Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22
  1. #16
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    That's strange. I've only installed the driver from the floppy and can enable/disable write cache. No need for the Intel Matrix program.

    Since you had OS files corruption right after fresh installation, I suggest you check your RAM and Windows CD.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  2. #17
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Quote Originally Posted by Parn View Post
    That's strange. I've only installed the driver from the floppy and can enable/disable write cache. No need for the Intel Matrix program.

    Since you had OS files corruption right after fresh installation, I suggest you check your RAM and Windows CD.
    it is fine what I did was install the program , then uninstall it , but 1st I disabled/stopped intels "IIANT" service , edited the regisrty and gave me permissions to deleate the bogus resitry services . Might be a easier way but at least now I can use my Hot swap option if I wish and the option for write caching is not grayed out
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  3. #18
    Joined
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    OK, nobody figured it out yet, so i will tell you now.. According to document e4074_p5ql_contents_web.pdf (Asus P5QL motherboard manual) it states clearly the following:

    !!! READ THIS !!!

    DUE TO INTEL CHIPSET DRIVER SUPPORT REGULATION, THE AHCI MODE IS NOT SUPPORTED IN WINDOWS XP ENVIROMENT. THE AHCI MODE IS ONLY SUPPORTED BY WINDOWS VISTA WITH OS BUILT-IN DRIVER.


    PS: What that really means is up for analysts. Does it mean their driver is bug or that they made a deal with Microsoft to regulate Windows XP so they can sell more copies of Windows Vista? In any case, i'm sure a regular hacker can make it work if Intel doesn't comply to the demand.

    UPDATE (taken from a chinese website):
    P5Q Pro+5001ABYS
    1. Clean Install XP in IDE mode
    2. Hardware Manager
    3. Manual Update Driver(ICH10-->ICH10R)
    4. Bios set ACHI Mode
    5. Done


    I don't really know if this would work for most people, since XP usually BSODs upon boot if you change IDE-AHCI mode after install (although I made a registry hack for this a few years ago on the ICH7R chipset, so it should be possible here too I think).
    Last edited by ravenflt; 11-19-2008 at 09:47 PM.
    -/\-
    Music Producer & Other Things
    www.radiancer.com

  4. #19
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Interesting as I suspected the ICH10R doesnt officialy support XP , dumb IMO
    and as for vista ? no way especialy seeing that vista is headed to be replaced by windows 7
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  5. #20
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    Looks like my guess was wrong. Intel did intentionally remove XP AHCI support from the driver. Damn!

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



  6. #21
    Joined
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    The Intel driver page lists the ICH10R as supporting WinXP so I'm guessing they just had some problems with the F6 stage of windows install. In any case, the solution posted in http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?p=4334679 works for my ICH10R motherboard (Asus P5Q-EM). In that thread I have posted the reg file I used that worked successfully.

    I can confirm this as I am typing this post from said machine with Intel Matrix Storage Manager with AHCI reported as active on the drive.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: AHCI mode , IHC10R , and windows xp

    The sticky post here, or at least a copy of it on another forum that I can't find anymore, worked for me on my gigabyte P45/ICH10R board. Because I was unable to slipstream the driver into the version of XP I wanted to install and don't have a floppy drive, I first set the SATA controller to IDE mode instead of AHCI before installing Windows so it can see the drives. Then I just had to run a .reg file and copy the ahci driver to Sys32\drivers then reboot, set the SATA controller to AHCI mode and install Intel Matrix Storage Manager and Windows was able to see my hard drives

    Kinda big image

    Last edited by reapher; 12-28-2008 at 03:04 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •