Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 83
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Overclocking Core i7 Thread

    I am making this thread for everybody from now on. If you want to post your results on overclocking your Core i7 then you can post them here.
    Remember that a stable system has at least 8 hours of priming.

    Have some fun overclocking it.

    Sparks


    ----------------------------
    Today I finished builing my new system, a core i7 920. On the end of the day I decided to have a little fun and try to OC this baby 1 time (as I don't have more time now).

    My verry FIRST try to overclock it (more details in .xlsx file)



    Results

    This will be fun this weekend!
    It's a 3841 A628 on water (6 liter)
    Last edited by Sparks; 04-04-2009 at 04:19 PM.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Long Beach CA
    Age
    60
    Posts
    4,773

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Impressive
    Game - BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ / Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 125W / Patroit 8GB DDR2 800 CAS 4 Timing: 4-4-4-12 / Sapphire HD 6870 1GB / Antec Three Hundred Case / PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W / X-Fi XtremeGamer / Western Digital 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s /Windows Vista home premium 64 SP1

    Back up - Biostar 6100-939 / A64 3800 Venice(Stock 2.4) / 1.5 GB Corsair XMS 3200 / HD3870

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Nice!!
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Ok I just started testing again. I did a validation for 4GHz.
    I set the core voltage to 1.375 and QPI/VTT at 1.275.

    EDIT(more results):

    Temps under load while running PI 32M

    Finished:
    Last edited by Sparks; 02-14-2009 at 10:23 AM.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    I am priming and it's running (4GHz) for 2 hours and 20 minutes now.
    It looks like it's finally stable. I am beginning to learn what this Intel needs.

    EDIT: Crash after 3 hours and 45 mins. It's almost stable. Not bad.
    Last edited by Sparks; 02-15-2009 at 01:56 PM.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    I sold an i7 today.

    Hmm,what would yoda say?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Why did you sell it?

    I was sick and I wasn't in the mood for OC last week. I primed it at 3400 MHz (turbo on) just now.I was looking for an every day setup.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    I was originally running 20x200 with mine but recently started tinkering with turboboost, running 21x191 seems to achieve 4ghz with less vcore and qpi voltage.

    QPI voltage is a big one for stability at higher memory speeds once you start approaching 200blck and higher, at least that seems to be the case with my particular cpu.

    For 20x200 I was running mine at 1.425vcore and 1.375qpi with HT on and it had no problems priming over 48hrs at those settings. However after tinkering with turboboost I've primed over 48hrs at 21x191 1.385vcore 1.325qpi, I'm not sure yet how low I can drop the voltages before losing stability.

    Anyways thats where I'm at with mine on a P6T deluxe, might help you give you idea of some voltages.



    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Thanks, this could help. I focussed on getting a 24/7 speed yesterday. I was to sick to think about overclocking last week.

    I did manage to Prime (8 hours) 3570MHz (20 x 170 + Turbo).
    CPU Voltage (Bios/Win): 1,300/1,280 (1,232v in Win running Prime)
    QPI/VTT: 1,275v
    Other Settings

    These settings were my first guess so maybe this can be lowered.

    I noticed that the voltage (not MHz) drops when I start Prime (Load), any idea why this is?
    EDIT: Where to get that TURBOV program from your screen? Oh it's Asus

    Last edited by Sparks; 02-23-2009 at 01:39 PM.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparks View Post
    Why did you sell it?
    Uhh I work retail.....

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparks View Post
    I noticed that the voltage (not MHz) drops when I start Prime (Load), any idea why this is?
    EDIT: Where to get that TURBOV program from your screen? Oh it's Asus
    Does your bios have something like load line calibration, at least that's what asus calls it. From what I understand Asus's llc increases the base vcore with load to compensate for load which keeps the vcore from dropping too much. In the case of the P6T I have it keeps vcore about as close as can be expected to the bios setting.

    The TurboV is a Asus bundled utility, I actually used it to see what all the auto voltages where being set to and started tweaking from there. It probably would have taken me much longer to dial in the system considering how spot on the auto settings where for my cpu and I would have had no way of knowing what the voltages where without it. My first run up to 4ghz was done with all the voltages on auto and it was prime stable which really surprised me.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  12. #12
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Oregon
    Age
    40
    Posts
    6,498

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    The voltage drop you see is natural and is actually designed into Intel processors and boards. Just set your voltage accordingly in the BIOS for whatever load voltage you need....idle voltage doesn't mean anything with these chips.

    I use C1E and EIST so idle voltage is much lower than load anyways.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by highoctane View Post
    Does your bios have something like load line calibration, at least that's what asus calls it. From what I understand Asus's llc increases the base vcore with load to compensate for load which keeps the vcore from dropping too much. In the case of the P6T I have it keeps vcore about as close as can be expected to the bios setting.

    The TurboV is a Asus bundled utility, I actually used it to see what all the auto voltages where being set to and started tweaking from there. It probably would have taken me much longer to dial in the system considering how spot on the auto settings where for my cpu and I would have had no way of knowing what the voltages where without it. My first run up to 4ghz was done with all the voltages on auto and it was prime stable which really surprised me.
    load line calibration: I saw this option in the Bios. I already thought that it was good for something. I was even thinking this way. I will try it.
    I like the TurboV over Easytune 6 (keeps telling me that there is a newer version when there is not). I tried to hack it without succes.

    EDIT: I'm priming 21x191 as we speek at the same settings (and Load Line enabled). It's seems relatively stable.
    Last edited by Sparks; 02-24-2009 at 03:48 PM.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,881

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackDragon24 View Post
    The voltage drop you see is natural and is actually designed into Intel processors and boards. Just set your voltage accordingly in the BIOS for whatever load voltage you need....idle voltage doesn't mean anything with these chips.

    I use C1E and EIST so idle voltage is much lower than load anyways.
    I didn't mean when Idle, I meant a drop with Load.
    Asus R5E, Intel Core i7 5960X
    Cascade cooling (-94C @550W)
    G.Skill DDR4 3600C15@4266MHz cas12 Nvidia GTX730, Samsung 850 Evo/OCZ Vertex 4
    and Seasonic Platinum 1200Wi, Dell Ultrasharp U2711 and 20-50 more systems...



  15. #15
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Oregon
    Age
    40
    Posts
    6,498

    Re: Overclocking i7 920 - 1st try 4GHz to Windows

    Yeah I follow man....its called vdroop and its meant to prevent voltage spiking under load. Bottom line is the drop you see under load is normal. What I was getting at is that you just need to just adjust the BIOS set voltage to give you whatever you need under load to be stable, as obviously idle voltage doesn't mean anything.

    The comment about C1E and EIST was meant to portray that when you are using them, it drops your voltage significantly at idle (and your multiplier). So you never really see the effect of vdroop when you have those enabled.

    Here is the reason why you see vdroop...happy reading:

    http://www.intel.com/Assets/PDF/designguide/313214.pdf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •