Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,793

    hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    An unusual question i know,but i want to avoid the whole dual booting deal all together.For my own purposes i want have identical os's in the machine and that's the only way i know to make it not a headache.

    Is there something that can be hooked up to all drives and just able to switch them via a piece of hardware?Thanks-
    Biostar 790gx am2+
    Phenom II x4 720
    Sapphire Ati 4850(512mb)
    raid-0 x2 36gb raptors
    g.skill 2x2gb ram
    750 watt psu
    28 inch Hanns-g lcd monitor

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,975

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    Quote Originally Posted by Banditblue View Post
    An unusual question i know,but i want to avoid the whole dual booting deal all together.For my own purposes i want have identical os's in the machine and that's the only way i know to make it not a headache.

    Is there something that can be hooked up to all drives and just able to switch them via a piece of hardware?Thanks-
    Are the Os's on separate physical drives?

    If they are just switch the boot drives in bios...I'm unfamilar with that particular board; however most recent bios(es) let you boot to a different drive at boot by pressing a "f" key (f1, f2, etc.)


  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,793

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    Hmm,so i see what you are saying,but i also would like the non booting drives to be invisible,not just relettered?.Dangit,lol,i have this boot manager called gag that i can't seem to get rid of now,lol.
    Biostar 790gx am2+
    Phenom II x4 720
    Sapphire Ati 4850(512mb)
    raid-0 x2 36gb raptors
    g.skill 2x2gb ram
    750 watt psu
    28 inch Hanns-g lcd monitor

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    Might not be the cheapest way but I put my drives in Vantec caddys that can be shut off via a key.

    That way you can choose which Drive gets power
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,793

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    Back again.I get distracted sometimes.Anyways @richard,that is not too shabby looking option.Basically i could buy 2 of those for my 2 drives and i'm set,right?

    Meanwhile,back at the ranch,i found that i could reimage xp and throw it on the 2nd drive.Then,using bios option to disable 1st xp drive,it would still show up but boot the other drive just fine(after one hardware reconfig boot,total,ever,tested.).Only problem there is i can still have acess to my other drive.Maybe there is some software hiding a drive thingy after i am all booted up in said drive?That would be ok,too if it just required a couple clicks or what not.(edit:silly me,just disable other drive in device manager)<(not bulletproof but would suit my needs)
    Last edited by Banditblue; 07-09-2009 at 06:40 PM.
    Biostar 790gx am2+
    Phenom II x4 720
    Sapphire Ati 4850(512mb)
    raid-0 x2 36gb raptors
    g.skill 2x2gb ram
    750 watt psu
    28 inch Hanns-g lcd monitor

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    I use the caddys because of the way my computers are configured... We have a total of 7 computers in the house split up on 3 levels. Each computer is pretty much dedicated to a specific function but they all have some files in common. With the caddys I can move my storage discs from computer to computer and know the files are all up to date.

    Some of the files are also OS specific so I can also change the OS drives at will.

    But you are not talking about anything as extreme as I use mine for.

    Just boot up using F8 and select the HDD of your choice to boot from.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,207

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    Not inexpensive buy any means but...

    http://www.cooldrives.com/4posaiisw3ba.html
    ......
    ................. Heat .....................

    24/7 speeds
    w/c - * GA-EP45-UD3P - Q9650 - 3737 - 9x415 * ...cpu-z... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2925 - 9x325 * ... cpu-z ... w/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 170 - 2826 - 9x314 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTX260
    w/c - * A8N32-SLI-Dlx - Opty 165 - 2250 - 9x250 * ... cpu-z ... a/c - GTS250

  8. #8
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: hard drive switching hardware for sata devices?

    I like that option.

    Two of the 2 switch units are about the same price as the 4 unit switch.

    Two units would allow an OS drive to be on plus a storage drive.

    You said you wanted to be able to switch your OS drives.

    If you have more than one storage unit that would be the way to go.

    And it is cheaper that a bunch of HDD caddys.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •