Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Question google search autocomplete not working?

    I just noticed my google search autocomplete isn't working anymore at home. Anyone know what's up? Could it have something to do with Spybot, SpywareBlaster or Ad-Aware? I didn't clear anything or anything like that.
    Skaarj-laptop:Asus G750JW-NH71,Win8.1,Corei7-4700HQ,12GB DDR3 RAM,Nvidia GTX 765M 2GB,Realtek HD,TSST CDDVDW SN-208DN,WDC 750GB HD...
    SkaarjMasterDuo:WinXPSP3, Core2Duo E8600(Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P),Noctua NH-C12P,4GB Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5 RAM,Nvidia EVGA GTX-280 1GB,SB Audigy2 6.1,Klipsch 5.1 sats,Dayton sub,Pioneer VSX-819H-K rec,,Enermax 850W PSU,Lian-Li PC-71B full tower,Pioneer DVR-216D,BenQ DW1655,Asus E818A3T,2-1TB WD HDs.....
    Dragonslayer (at Mom's house now): WinXPSP3, P4 3.2GHz(Asus P4P800-Deluxe),Thermalright SLK-947U,3GB Corsair XMS PC3200 RAM,ATI Radeon 9800Pro 256MB,VGA Silencer,SB Audigy2 5.1,Seasonic 500W PSU,Silverstone FT01-B mid tower,LG DVD burner,Asus E616P3..
    Dragon1: Win98SE, AthlonXP 1900+(Soyo SY-K7V Dragon+),Thermalright AX-7, 512MB Crucial 2.5 DDR PC2100 SDRAM MSI GeF4Ti4400,SB AudigyGamer,Enermax 431W PSU...

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Question Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    At work it still shows me everything I've typed in for a google search previously when I type the first letter, but at home all that disappeared and I have no idea why.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    What browser are you using? Have you checked the turn on autocomplete setting?

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    still using IE6. Yes, autocomplete and all that stuff is set the same as IE6 on the work computer.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Question Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    Also not working in CDnow or CDuniverse when I type in an artist name. It won't recognize earlier names entered like it has in the past.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Question Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    I wonder if I have to reinstall IE6? It would be nice if it was just a registry setting somewhere to change.

    EDIT: ok, Use inline AutoComplete isn't even checked on my work computer under Internet Options/Advanced/Browsing in IE6 and it's still working in google and other places.

    So, it's on at home and not working in XP Home/IE6 and it's off at work and working in XP Pro/IE6. WTF is up with that? Maybe I should turn it off at home and see if it works again. Or maybe I need to check all those advanced settings at work and set them the same at home and see if it works again. Anyone have anymore ideas?
    Last edited by SkaarjMaster; 04-01-2008 at 10:11 AM.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Lightbulb Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    Um, now it's working for some odd reason. Maybe it was a Windows Update that did it. Strange.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    2,460

    Unhappy Re: google search autocomplete not working?

    OK, this is bizarre, the Google autocomplete doesn't seem to be working on Web, but works fine for Images, WTF!?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •