Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    106

    FSB overclocking

    How damaging is overclocking the FSB by 60Mhz? special cooling required? I've got a Athlon XP 2500+ Barton core
    Last edited by trad; 03-27-2008 at 11:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: FSB overclocking

    back in the day:

    toaster sigs







    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: FSB overclocking

    You want damage the CPU by ocing fsb.

    What will be affected on a barton is memory and chipsets.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    106

    Re: FSB overclocking

    SO buy OC'n by 60Mhz should be ok then? besides the fact the MB or MEM might suffer?

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: FSB overclocking

    what motherboard, ram and heat sink do you have?



    ud

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    106

    Re: FSB overclocking

    Corsair memory (1GB ~ 2 X 512), Asus A7V8X-X MB, cooler master CPU fan and ASUS probe to monitor temps

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    96

    Re: FSB overclocking

    I wouldnt raise the FSB by 60MHz on an XP2500 - even if its a mobile one, not on the stock voltage anyway.

    To get the processor to nearly 2500MHz you may require 1.75-1.8v or maybe even more depending on if its a mobile then that might be true - if its an ordinary desktop 2500+ then you may stuggle to get it much above XP3200 (2200MHz) on default vcore, try raising the FSB 5MHz at a time and see how far it goes on stock volts.

    Also, the KT400 chipset that your mobo uses doesnt have a PCI/AGP bus lock on it so overclocking the FSB will push the PCI and AGP buses faster than their default 33.3/66.6 MHz clocks. Im also not sure if theres a divider for the PCI/AGP bus after 200MHz FSB on the KT400 chipset. If it officially supports a 200FSB then you will have a 1/6 PCI divider meaning that when FSB = 200 / 6 - PCI = 33.3MHz.
    Last edited by Ben Rogers; 03-29-2008 at 05:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: FSB overclocking

    ^^^^

    i couldn't find any results that it supports 200/400. it was the release of the kt600 that had the 200 fsb capability but no agp/pci lock.

    trad,

    you have just one chance and that is if the cpu is multi unlocked. see if you can boot and reach windows with a 11.5 multi. verify with cpuz in windows.

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    then let us know and we can go from there.


    ud

  9. #9
    Joined
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    106

    Re: FSB overclocking

    I can change the FSB, the CPU mult is locked.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: FSB overclocking

    then your pretty much dead in the water for any signifcant oc. any bump in fsb above 10 or 15 has the chance of corrupting the hd.

    sorry

    ud

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    96

    Re: FSB overclocking

    Unless that XP2500 can do XP3200 speeds and there is a 1/6 pci bus divider which I think there might be.

    Try setting it to 200MHz FSB x 11 = 2200 and thats XP3200 speeds, many XP2500s managed this, even on the default vcore.

    I realise that your mobo might not officially support 200FSB but there may be a PCI bus divider that kicks in at 200FSB.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Devon, England
    Posts
    96

    Re: FSB overclocking

    ive done so googling and found a page on xs that says kt400 doesnt support the 1/6 divider sorry for the miss information.

    the kt400a however, may support it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •