Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

TV Tuner Cards & "New" Cable Box "Standard"

Okay according to this article at Yahoo Tech (http://tech.yahoo.com/news/ap/200805...te/cable_boxes) the set top cable box may become a thing of the past.

As I'm a total NOOB on the HTPC front, trying to build one, and pissed off that the "standard" TV Tuner is not HD cable friendly already....how would the above affect current tuners?

Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

Re: TV Tuner Cards & "New" Cable Box "Standard"

Someone correct me if I am wrong, but many current TV's and TV tuners are HD friendly for over the air signals. however, cable companies scramble their signals which confuse the TV's/Tuners. You need either the cable box from the cable company(for a monthly rental fee) or a cable card (for a monthly rental fee) to be able to unscramble their broadcast. The cable cards are currently just a one way signal and are fairly limited.

The link above talks about being able to put cable cards in TV's and for tuners that would allow the unscrambling cards to work in tv's and such.

Again, I don't know the above for sure, but that is my haphazard take on what is going on.
    Soy el caimán seis cincuenta.

Many tuners offer QAM capability. My Hauppauge HVR-1800 as an example.

One of my disappointments because of the lack in prior knowledge is the fact the tuners (hasve a HVR-500 coming) HD is stricly OTA. I had thought I could hook up to my cable HD box through the tuner, and found out not so.

However was wondering if loosing the box would
    A. Help
    B. Hinder
    C. Have no effect

on the current (my HVR-500 specificly) tunersd.

May be talking through my hat due to ignorance.

Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3