Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: TS server

  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    TS server

    well frogs, i really hate to ask this, but i'm putting a call out for a spare cpu.

    i was upgrading the ts server today with my old dual core opty 170, a larger power supply, and a newer nf4 mobo, 4gb of ram, and was gonna install server 2008. somehow i killed off the opty 170. very tragic as it was a great overclocker.

    luckily my old venice 3500 is still kicking so i'm gonna throw that in there for now.

    i have a wtb thread in the trading forum looking for a suitable dual core replacement. if you guys have any spare dual core 939's laying around unused post up a price for me over there

    here's the thread:

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...54#post4359454

    i was hoping prices on these cpu's had dropped a good bit but it appears they're still in demand it appears.

    the server should be back up tonight though, so no worries.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    Re: TS server

    well i'll be damned, i dunno what happened but i got it working.

    at first i thought i'd killed both cpu's as my venice had stopped booting as well, so one last time i reseated the venice and it booted, then i got to thinking, maybe the 2-3 times i reseated the opty just didn't take? so i tried one last time and it booted right up!

    so i guess the ts server is good to go.

    i'm gonna run it on my laptop tonight anyways though, work on getting drivers installed and maybe go ahead and install server 2008 and a spare sata hdd. really give the server to room to breath.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,953

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandito View Post
    well frogs, i really hate to ask this, but i'm putting a call out for a spare cpu.

    i was upgrading the ts server today with my old dual core opty 170, a larger power supply, and a newer nf4 mobo, 4gb of ram, and was gonna install server 2008. somehow i killed off the opty 170. very tragic as it was a great overclocker.

    luckily my old venice 3500 is still kicking so i'm gonna throw that in there for now.

    i have a wtb thread in the trading forum looking for a suitable dual core replacement. if you guys have any spare dual core 939's laying around unused post up a price for me over there

    here's the thread:

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...54#post4359454

    i was hoping prices on these cpu's had dropped a good bit but it appears they're still in demand it appears.

    the server should be back up tonight though, so no worries.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandito View Post
    well i'll be damned, i dunno what happened but i got it working.

    at first i thought i'd killed both cpu's as my venice had stopped booting as well, so one last time i reseated the venice and it booted, then i got to thinking, maybe the 2-3 times i reseated the opty just didn't take? so i tried one last time and it booted right up!

    so i guess the ts server is good to go.

    i'm gonna run it on my laptop tonight anyways though, work on getting drivers installed and maybe go ahead and install server 2008 and a spare sata hdd. really give the server to room to breath.
    Cool that you got it working...I was just starting to look in the parts bin

    Now I guess I don't have to


  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    48
    Posts
    9,736

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Cool that you got it working...I was just starting to look in the parts bin

    Now I guess I don't have to
    yeah my parts bin is looking rather desolate as of late. Mostly parts 5-10 yrs old. I'm using the last of the decent parts to build a rig for my friends and the one for my son.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Cool that you got it working...I was just starting to look in the parts bin

    Now I guess I don't have to
    i think it was my ram now. you have to jump through hoops to get 4 sticks working on this board. it's weird though, just the way it happened i had no clue, it seemed like the cpu took a crap for sure.

    ah well, by the time i get all the kinks worked out it should be an improvement for sure. teamspeak might seem about the same, but hopefully i'll get my media server going as well.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by zetachi View Post
    yeah my parts bin is looking rather desolate as of late. Mostly parts 5-10 yrs old. I'm using the last of the decent parts to build a rig for my friends and the one for my son.
    i hear ya, the parts i'm using in the server now are my top of the line spares, was saving them for an eventual htpc, but i always give in and rebuild my server instead

    maybe i'll use my current desktop hardware down the road for the htpc.

    i thought for sure my step dad would even have a spare, we found a couple boxes, but no cpu's, doesn't know where they went.

    doesn't matter now, this 170 is a great overclocker, gonna bump it up, not to what i used to run it, but a little less for max stability, plus i'm using an xp90 cooler now instead of my ultra120.

    still have a couple athlon xp's around somewhere, but most of my spare parts are likely dead by now.
    Last edited by Brandito; 03-16-2009 at 07:05 PM.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,953

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by zetachi View Post
    yeah my parts bin is looking rather desolate as of late. Mostly parts 5-10 yrs old. I'm using the last of the decent parts to build a rig for my friends and the one for my son.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brandito View Post
    i hear ya, the parts i'm using in the server now are my top of the line spares, was saving them for an eventual htpc, but i always give in and rebuild my server instead


    still have a couple athlon xp's around somewhere, but most of my spare parts are likely dead by now.
    I finished looking around no more X2's...Several Socket A's though

    I seem to be in the same boat; 5-10 year old parts are the only things left.


  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,254

    Re: TS server

    I think I might have a single core 939 and maybe a socket A but nothing newer than that. I don't upgrade enough any more to generate spare parts.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    Re: TS server

    now i'm just having trouble getting this thing to run with 4 sticks at anything other than stock clocks. even using a divider to keep the ram at stock speed it's a no go.

    i am matching two different brands though, timings are all the same though.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,953

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandito View Post
    now i'm just having trouble getting this thing to run with 4 sticks at anything other than stock clocks. even using a divider to keep the ram at stock speed it's a no go.

    i am matching two different brands though, timings are all the same though.
    Crank up the volts


  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    30
    Posts
    15,813

    Re: TS server

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Crank up the volts
    i have, cranked the ram to 2.98v and still a no go. anyone remember what ddr would take as far as voltage goes? the manual suggests 2.8v for 4 sticks, i'm using the 2.8v setting in the bios but it reads as 2.9, i would think that's enough for stock clocks. i even relaxed the timings quite a bit.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •