Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    17

    Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I've very interested in tis board, but several user comments on sites like NewEgg report severe installation and operational issues on this board. I'm planning the Win 7 64 Bit Professional and am keeping my fingers crossed that these comments are from those who can't really put together a PC.

    Also, As I'll be using Photoshop and 3DStudio Max, I thought I'd load all 4 slots with 2gig sticks for a total of 8 GB. I've heard this is an issue with the 790 chipset. Will I be taking a performance hit with 4 slots full vs 2 slotts full?

    This board hasn't seemed to get a lot of martket saturation yet. As i wait for answers, my mouth is watering for the x4 II 965! I hope it's a winning combination.

    BTW, for those who are wondering, for some uncontollable issues, I need the MicroATX board.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    DFI boards are meant for hardcore overclocking,if your intrested in that then by all means get it.If not then maybe something else might suit you.

  3. #3
    Joined
    May 2004
    Posts
    1

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    My brother has it working on xp x64 just fine. Should have no problems with other 64 bits operating systems.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    This message is brought to you via Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. 20 minute install.dont have the gx version but it shouldnt matter
    asrock x370 taichi,16g gskill flarex3200 wd250mu 3wdblack 1 tera
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    1

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I have a DFI DK 790 FXB-M3H5 with 965 BE 125 Watt and running Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit just fine.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I've had trouble getting Vista 32 and 64 as well as Win7 32 and 64 to install on my new setup (DFI 790FXB M3H5, Phenom X4 965BE, 2x2GB Gskill Ripjaws 1600DDR3). I'm running XP32 now and it installed with no trouble at all. Vista and Win7 will both boot from the DVD and do the initial "Windows setup" by copying files then it just goes to a blank screen. I've tried any and all I could think of and still having issues.
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Are you running the ram at 1600,Ive got the same ram 2x2g When installing I had it at 1333,installed in 20 minutes.Not a glitch yet.
    asrock x370 taichi,16g gskill flarex3200 wd250mu 3wdblack 1 tera
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I've tried cutting the ram back to 1333 and still no love. The night I got the parts I was able to get Vista64 on it and ran good. I then decided to put XP on it for some benches and can't get Vista64 back on it. I have Win7 64 on it now as I type but the system feels slower and more sluggish than ny first PC, P3 500!!! I've install the SB driver for 7, done all the updates and still won't run 3d apps saying the system needs at least 128Mb of ram.

    I'm a step away from RMAing this board.
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Well I flashed the bios to the newest version when I had XP loaded on it and it seems the new bios flash was bad. I went back to to the initial release 3-06 and i've got Vista 64 loaded and running good so far..
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I was gonna say if Vista ran good, pos as it is,couldnt be the mobo,maybe some traces of xp fouling things up,but as always look back to any changes made as to when things went wrong.You want to try slow,running XP in virtual on W7 Pro.Bios change is always a good chance to fubar things. Both my wifes and mine fly with the W7 64.
    asrock x370 taichi,16g gskill flarex3200 wd250mu 3wdblack 1 tera
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Thanks for the replies THOMAS..

    I have Win7 64 installed now and it installed fast as you mentioned above. Man, the bios flash really gave me a workout pinpointing it as the problem but with a good flash this rig is flying with my 965BE running 19x210.
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  12. #12
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Thats cool,Im lovin mine,just waitin on the 890 chipset to transfer this mobo to my workplace comp.Bringing the NF4/opty home for a htpc.Its funny its still the fastest pc at my work.
    asrock x370 taichi,16g gskill flarex3200 wd250mu 3wdblack 1 tera
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Quote Originally Posted by THOMAS LYNN View Post
    Thats cool,Im lovin mine,just waitin on the 890 chipset to transfer this mobo to my workplace comp.Bringing the NF4/opty home for a htpc.Its funny its still the fastest pc at my work.
    I killed my opty 170 about 4-5 months ago. My son had been using with my handed down DFI NF4 Ultra D and I was cleaning it and went take off the Thermalright 120 HS and the damn chip pulled out of the socket and bent some pins and busted a couple off. The DFI Ultra D died a couple months later while running with my Sandy 3700+.. My daughter is still running my old DFI NF3 250GB with a 3400+ and it's going strong..
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  14. #14
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    1,602

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    Bummer! I always twist them a little and slide them sideways till they break free,Heard too many scare stories. Ceramique seems to let go all right once it gets moving sideways.Crossing fingers as I contemplate transfering over my 965 BE.
    asrock x370 taichi,16g gskill flarex3200 wd250mu 3wdblack 1 tera
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  15. #15
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Flintstone
    Posts
    206

    Re: Is there any truth to 790GX-M3H5 having issues with 64 bit OS?

    I had a x2 3800 in a Ultra d @3GHz and it scored better in windows 7 WEI than a Pentium D dual core @3.2GHz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •