Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    Hello,

    I decided to upgrade my RAM and purchased a new stick on newegg. However, when installed on my computer with my old stick of RAM, my computer would not read it. I tried installing the ram by itself and my computer read it fine. I tried both slots individually and they both work, just not together. As far as I know both RAM sticks are 1Gb DDR2 533MHz. I am thinking it is a problem with the settings on the motherboard or compatibility issues with the ram.

    My motherboard is: ECS (Elitegroup) RC410L/800-M
    My old RAM is: HYS64T128020HU-37-A (I have no idea who the manufacturer is)
    My new RAM is: Kingston KVR533D2/1GR (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-151-_-Product)

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    at least it posts.

    with both sticks, enter the bios, load default settings, save and exit.

    then try loading optimal settings.

    see if either helps.


    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    Still no luck.

    I looked through all the settings and the only thing I saw with memory in the title was "Shared Memory Size" and it was set at the default 64Mb.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    i'm at a loss too. i think we'll rate this well above a noob question.

    what does cpuz show? look in both the mem and spd tab(there is a button to view memory in both slots).

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php


    ud

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    It shows that both are working. However windows still shows only 1.0 Gb on system settings. Is it possible that this is an error with windows?

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    i believe so. i can't remember what causes the error though.



    ud

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,925

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    Make sure to run windows update in custom mode (if you're on XP) to get applicable hardware updates. ( That's my best guess )
    My heatware

    All students need to check out www.dreamspark.com

    Proudly NOT a console or subscription/micropayment gamer.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    35

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    I always tell people you should never use a old stick and a new stick together. You should always buy the full amount of ram your wanting for the system. I havnt seen alot of systems that dont have confliction issues useing old stock ram and new ram. Sorry but I would have to say it would be best to buy another stick of the same ram you just bought and go with that.

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Greenfield, Wisconsin
    Age
    26
    Posts
    702

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    Quote Originally Posted by Bman10 View Post
    I always tell people you should never use a old stick and a new stick together. You should always buy the full amount of ram your wanting for the system. I havnt seen alot of systems that dont have confliction issues useing old stock ram and new ram. Sorry but I would have to say it would be best to buy another stick of the same ram you just bought and go with that.
    I agree with this, as sometimes the old ram may run at a higher voltage than the new stuff, or maybe have faster timings. Is the old ram in the first slot? Usualy helps because I believe it will default to the old rams timings..

    EDIT: as far as the old ram goes.. throw it in the computer by itself and run CPU-Z and look under memory tab, should tell you what you need to know.
    EVGA 790i Ultra
    Intel 9550 @ 3.922ghz 1.2125v
    ATI 4870x2
    OCZ 2x2gb @ DDR1600 7-6-6-21 @ 1.9v
    OCZ Game Xstream 700w
    4x80gb WD Sata2 in Raid 0
    40" Samsung 4071 @ 1080p
    Custom Waterloop on CPU and Video
    Thermaltake Tsunami case (Black)
    7 Ultimate 64-bit

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,925

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    I thought all memory had to run at JEDEC specifications. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3#JE...andard_modules I.E. those
    My heatware

    All students need to check out www.dreamspark.com

    Proudly NOT a console or subscription/micropayment gamer.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4

    Re: Total Noob Question - Computer only Reading One RAM Slot at a time

    CPU-Z is reading both individually at 4-4-4-12 and 1.8V


    I guess one good thing from all of this is that I've learned a lot about RAM. However, I think I'm going to give up. I've been thinking about upgrading to a new computer with a faster processor and this may be a good time! Thanks guys/gals!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •