Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    327

    Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    Is the Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5 a decent motherboard?

    I am considering this motherboard so can anyone give me any information on it. Any problems with it?
    Does it overclock well?
    Any reviews anywhere? I have not been able to find any.
    Intel Q9450 CPU
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
    Dragon Full Tower+Corsair HX520 PSU
    OCZ Vendetta 2 with Xigmatek ACK-I7751 backplate
    6 SilenX Case Fans on T-Balancer Fan controller with Analogue sensor hub
    Gigabyte HD3850 512MB (GV-RX385512H)
    4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 (2x2GB)
    250GB SATA Seagate 7200.9
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000ABYS
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000YS
    Benq 1640 DVD ReWriter
    NEC 3520 DVD ReWriter
    Not connected>
    Liteon 163D DVD
    Plexor W4824TA

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    I have this board in my main system. No problem so far. Currently having my Q6600 at 400*8. I don't do extreme OC, so don't really know the limit of this board.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    327

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    What is the Easy Tune software like? Is it any good for making setting changes in windows?

    If you know a stable overclock after testing in the Bios. Can you use the same settings in windows Easy Tune when you want to increase the clock speed? Are all the same settings possible in windows as they are in the Bios?
    Intel Q9450 CPU
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
    Dragon Full Tower+Corsair HX520 PSU
    OCZ Vendetta 2 with Xigmatek ACK-I7751 backplate
    6 SilenX Case Fans on T-Balancer Fan controller with Analogue sensor hub
    Gigabyte HD3850 512MB (GV-RX385512H)
    4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 (2x2GB)
    250GB SATA Seagate 7200.9
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000ABYS
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000YS
    Benq 1640 DVD ReWriter
    NEC 3520 DVD ReWriter
    Not connected>
    Liteon 163D DVD
    Plexor W4824TA

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    EasyTune isn't really reliable enough to use for full time overclocking. It's okay to use it to get an idea of what the specific hardware profile is capable of overclocking to, but I would never run with it full time. Once I ascertained what the system is capable of I would go into the bios and make the changes there. The problem is that when the system is stressed (such as when playing games, encoding video, etc) EasyTune has a nasty habit of crashing while an OC configured in the Bios of the same amount tends to be more stable (assuming of course that one did indeed select stable OC settings).

    And no, all of the settings available in the bios are available in EasyTune.

    Basically, EasyTune is a nice toy to play around with but it isn't something useful for everyday.

    Don
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    EasyTune is useful to adjust smartfan settings. You can't select a target temp in the BIOS, just enable or disable smartfan. But with EasyTune you can set the 'max temp' and the fan speed you want for that temp and a 'minimum temp' and the fan speed you want for that temp.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    It isn't useful enough to run it all of the time. It simply adds too much instability to the system for it to be worthwhile. I don't recommend running it for more than a few minutes at a time for testing purposes.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    Im not sure (since i only have my board for a couple of days now) but i think you can run it once to set those temp and fan speed settings and u dont need to run it after that. Other then that, just like MrNovi it's useful for testing a certain overclock setting, but u should always use the BIOS to setup a "final" overclock. Why would you want to run extra software in the background if you can just adjust it in the BIOS.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    327

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    Quote Originally Posted by Abducted View Post
    Im not sure (since i only have my board for a couple of days now) but i think you can run it once to set those temp and fan speed settings and u dont need to run it after that. Other then that, just like MrNovi it's useful for testing a certain overclock setting, but u should always use the BIOS to setup a "final" overclock. Why would you want to run extra software in the background if you can just adjust it in the BIOS.
    Because I don't want to be running my system with high clock speeds all the time as it wastes an awful amount of electricity.

    I am right in thinking that once overclocked the CPU cannot use the normal power saving techniques such as reducing clock speed/voltage when the system is idle?

    If that is the case then it means having to reboot into the Bios just to change the clock, that is such an old fashioned way of doing things and something I want to be without. Modern CPU's and chipsets shouldn't need to do that.
    Intel Q9450 CPU
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
    Dragon Full Tower+Corsair HX520 PSU
    OCZ Vendetta 2 with Xigmatek ACK-I7751 backplate
    6 SilenX Case Fans on T-Balancer Fan controller with Analogue sensor hub
    Gigabyte HD3850 512MB (GV-RX385512H)
    4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 (2x2GB)
    250GB SATA Seagate 7200.9
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000ABYS
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000YS
    Benq 1640 DVD ReWriter
    NEC 3520 DVD ReWriter
    Not connected>
    Liteon 163D DVD
    Plexor W4824TA

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    On some boards you can leave EIST and C1E (Enhanced Intel SpeedStep) and still overclock your system, but not all. The only way to know for sure if yours can is to try it. You might not be able to OC quite as high as you would with EIST disabled, but it might be able to OC a reasonable amount. Plus the difference in the amount of electricity that a current S775 mobo and CPU uses stock vs overclocked isn't as much as you might think. My Q6600 overclocked to 3GHz with four hard drives, 2 DVD Burners, 4 fans, and an ATI X850XT uses less electricity than the DFI LanParty XP2500 system in your sig does at stock settings. I can run like that with EIST enabled if I want to, but since I run Folding@Home on it I don't as it never idles anyway.

    But in the end it's up to you to decide what you are willing to live with and how you want to configure your system.

    Don
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    If you dont increase the Vcore the extra power consumption is minimal and most intels can overclock quite a bit without needing extra Vcore.
    Like MrNovi you can probably still use power saving features, the 'problem' is when your system is idle the multiplier will drop down and also the Vcore.
    At stock speed the CPU will have no problem with the lower multiplier and lower Vcore, but if you increase the FSB you also increase the clockspeed in the idle mode and 6x333Mhz (in my case) might be stable at the lower Vcore, but 6x400Mhz might be too much for the lower Vcore, while it is perfectly stable at 8x400 with the higher Vcore.

    However if you just want to run at overclocked speeds for short periods of time, maybe you could just use EasyTune for it, but of course you still need to be sure it's stable under load and idle.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    327

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    I have decided (and ordered) the Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 as the price difference was very small (less than 18).

    Hopefully that might give me a few more Mhz fsb.

    Thanks everyone for your comments. I just need a good heatsink now but will leave that until I can measure accurately the board and part locations.
    Intel Q9450 CPU
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
    Dragon Full Tower+Corsair HX520 PSU
    OCZ Vendetta 2 with Xigmatek ACK-I7751 backplate
    6 SilenX Case Fans on T-Balancer Fan controller with Analogue sensor hub
    Gigabyte HD3850 512MB (GV-RX385512H)
    4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 (2x2GB)
    250GB SATA Seagate 7200.9
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000ABYS
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000YS
    Benq 1640 DVD ReWriter
    NEC 3520 DVD ReWriter
    Not connected>
    Liteon 163D DVD
    Plexor W4824TA

  12. #12
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    RedDwarfer, is your current system the one listed in your sig? I've just recently let go of a 2600 mobile, running on an alby nf2 (18D Pro II). Those mobiles still have some pretty good zip despite their age and generation.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    327

    Re: Gigabyte GA-EX38-DS5

    Yes it is apart from the graphics card which was replaced by a 9800 Pro All in wonder due to a surface mounted capacitor breaking off the 6800 ultra. I have fixed that now but put it into my other rig.

    They are okay but no match for quad core cpu's when video encoding which is what I do a lot of. Which is why I have upgraded to a Q9450 and needed the motherboard I mentioned.

    I usually overclock the 2500 to 2.4GHz which it does comfortably but I have had it to 2.6GHz but it gets very hot.
    Intel Q9450 CPU
    Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5
    Dragon Full Tower+Corsair HX520 PSU
    OCZ Vendetta 2 with Xigmatek ACK-I7751 backplate
    6 SilenX Case Fans on T-Balancer Fan controller with Analogue sensor hub
    Gigabyte HD3850 512MB (GV-RX385512H)
    4GB OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 (2x2GB)
    250GB SATA Seagate 7200.9
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000ABYS
    500GB SATA Western Digital WD5000YS
    Benq 1640 DVD ReWriter
    NEC 3520 DVD ReWriter
    Not connected>
    Liteon 163D DVD
    Plexor W4824TA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •