Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 83
  1. #46
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Well, this is the initial problem. I can't connect! Desktop, ethernet cable to router, does not work. It says the network did not assign a network addess to the computer.
    .


    You need to follow suggestions and give us answers to them to help things along (swiftly)

    Was the ping 127.0.0.1 to the desktop's NIC successful ?

    Did you use the (tested) Ethernet cable to connect the Desktop to the router ?

    If the cable is OK and the NIC is OK, then, with the correct config (DHCP, etc.) of the NIC, things should work as well as with the laptop ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  2. #47
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    0% loss when pinging. Using tested ethernet cable. still showing limited or no connectivity.

  3. #48
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    0% loss when pinging. Using tested ethernet cable. still showing limited or no connectivity.
    .


    Did you use the (tested) LAN port on the router, or another one ?

    Is the NIC connector (visually) OK ??


    .
    Last edited by noorman; 05-12-2009 at 11:28 AM. Reason: added 2nd line of text


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  4. #49
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Everything is the same. Like I said in the beginning, this was working for a few days, and then stopped.

    I can't seem to renew the IP.
    Last edited by KDuniverse; 05-12-2009 at 11:32 AM.

  5. #50
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Everything is the same. Like I said in the beginning, this was working for a few days, and then stopped.

    I can't seem to renew the IP.
    .


    To Renew an IP Lease, you first need to Release the current one.

    If you boot the 'Desktop' and the NIC doesn't get an IP address automatically, there is something wrong there and then / no Release/Renew will be able to fix that !

    If you connect the LAN (Ethernet) cable, do any NIC card lamps/leds light up (and or Router lights/Leds) ?

    They should indicate a connection and the type (10MB, 100MB or 1GB speed by colour code, etc.)


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  6. #51
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    This is what's happening, when I boot, I don't get one automatically. There is something wrong here. My port on the router is lit. Solid green.

  7. #52
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    This is what's happening, when I boot, I don't get one automatically. There is something wrong here. My port on the router is lit. Solid green.
    .


    What does that indicate according to your router manual ?

    Just that things are connected up, I guess ...

    What happens when you boot the PC ? Does the solid green ever flicker ?
    ( data transmission )


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  8. #53
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    I don't know where the manual is for the router, but I plugged my laptop into another port and the light blinks occasionally. I would assume when data is transferring or something? The other is still solid.

    The light flickers on shutdown, and then on restart. It actually flickers occasionally now, but without my wireless connection, I'm unable to connect to the internet. Still getting limited or no connectivity and the ip address issue.
    Last edited by KDuniverse; 05-12-2009 at 01:39 PM.

  9. #54
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    I don't know where the manual is for the router, but I plugged my laptop into another port and the light blinks occasionally. I would assume when data is transferring or something? The other is still solid.

    The light flickers on shutdown, and then on restart. It actually flickers occasionally now, but without my wireless connection, I'm unable to connect to the internet. Still getting limited or no connectivity and the ip address issue.
    .


    Now you lost me ...

    I thought you had succeeded to connect to Internet wired to the router (with the laptop)

    If the Desktop can't do that with the same cable and on the same port, the problem has to be in the Desktop ...


    You tried and succeeded in pinging the 127.0.0.1 (Desktop NIC); now try pinging the IP address of the router !

    The NIC led should flicker and you should get access to the router (if it leased you an IP address).


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  10. #55
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Yes, that's what I'm saying. My desktop can't do what my laptop does. That's the problem. I can't connect via ethernet cable to my router with the desktop.

    ok, I'm confusing myself now too! I must have pinge with the wireless still connected earlier. It will not ping. 100% loss.

  11. #56
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Yes, that's what I'm saying. My desktop can't do what my laptop does. That's the problem. I can't connect via ethernet cable to my router with the desktop.

    ok, I'm confusing myself now too! I must have pinge with the wireless still connected earlier. It will not ping. 100% loss.
    .

    Can there be something blocking data going outbound ?

    That could also explain the sudden loss of communications.

    You could test that by Booting in 'Safe mode with Networking', then try pinging the router again (or just by running an ipconfig /all) ...
    ( that will boot Windows but without lots and lots of other stuff having been started up and running ) !


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  12. #57
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: IP Address Issue

    As I suggested in my last post, I think the wired NIC in the laptop is faulty. It'll cost ~$10 to get yourself a cheap ethernet card and slap that in. If the current one is onboard, disable in BIOS and forget about it.

    Pinging is futile if you don't have an IP address or if any other networking devices are working (wireless, firewire, etc)

  13. #58
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    My Laptop isn't the issue, my desktop is.

  14. #59
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    My Laptop isn't the issue, my desktop is.
    .


    You jumped my post ...

    Did you do the test I asked for ?

    What was the outcome ?


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  15. #60
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    No, didn't get to it yet. Will do shortly.

    Does "unable to connect to your DHCP server" mean anything?


    Test was pure fail.
    Last edited by KDuniverse; 05-13-2009 at 02:46 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •