I can post back here after awhile to let you know how it's going. The main issue is the onboard video stops working when I put a 3470 in the pci-x slot.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MD suburbs
    Posts
    84

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Mine is due in on TAX day. eWIZ had it for $88 and 5000+ BE for $86.20 w/o HSF. Zipzoomfly had Corsair Twin2X-2048 DDR2-800 on sale for $12.75 a GB after rebate with free shipping. After HSF from Microcenter, package is $252.

    I looked at the mb on Newegg and others, but at least one of them said South Bridge was 600. eWiz said it was SB700 which I believe to be correct. However, eWiz also describes it as an ATX board when it is actually a uATX.
    "If it doesn't fit, I will not quit" to paraphrase Johnny C., I'll just get a new case.

    Goodbye Chaintech VNF3-250, hello Gigabyte
    Jake
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    Athlon 5000+ Black
    4x1024 Corsair DDR2-800
    Thermaltake TR2-R1

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Long Beach
    Posts
    204

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Just got mine today. I'm about to post a thread with my problem. This is my second AMD HTPC build in the past 2 weeks and the first one did not succeed and resulted in an RMA'd aBit board.

    Phenom 9600 Black x4 95w

    I've tried 2gb corsair, 2gb crucial, 4gb ocz, 2gb ocz, etc to no avail.
    Tried different power supplies.

    All i have to say it that if you want to build a HTPC with ZERO hiccups on install/setup get this motherboards Intel brother the GA-73PVM-S2h. I've used these multiple times and they work 100% no problems everytime.

    My current problem with this AMD GA-MA78GM-S2H is that when windows starts to boot it restarts itself. I'm going to post a new thread about it for help.
    Intel Core i5-4690k @ 4.8ghz, 32GB G-Skill 1866mhz, Gigabyte Z97MX-GAMING 5 mATX, Aerocool DS Cube Case /w carbon fiber mods, 2x Galaxy GTX 970 4GB, 2x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro RAID0, Hitachi 3TB external, Cooler Master Seidon 120v, 2x NZXT Kraken X41 + G10 adapters, Seasonic 860-XP2 860W PSU, sleeved white PSU cables, Lamptron FC5-V3 fan controller, Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Display: Asus ROG Swift

  12. #12
    Joined
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I got mine today. Windows XP wouldn't recognize my sata hd no matter how I change the BIOS settings for sata controller. I did use the sata controller driver come with the driver disc and follow the instructions in the manuel. Any help would be appreciated.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MD suburbs
    Posts
    84

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Installed mine Thus and had a couple of minor glitches with old versus new drivers. Once I got rid of the old Chaintech trash everything is running great. I'm using the ATH64 X2 5000+ Black. I did turn on USB-mouse support in BIOS and disabled most fancy stuff. All my SATA inputs (3) are set to Native IDE and my old CDRW is on the IDE connector. Both hard drives have IDE-SATA converters on them to get rid of ribbon cable hassle, but the DVD writer is a SATA device. The BIOS figured out everything just fine.

    ?? Do I really have to RE-activate WIN XP; all I did was change out the mb?

    I'll burn it in for a week or so with SETI@home before I begin to "push the clock".
    Last edited by gingerjake; 04-17-2008 at 02:29 AM. Reason: additional comment
    Jake
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    Athlon 5000+ Black
    4x1024 Corsair DDR2-800
    Thermaltake TR2-R1

  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    You will probably have to re-activate it, did you get the reactivations message?
    If not, then you are good to go.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Long Beach
    Posts
    204

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Everything is working fine now for me. Reference my problem thread for info on the fix.
    Intel Core i5-4690k @ 4.8ghz, 32GB G-Skill 1866mhz, Gigabyte Z97MX-GAMING 5 mATX, Aerocool DS Cube Case /w carbon fiber mods, 2x Galaxy GTX 970 4GB, 2x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro RAID0, Hitachi 3TB external, Cooler Master Seidon 120v, 2x NZXT Kraken X41 + G10 adapters, Seasonic 860-XP2 860W PSU, sleeved white PSU cables, Lamptron FC5-V3 fan controller, Win 8.1 Pro x64
    Display: Asus ROG Swift

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •