Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Question Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Hi all,

    last night I received a 1 TB external drive made by Western Digital and without thinking reformatted the hard drive with NTFS.

    It only hit me later that this was a dumb move, as it's for a Mac user. And as far as I know, Mac's can't write to NTFS without any special utilities.

    What utility would you recommend I use to reformat the drive back to FAT32? I can't recall what I used the last time as it was many years ago.

    Please post!


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,349

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Disk management in Windows won't allow you to do that?
    Coolermaster Cosmos 1000 700 watt Thermaltake modular PSU
    Asus Crosshair III Formula
    Phenom II X4 955 BE
    4 GB OCZ BE
    EVGA GeForce GTX260 Core 216 896 MB
    WD 1600JB (7200 RPM, 160 GB, 8 MB cache), external drive now
    Samsung DVD burner
    WD1000FALS 1 TB

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Windows XP sticks to the FAT32 limitation of 32GB.
    It supports out of spec FAT32 partitions but can't be coerced into creating one.

    I know there are third party tools out there, but would like to use one that forum members recommend.


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    NVM. Looks like I can get a utility from the manufacturer.
    why didn't I think of this before?

    http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...sid=34&lang=en


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California to Alberta commuter
    Posts
    2,697

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    NVM. Looks like I can get a utility from the manufacturer.
    why didn't I think of this before?
    One ofthe many reasons I am a long term WD fan.

    Have fun.

    -=M=-
    Rock the Jukebox:
    2x Intel XEON E5405
    Asus DSBV-DX
    4x Kingston 2Gb FBuffered 667mhz w/4x MemCooler
    FSP 650w PSU
    MS Server 2008 STD

    M3ltD0Vvn:
    Intel Q9550 w/Coolermaster Hyper 212 - 2x 120mm
    Asus P5N-D
    2x Transcend 2Gb 800Mhz
    FSP 550w SLI Certified <~~Bullet Proof
    EVGA GTX560Ti SC (Asus 22" 1680x1050)
    MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    ?!?

    It says my hard drive is too SMALL for the utility.

    I need to get the error message back. I was going to use it to backup a server via Ghost and forgot that I had removed the NTFS utility. The Partition Magic 8 I found on a miniPE CD recommended a logical drive, only took 192GB and failed during the format.

    Now I have the hard drive cut into two and I don't know how to merge those RAW parititons back... This is lame!

    Why would 1TB be too small for the utility from WD for that particular drive class? Gah!


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Looks like their utility has a BUG and I need to format the hard drive via a Mac first, before I try using it again.

    wooops.


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, USA
    Age
    72
    Posts
    4,935

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    I don't know a lot about Mac's but it seems to me that you could use Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows and write zeros to the drive.
    Then use the Mac to format the drive - see article.

    Bill
    My HTPC

    ASRock 970 Extreme3
    AMD FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
    M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
    Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
    Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
    Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
    Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (partitioned)
    Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
    Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


    You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    That's exactly what I did before trying to use the FAT32 utility. Wrote zeros on the drive.

    The seems to be an issue with their utility and I'd rather not pick anything from the net that no PCper member has used.

    Thanks!


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  10. #10
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, USA
    Age
    72
    Posts
    4,935

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows is from WD and the article tells you how to use a Mac to format the drive.

    Sorry I tried to help.
    My HTPC

    ASRock 970 Extreme3
    AMD FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
    M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
    Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
    Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
    Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
    Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (partitioned)
    Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
    Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


    You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    eBill thank you for your input.
    I'm sorry for the confusion.

    I personally don't use a Mac and the utility seems to have issues on the PC.
    In the coming weeks I'll have to find a Mac and reformat it with HSF and the article you linked to will certainly help.
    [Edit: why do Mac's need user guides? I thought they were so intuitive!]
    And then use the utility again if WD support is right to finally get it back to FAT32.

    I would be using a third party utility, but unless I hear from a PCPer recommendation, I'd rather not go that way.


    If I would have thought before automatically reformatting the drive I wouldn't be in this learning experience!

    FAT32 - so both Mac and Windows can read and write to the drive.



    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  12. #12
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    you have Vista?

    Vista will format FAT32 natively from a DOS prompt.

    make a shortcut to "cmd". right click shortcut and say "Run as Administrator" (yes, even if your user has Admin!)

    Format x: /FS:FAT32
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    1,879

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    That's good to know. WD's utility failed miserably.

    They should really be ashamed of advertising a download that won't work!

    Looks like Mac Os X can format as FAT32 as well. I let someone do that...

    I'm still on XP myself, might consider 7 but for the cost I think I'll pass on Vista.

    Thanks!


    Q9300 with 4 GB DDR2 1066 RAM
    UltraSharp 2408WFP (needs to be RMA'ed) on GeForce GTX 285 on two 18 amp 12V lines
    Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Logitech Z-5500 & Sennheiser HD 280 Pro and HD 595
    plus the usual stuff in a poorly designed Antec P180 PW case

  14. #14
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Don't Know if this would help... exfat32

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/955704
    ......
    ................. Heat .....................

    24/7 speeds
    w/c - * GA-EP45-UD3P - Q9650 - 3737 - 9x415 * ...cpu-z... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2925 - 9x325 * ... cpu-z ... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2826 - 9x314 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 165 - 2250 - 9x250 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTS250

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lodoss, the cursed island
    Posts
    3,524

    Re: Formating 1TB in FAT 32 - looking for a utility

    Download Puppy Linux (http://www.puppylinux.org/downloads) and burn it onto a CD. Reboot the machine using that CD to get to the Live Desktop, then format the disk in FAT32 on Linux.

    Marmo:
    Ci5 4690K + Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H + 2x8GB Corsair 1600 C9 + Palit GTX980 SJ + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win7 Pro x64.

    Kanon (wife's PC):
    Ci5 6600K + Gigabyte GA-Z270X-Gaming 5 + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX1080 G+X 11Gbps + 256GB(SSD)/1TB(HDD) running Win8.1 Pro x64.

    Alania:
    Dell Vostro 3460: Ci7 3632QM + HM77 + 6GB DDR3-1600 + Nvidia GT630M + 480GB SSD running Win7 Pro x64.

    Moss (Windows Hyper-V RemoteFX server):
    Ci5 6600K + Asus Maximum VIII HERO + 2x8GB Corsair 2666 C16 + MSI GTX660 TF + 2x2TB (RAID1) HDDs running Win2012 R2 Std. x64.

    Flame (Linux server / F@H):
    PIIX4 925 + ASRock 890FX Deluxe5 + 2x4GB Corsair 1833 C9 + Sapphire HD5750 1GB + 2x250GB(System RAID1)/3x500GB(3ware 9650SE-4LPML RAID5) HDDs running CentOS 6.7 x64.

    Valis:
    C2Q Q9650 + Asus P5Q3 Dlx. + 2x4GB Corsair 1600 C8 + EVGA GTX560 Ti SC + 2x74GB/500GB HDDs running Fedora 21 x64.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •