Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Nvidia OC

  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Nvidia OC

    When I had my 6600gt I remember there being a program that you downloaded that unlocked your Nvidia card. It was something that you added to your registry key. I can't remember the name, anyone know what I'm talking about?
    • XFX GeForce gtx 260
      GSkill PC2 6400 RAM 4GB
      Seagate 640GB HDD
      AMD Phenom 8650 Toliman
      Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    35
    Posts
    15,846

    Re: Nvidia OC

    coolbits, not sure if it still works, but that's what it was called.

    might as well use riva tuner though.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Nvidia OC

    nVidia has a similar program available for current cards. aAdds itself to the driver. look around the site, not hard to find.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    35
    Posts
    15,846

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    nVidia has a similar program available for current cards. aAdds itself to the driver. look around the site, not hard to find.
    duh, forgot all about ntune

    yeah just get ntune
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    43

    Re: Nvidia OC

    I would recommend not using nTune. I have however used nTune with relative ease on a 9600GT card coupled with a nForce 430 chipset.

    However, if you don't have a nVidia chipset it can be quite buggy and unstable.

    Coolbits or RivaTuner may be your best bet.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    35
    Posts
    15,846

    Re: Nvidia OC

    ntune accomplishes the same thing as riva tuner.

    i don't see why you'd need a mobo with an nvidia chipset
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    43

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandito View Post
    i don't see why you'd need a mobo with an nvidia chipset
    Yes, one does not need to have an nForce chipset for nTune to work correctly. I have personally had some stability issues when using the program with my current setup, as well as two other setups. All three of these setups are using 64-bit Vista, however the 9600GT with the nForce 430 has 32-bit Vista installed.

    I have no idea if OS is the problem, there are just too many variables without further research.

    Most of the time, when I had it installed of course, nTune would crash when attempting to sign the disclaimer giving access to the nTune features within the nVidia control panel. On one of the setups the computer would freeze when attempting to apply ANY changes. Uninstalling the nTune software and using RivaTuner or coolbits was successful and stable. (as overclocking goes)

    These are just recommendations, user experience may vary.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    130

    Re: Nvidia OC

    I've seen what HyperMinimalism is talking about on several non-Nvidia chipset machines. On 2 identical systems, I've seen it run perfectly on one and cause app freezes on the other, all without actually touching a single setting in Ntune, just having it installed and running.
    Ci7 920@3.6Ghz/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600mhz/EX58-UD3R/AMD Radeon HD4870 512/4x 750Gb Seagate 7200.11
    C2Q Q6600/4Gb G.Skill Pi Black DDR2 800/IP35 Pro/8800GTS 640mb/2x 200Gb SATA Caviar

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Hey guys, I downloaded NTune and OC'ed my video card a little. Seems to be running stable and the temps are steady at 71-73 degrees Celsius while gaming. I was going to ask if these are in range of acceptable temps? All cooling is stock on the card. Also I tried to use the NTune tuning feature and it said I must have a Nvidia2 Chipset or later to use. Am I doing something wrong here?
    • XFX GeForce gtx 260
      GSkill PC2 6400 RAM 4GB
      Seagate 640GB HDD
      AMD Phenom 8650 Toliman
      Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G

  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Nvidia OC

    You have an AMD chipset, not nVidia.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Yeah that's what I figured. I just thought above they said there were able to use NTune on a non Nvidia chipset. I guess I read it wrong.
    • XFX GeForce gtx 260
      GSkill PC2 6400 RAM 4GB
      Seagate 640GB HDD
      AMD Phenom 8650 Toliman
      Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    43

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Quote Originally Posted by Brad311 View Post
    Yeah that's what I figured. I just thought above they said there were able to use NTune on a non Nvidia chipset. I guess I read it wrong.

    You didn't read it wrong. The nTune software, if used in conjunction with an nVidia chipset, allows overclocking of the chipset. In other words there are more features available, such as the system tuning feature, within the nTune software. If one merely has an nVidia GPU card then only the overclocking features for the card are available.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Nvidia OC

    I think id rather use coolbits then ntune

    In any case just use rivatuner best all around video tweaker

  14. #14
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,450

    Re: Nvidia OC

    for an nvidia card I'd use the EVGA precision tool


  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Nvidia OC

    Exactly so.
    Quote Originally Posted by HyperMinimalism View Post
    You didn't read it wrong. The nTune software, if used in conjunction with an nVidia chipset, allows overclocking of the chipset. In other words there are more features available, such as the system tuning feature, within the nTune software. If one merely has an nVidia GPU card then only the overclocking features for the card are available.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •