Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567
Results 91 to 97 of 97
  1. #91
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing better]

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackal View Post
    yeah, I'm getting there....I still have some questions, when I rebuild the kernel does it retain my previously selected items? For example processor type? Or do I need to set those every rebuild?
    Yes, it retains all of your previous settings. These settings are stored in a file called /usr/src/linux/.config This file gets read every time you run a make menuconf Then when you quit that file gets rewritten with your new settings.

    Honestly, make menuconf has been a 'user friendly' program that was created to assist in editing this file. For I've heard some people like to get themselves dirty editing that file directly.

    It appears as though every proggie I've set up has been "easy", but Apache looks as though it can be challenging, as well as MySQL and PHP. We'll find out over the next few days!
    MySQL is an easy install. Read the notes that they provide after the emerge. Gentoo has a script that makes hardening MySQL easy. Its just a matter of running that script and answering a few questions.

    Apache, well this can be another animal.

    The last 2 times I installed it, it gave me a few issues that I had to fix before it'll start. The first issue which occurred with both installs was a missing module that needed to be removed from the apache.conf file. Then the second issue I had was setting up the server's name properly.

    PHP is even easier still. The only issues that you may have here would be changing any settings that you may need for your particular PHP applications you want to run.

    Just make sure you have apache2 and mysql listed in your USE flags.

  2. #92
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing better]

    Thanks for all the tips!! This will also, eventually be a test bed for Asterisk, and a custom designed IVR server (18-24 months down the road! ).

  3. #93
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing better]

    apache is installed and appears to be working, although I'm getting some wierdness from my LAN, trying to hit the public URL from in here, brings up my routers interface

    That will probably go away once I have DNS working internally again.

  4. #94
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing better]

    I had weirdness like that at my old work. To get around it I simply added a line to the hosts file on every computer. This wasn't hard for me to do since I had a login script that would overwrite the host file with what ever I wanted. This was great help protect the Windows boxes. I even had the same issue on my home network. Both networks were being served by identical Linksys routers.

    But now with my new wireless Linksys router, that issue has disappeared. I'm not sure what settings in the router are different, but my hosts files do not have any special entries for this anymore.

  5. #95
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing better]

    yeah it's wierd, I'm sure I'll figure it out, after all that's what I'm "supposed" to be good at, LOL!!!

    @ work the URL goes right to where it's supposed to.

    My router at home is a Cisco 871W - it does it whether I use the name, or the IP, well, specifically:

    http://ns1 - works (as does FQDN -http://ns1.comm-net.net)
    http://192.168.1.2 - works
    http://www.comm-net.net - resolves correctly (via dig and nslookup) to 70.116.13.93 - but won't display the website
    http://70.116.13.93 - same result as http://www.comm-net.net

    Kooky - something to do with no alias resolution I'm sure - my host file has no "alias" entry for www.comm-net.net, nor does my ISP's DNS servers, so that's probably where the confusion is coming in.

  6. #96
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing nicely now]

    ARGGGHHHH....last night, read something about getting an error when starting GDM, which I do, and it was talking about gstreamer, so I tried to follow this article:

    http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Troubleshooting_Gstreamer

    most of it did not work on my system, but I did an emerge gstreamer, then sound stopped working, and I couldn't get the audio applet to start, it would appear on the task bar, never open then close. So I did an emerge -c gstreamer, reboot....now I get a 2nd error when gnome loads (informs me that certain applets may not launch - audio being one of them).

    So I tried to emerge gnome again, about 1/2 through it died on one of the dependancies, complaining of "gtk needing to be in my use flags" - which it IS!!!!! I nano -w /etc/make.conf and the 4th entry on the line is gtk?!

  7. #97
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: Gentoo 1st try not going well [update - progressing nicely now]

    revdep-rebuild, and rc-update seem to have taken care of that issue, although to me, it looked like the revdep didn't do anything .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •