Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

  1. #16
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    317

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    all I did was change out the mb
    lol.. so not not a major hardware change then...
    OPTY 165 - 2.8ghz (311x9@1.3v)~DFI Expert (modded bios)~2gb Mushy RedLineXP PC4000~Sapphire x1900xt~150gb WD Raptor~Hiper TypeR 580w Modular~Coolermaster Stacker 810

    AMD 5000+ BE @ 3.2ghz~Gigabyte GA-MA78GM ~2gb Crucial Ballistix

  2. #17
    Joined
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    anyone have graphics or whining issues with this motherboard?

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MD suburbs
    Posts
    84

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    No problems, but I'm only using the analog side of the integrated video and the only significant graphics is the SETI@home 3-D screen saver.
    Jake
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    Athlon 5000+ Black
    4x1024 Corsair DDR2-800
    Thermaltake TR2-R1

  4. #19
    Joined
    May 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Beefstew:

    I saw on the web somewhere that when you put a 2nd video card in the
    system, you have to use the video connection on the inserted video card,
    not the mobo video connector.
    It seems the system disables the on-board video connector and makes you
    use the one on the inserted video card....sheesh.

  5. #20
    Joined
    May 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    have a Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H with ATHLON X2 5400 2.8G - BRISBANE,
    MWAVE 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, and I'm trying to install Windows XP SP2.

    It gets all the way to the screen with the bullets on the left,
    Collecting information...
    Dynamic Update
    Preparing installation - last one highlighted
    Installing windows
    etc......

    It shuts down the pc after about 30-45 seconds, every time I restart it.
    The windows installation prior to that took about 10 minutes, without
    any shutdowns.

    The disk is a Seagate 500M SATA drive. I have a Samsung DVD sh-s203b
    DVD drive, both of which appear to be working without issue.

    Has anyone else come across this with the Gigabyte mobo ?

  6. #21
    Joined
    May 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Sorry for the premature post.

    I had to install the 2nd 120mm fan into the case, now the system
    runs without shutting down.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,092

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    ^I built the 690G variant for someone and I noticed the same behavior initially even after the OS install and XP updates - but after loading the A64 driver and dual core optimizer the shut downs and reboots went away totally.

  8. #23
    Joined
    May 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I bought a GA-MA78GM-S2H from mwave.com, had them assemble/test it
    for me, and when I ran it out of the box, it would (apparently thermal)
    shutdown on me with just windows XP sp2 running. When rebooting,
    I looked at the BIOS, and the CPU temp was 60-65 degC, and falling.

    I got AMD Overdrive, and backed it CPU multiplier off from 14x to 10x, and it
    runs at about 2.00 GHz, not its rated 2.8GHz. But no more shutdowns.
    I can run games like Counter-Strike, but get the occasional shutdown.
    Seems to me the stock AMD cooler is not adequate, or mwave puts either
    a cheap thermal pad or cheap grease on the HSF.

    I'm looking at getting the Zalman 9500, or at least something that will do
    a better job of cooling. Has anyone run into this with mwave or the ma78gm ?

    I also purchased an ATI HC 3450, put it into the PCI-E slot, and I can select
    which video card is the primary, but have no way of knowing if crossfire is
    working (doesn't show up in Catalyst Control Center). I understand from
    posts that crossfire works with XP, but *Hybrid* Crossfire only works with
    Vista.

    Again, has anyone tried this ?

    I want to replace the HSF, but cannot find any posts related to the AM2
    socket and removing the HSF. Can it just be twisted to break the seal
    (after removing the HSF clamps, of course) ?? The plastic frame that it
    is in does not seem to allow much twisting, but I don't want to rock it
    back and forth for fear of damaging the cpu, either.

    Thanks for any advice......

  9. #24
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    592

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I had one of these boards prior to my 790FX board.

    I did use the "Hybrid Cross Fire." You enable it, like normal Cross Fire, in the Catalyst Control Center, but you do need to be running Vista. Don't fret though, it's only a 10% boost from using the 3450 card alone...

    You can rock the HS, gently of course. Before you go with the Zalman, clean off the HS and your CPU and try Artic Silver. I'm sure that mwave just used the thermal pad on the stock HS. I had a Karma Cross installed on my MA-780GM. It fits great on the mobo, as long as your case is big enough (read that WIDE) to accomodate it. Very, very quiet and very efficient...
    Phenom II 940 BE
    GA-MA790FX-DS5
    4 x 2 GB Mushkin XP2-800
    3.5 Terabytes Mass Storage
    Sapphire Radeon 4850
    64-bit Vista Ultimate SP1
    Blu-Ray Burner
    2 DVD+R/RWs
    Lots of Other Stuff

  10. #25
    Joined
    May 2008
    Posts
    13

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I did contact Gigabyte support, and they told me that crossfire will work
    with XP, but you have to use two PCI vid cards, not one pci card and
    the IGP. Figures.

    Anyway, the CPU on the mobo is consistently overheating with the stock
    cooler; I bought a Zalman 9500, but the the bracket for the Zalman 9500, it
    turns out, does not fit the motheboard holes that the stock amd cooler does.

    The stock cooler bracket has it's mounting holes in a rectangular arrangement,
    while the zalman bracket is square. I've read on-line somewhere that people
    used the 9500 with the GA-MA78GM-S2H, but I cannot fathom how they did it.

    I've browsed the web, newegg, and other sites for a cooler that shows
    the bracket in rectangular config, but no luck so far.

    If anyone knows of such a cooler, please let me know.

    Signed:
    Overheated in Michigan.

  11. #26
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    592

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    I had a Scythe Karma Cross on my 78GM. It's a monster of a cooler so you'll need to scope out whether it will fit or not.
    Phenom II 940 BE
    GA-MA790FX-DS5
    4 x 2 GB Mushkin XP2-800
    3.5 Terabytes Mass Storage
    Sapphire Radeon 4850
    64-bit Vista Ultimate SP1
    Blu-Ray Burner
    2 DVD+R/RWs
    Lots of Other Stuff

  12. #27
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    57

    Re: Ga-ma78gm-s2h

    Quote Originally Posted by tjcilfford View Post
    I've read on-line somewhere that people
    used the 9500 with the GA-MA78GM-S2H, but I cannot fathom how they did it.
    Can't you use the Zalman on the stock mounting? They use a similar arrangement for the clip.... just 2 lugs.

    Just built a Windows Home Server box using one of these boards rev1.0.... used 2 x 2gig of corsair XMS2 800mhz (T2X4GB-6400C5) booted without a problem and detected properly by SPD alone, F3 bios.

    Nice little machine for a WHS.... didn't need the onboard video, disabled it and used a pci Rage Pro 8mb card... remember those?!?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •