Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Hi,

    Got 2x 4870 with with the crossfire bridges installed and i can't see the option in CCC to enable crossfire.

    I've uninstalled and reinstalled drivers, tryed older drivers. installed cards in different order etc

    I have a P6T Deluxe V2 MB with latest firmware running Window 7 Build 7600
    1000W PSU with the 2 6pin plugs for each card

    This is the Hardware info from CCC

    Primary Adapter
    Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
    Graphics Chipset ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Device ID 9440
    Vendor 1002

    Subsystem ID 21BC
    Subsystem Vendor ID 1458

    Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
    Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16

    BIOS Version 011.019.000.010
    BIOS Part Number 113-ABXXXXX-XXX
    BIOS Date 2009/02/11

    Memory Size 1024 MB
    Memory Type GDDR5

    Core Clock in MHz 750 MHz
    Memory Clock in MHz 900 MHz
    Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 115.2 GByte/s


    Disabled Adapter
    Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
    Graphics Chipset ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Device ID 9440
    Vendor 1002

    Subsystem ID 21BC
    Subsystem Vendor ID 1458

    Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
    Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16

    BIOS Version 011.019.000.010
    BIOS Part Number 113-ABXXXXX-XXX
    BIOS Date 2009/02/11

    Memory Size 1024 MB
    Memory Type GDDR5

    Core Clock in MHz 750 MHz
    Memory Clock in MHz 900 MHz
    Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 115.2 GByte/s

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,611

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Do you need to enable crossfire within the BIOS?


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    367

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Well, I guess first off you should install each card separately and make sure they work that way. Before you do that though, mark the different cards, and be sure to identify the one that is listed as "disabled". Once you have made sure that both work in single fashion, swap the placement of the cards so the disabled one is now the primary card.

    Make sure you use the latest Cat 9.8 drivers that have been released today (at least I think they have).

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    30,892

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    I think Crossfire tab or whatever with check box was not there in earlier versions of the driver and they added it later with new driver version.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Both cards tested and work fine. Got the latest CCC.
    Still no CF option in CCC.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,694

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    have you tried attaching the monitor cable to the other card?



    ud

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    30,892

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    Do you need to enable crossfire within the BIOS?
    No, as far as I know, requirements are crossfire cards that are working properly, crossfire cable, power supply that is feeding enough power and a crossfire motherboard and drivers or OS that supports it. After the requirements are satisfied the box should appear in the CCC to be enabled.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    367

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Which slot do you have the 2nd card sitting in?

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    443

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Have you tried reversing the bridges (put the words around the other way), or just having one bridge?

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    Yes I have connected a monitor to the output of the 2nd card and it is a clone of the output from the 1st card. Power is not an issue as the card displays a warning befor boot up if there is a problem. I have tryed reversing the crossfire jumper and also tryed 1 only. The cards are in the top 2 slots of the motherboard and is both pci-e 2.0. In the bios the only setting is for the 2nd and 3rd pci-e slot: Auto, x8 x8 or x16 x1. I tryed all 3 combos. Did I miss anything?

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    OK i just checked the Gigabyte website to see if they have anything... found a bios update for the card. Couldn't find any notes or info about the different bios versions but thought I'd give it ago (what have I got to loose)
    So I did it one Card at a time. Did the 1st card rebooted still working... took it out and did the 2nd card and it still worked.
    Put both cards in with 1 crossfre jumper and when windows came up so did a CCC with the crossfire option. YAY!!!!

    Now to go test some games out...

    PS
    Thanks for all the posts

  12. #12
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    lol@bios update. thats just tarded...good luck man!!!

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    30,892

    Re: Help crossfire not working 2nd Adapter Disabled

    It's working now, good. You paid for I think so obviously it made sense to do what it takes to get it working properly. so, it's working now and it is corrected. I am satisfied.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •