Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    67

    P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    So, Im packing a brand new ASUStek P5Q-E, any time I change the CPU ratio, DDR speed or FSB ratio, I hit save settings (F10) choose OK, then the computer crashes and requires CMOS reset.
    Have tried 0803 and BIOS prior to that. Exhibits same behaviour on both BIOSes.

    Any ideas on how I can get to 8x400 ?

    ASUStek P5Q-E
    2x2GB DDR-2 6400 Corsair

  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    Quote Originally Posted by intrepidTE View Post
    So, Im packing a brand new ASUStek P5Q-E, any time I change the CPU ratio, DDR speed or FSB ratio, I hit save settings (F10) choose OK, then the computer crashes and requires CMOS reset.
    Have tried 0803 and BIOS prior to that. Exhibits same behaviour on both BIOSes.

    Any ideas on how I can get to 8x400 ?

    ASUStek P5Q-E
    2x2GB DDR-2 6400 Corsair
    8X400? go in small steps. default is 333


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    small steps?
    stock 9x333
    next step is 8 x 350
    working up like that?

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2000
    Posts
    7,927

    Re: P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    try bring up just the fsb to 340 then 345 then 350


    Main Box: BioStar TpowerX58 LGA 1366, Intel i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz Quad-Core, 3GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 2X250GB WD SATA, VisionTek Radeon 4870, Corsair 620w PS, Asus DRW-1608P3S & DRW-1814BL, Win7 SP1 & LinuxMint 10

    Red Hour Video

    RedHour Gaming

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    ahhhh okay, thank you, I will try this and report back findings. Thanks for your patience.

    Saving settings other than CPU/FSB/DRAM *do* work, I just tried turning off the ASUStek splashscreen on startup and it the BIOSS saved it correctly and works correctly.
    Last edited by intrepidTE; 07-12-2008 at 09:31 PM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: P5Q-E, unable to save BIOS settings

    Got it to 8 x 400FSB, 3.2Ghz effective.

    Went up in increments of 10MHz.

    Didnt change the DDR settings - left it on auto, and it went to 1:1 ratio automatically.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •