Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    unable to get windows xp to load the ACHI drivers on set up using a floppy drive and the F6 trick windows see the drivers ok but as soon as windows says starting up BAM that lovley blue screen of death .
    I have downloaded 3 sets of drivers. one from the boards manufaturer, one from intels p45 chipset board , and one from asus
    Has anyone been able to set up windows xp using ACHI mode/ with the IHC10R ? I have done it with the IHC9R south bridge no sweat but the IHC10R no joy . what am I missing here ?
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Could be corruped floppy disk or defective floppy drive?

    I've had similar issue before when I tried to install xp x64 on ICH9R with AHCI enabled. It turned out to be a bad floppy drive.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    I had a similar problem once and believe it or not it was the driver itself (or my motherboards compatibility with it). I'm running a Gigabyte board and I don't remember which version of the matrix storage driver I was using, but it failed to load the driver if I chose AHCI mode. I couldn't go back and get another driver at the time so I set it up in RAID and it used the RAID driver which seemed to work ok. On a bit of a side note, I don't know if this has anything to do with the fact that I'm using the RAID drivers (although the disks are not in any RAID config, just standalone), but I found the ICH9R which is on my board to be a bit problematic. Here's why:

    1. I don't know if you've hard of CPRM, but it's a standard which is slowly creeping up on us (it's started off in Japan and it's really gained a foothold there). Basically protected content can only be recorded to DVD's with this protection (yeah you read that right!!). When I try to play this back through the DVD drive on intel chipset SATA header, it won't play. I had to switch over to the Gigabyte SATA header. Basically it looks like with that particular driver at least, intel is not supporting CPRM.
    2. Also I strangely appear to have better luck writing to DVD's when using the drive on the Gigabyte header too. Weird...

    Anyway, I've kind of got carried away here, sorry.

    Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    I dont know what it is , I tryed 3 different boards and a ton of different floppy drivers form verious manufactures including direcly from intel . Only thing that makes sence is that ACHI mode on a ICH10R chip just will not work with windows xp . All 3 boards were p45 /ich10R chipsets . No if I enabled raid then all was good . Windows would load just fine so my floppy drive has to be good , I suspect they are writting drivers for ACHI for windows vista .
    In anycase we will see , I picked up a open box gygabyte X38 board for a real sweet price that has the ICH9R on it . lets see how that goes asuming that the open boxed board will even post . I let ya know

    EDIT : where would be a good place to get ACHI floppy drivers ?
    Last edited by brothergc; 11-03-2008 at 07:24 PM.
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    I downloaded the latest driver from Intel directly for both of my Gigabyte X38 and P35 boards.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    I downloaded the latest driver from Intel directly for both of my Gigabyte X38 and P35 boards.
    Thanks I will do just that
    opps never mind the open boxed board did not pan out
    Last edited by brothergc; 11-04-2008 at 07:06 PM.
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    well lets see because this expermint is back on as I just got a x48-ICH9R chipset I will try and set her up wensday
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Please keep us informed as if the new driver turns out to be incompatible with XP, then I will have to make sure I keep a copy of the old one in case it's needed for reinstallations.

    Thanks.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    Please keep us informed as if the new driver turns out to be incompatible with XP, then I will have to make sure I keep a copy of the old one in case it's needed for reinstallations.

    Thanks.
    old drivers you say ? would it be possibe for you to zip these drivers and email them to me ? my email is visable in my profile

    Figured it could not hurt to have a second back up drivers just in case the old ones do not work I assume thes drivers worked for you with windows xp
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by brothergc View Post
    old drivers you say ? would it be possibe for you to zip these drivers and email them to me ? my email is visable in my profile

    Figured it could not hurt to have a second back up drivers just in case the old ones do not work I assume thes drivers worked for you with windows xp
    Sent to your hotmail account listed in your profile.

    Can't remember the exact version number, it was released at the end of 2007 and fully supports ICH9, but not ICH10 I'm afraid.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  11. #11
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    Sent to your hotmail account listed in your profile.

    Can't remember the exact version number, it was released at the end of 2007 and fully supports ICH9, but not ICH10 I'm afraid.
    that is perfect Many thanks I will be using the IHC9R whick is why I bought the new board it will be good to have a old set of drivers just in case . I will let you know how it turns out .
    Recieved the drivers so thanks again !
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    Please keep us informed as if the new driver turns out to be incompatible with XP, then I will have to make sure I keep a copy of the old one in case it's needed for reinstallations.

    Thanks.
    Man you saved the day ! Mega thanks !
    Those new drivers from intels website and gygabytes website = BSOD , I used your drivers and all went well . in fact the new drivers did not list a achi driver for windows and included drivers for for the IHC10R chip . I tryed both sets of the newer drivers and windows would blue screen every time . The ICH10R is not for xp
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Thanks for posting this info.

    I think users should write emails to Intel about this problem. I doubt Intel have removed XP support for ICH10R intentionally, so it must be some kind of driver glitches which had better be fixed asap.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  14. #14
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    Thanks for posting this info.

    I think users should write emails to Intel about this problem. I doubt Intel have removed XP support for ICH10R intentionally, so it must be some kind of driver glitches which had better be fixed asap.
    something is amiss for sure the newer drivers do not even list a desktop ahci driver , the ones you sent do . Might want to make a backup copy of those drivers
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    something else I discovered , just using the floppy drivers alone is not enough
    I had to install the Intel matrix program . This allowed me to set write caching on my hard drive and updated the drivers for SATA making my system more stable . I even had to reformat because of this , some windows files were corupted , I could not use windows system information , IE7 would hang up . If I used just the flopy drivers I would have no option in my device manager to set write caching as it would be grayed out .
    I went to intel directly to get my drivers bypassing gygabytes driver disk and it worked out well
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •