Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 83
  1. #61
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    No, didn't get to it yet. Will do shortly.

    Does "unable to connect to your DHCP server" mean anything?


    Test was pure fail.
    .

    Since you told me that even in 'Safe Mode with Networking' you couldn't get it to work, that means it 's not a firewall problem (or other blocking software), I would say that that means that your computer is configured to ask for an IP address from a DHCP server (the one in your router in this case) but does not get it because of the lack of connection or because the router isn't configured right or is broken.

    Since your laptop managed to get an IP (like you told us) and was able to connect to Internet, it seems clear that there 's a problem with the connection to or the NIC in the Desktop ...

    If you want the Desktop to work with still, I would buy myself a cheap NIC (2nd hand even) and install that in the Desktop.
    Disable the onboard NIC in Bios and install the new NIC's drivers and away you go.


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  2. #62
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    no way to test this card further? This is an onboard deal, and just over a year old, it's an asus board.

  3. #63
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    no way to test this card further? This is an onboard deal, and just over a year old, it's an asus board.
    .


    It 's not the first time that a NIC goes bust, even an onboard one.

    They don't cost very much and they are always handy.

    Very quickly installed; they are just as big as they need to be for the socket and only a thumb high ...

    I think we 've tested all we could, with the aid of your laptop and the cable with which you got it to work.
    I can't think of anything we would have forgotten to do (that was able to being tested).

    Maybe someone else can jump in with another (new) idea, but I 've run out at this point in time.

    Have you visually checked the socket of the onboard NIC (Ethernet) for bent or broken pin(s) ?
    ( that 's the last idea )


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  4. #64
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    I haven't visually inspected anything yet. I will tonight. Thanks for all the help guys!

  5. #65
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Would I still be able to set up a static ip without wireless?

    Also, is there a diagnostic tool to test the card?

  6. #66
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Would I still be able to set up a static ip without wireless?

    Also, is there a diagnostic tool to test the card?
    .


    If the card is bad not; you can always try, but you 'd need an address in the 192.168.*.* range, preferably outside of the DHCP range of the router.

    No diagnostic tool that I know of ...
    ( I believe nVIDIA has one for their onboard NICs, although I think that 's really a cable test )


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  7. #67
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Is this possible that it just works now? I don't know what happened, but now I have a connection. I'm connected with an ethernet cable through my router. Weird....

    I noticed my speeds aren't that impressive though. Is there anything I can check or do to get my max speeds via ethernet cable?

  8. #68
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Also, when connected directly through the modem, I can't get a network address. Why could that be?

    Thanks

  9. #69
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Is this possible that it just works now? I don't know what happened, but now I have a connection. I'm connected with an ethernet cable through my router. Weird....

    I noticed my speeds aren't that impressive though. Is there anything I can check or do to get my max speeds via ethernet cable?
    .


    You can check Internet communication efficiency with this Tool here: http://www.dslreports.com/tweaks/

    For this, you need to have the Java plug-in installed to run it
    http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

    It will check your Windows settings for Internet communications to minimize data losses and max. throughput.

    If this is OK and you still have a slow connection, you 'll have to look further, f.e. your connection to WAN and/or the ISP ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  10. #70
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Just my luck. Got "The test server is unreachable
    Error: No route to host: connect".

  11. #71
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    Just my luck. Got "The test server is unreachable
    Error: No route to host: connect".
    .


    I can reach it without issue


    You 'd better try a traceroute to that site to try and find the kink in the link ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  12. #72
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    .

    I get this ...

    Tracing route to www.dslreports.com [209.123.109.175]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.*.*
    2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.*.*
    3 11 ms 13 ms 13 ms d51537001.access.telenet.be [*.*.*.*]
    4 10 ms 9 ms 7 ms dD5E0C521.access.telenet.be [*.*.*.*]
    5 8 ms 6 ms 10 ms dD5E0FD59.access.telenet.be [*.*.*.*]
    6 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms dD5E0FD8E.access.telenet.be [*.*.*.*]
    7 8 ms 9 ms 10 ms so-1-0-0-dcr2.bru.cw.net [195.2.2.73]
    8 19 ms 24 ms 10 ms so-5-0-0.dcr1.bru.cw.net [195.2.25.25]
    9 12 ms 11 ms 14 ms so-6-0-0.dcr2.amd.cw.net [195.2.25.85]
    10 14 ms 11 ms 11 ms xe-0-3-0.xcr1.amd.cw.net [195.2.25.109]
    11 19 ms 20 ms 19 ms xe-0-1-0.xcr1.lsw.cw.net [195.2.25.101]
    12 99 ms 101 ms 98 ms linx.peer.nac.net [195.66.224.94]
    13 97 ms 97 ms 96 ms 0.e1-1.tbr1.ewr.nac.net [209.123.10.129]
    14 100 ms 98 ms 101 ms 0.e1-4.tbr1.oct.nac.net [209.123.10.122]
    15 98 ms 98 ms 98 ms vlan804.esd1.oct.nac.net [209.123.10.2]
    16 98 ms 99 ms 99 ms www.dslreports.com [209.123.109.175]

    Trace complete.
    .


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  13. #73
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    what's a traceroute?

  14. #74
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by KDuniverse View Post
    what's a traceroute?
    .


    You run that in a DOS-command box (Command Prompt) -->
    Start / Programs / Accessories / Command Prompt

    At the prompt type: tracert <space> weblink

    The hit the ENTER button

    You should (in time) get something alike the report that I posted
    It shows you the 'hops' data takes to get to the destination (hopping from one node to another)


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  15. #75
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    303

    Re: IP Address Issue

    Ok, that worked. It looks a little different than yours though. 12, 13, and 14 all timed out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •