Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tularosa, New Mexico
    Posts
    10

    XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Greetings,

    Old motherboard died and got a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3L to salvage my processor and 4 gig of DDR2 ram.

    Got it up and running, but the OS can't see the Lan on the motherboard. That makes it useless. There CD didn't help. And Gigabyte wants to check my BIOS on line. HA. The BIOS can see the Lan and tell me the length of the cable.

    Also, where did they hide the NUM Lock switch?

    Thanks.
    W. Kirk Crawford
    Tularosa, New Mexico

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    374

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Um, never was an issue with me. I have so many etherlink adapters kicking around, I just use one which is WinXP compatible to connect to the internet in order to update the driver for the one which isn't supported with the WinXP installer and then remove the NIC I installed when done.

    Ethernet NIC's are so cheap ($12.00 for a 10/100NIC) that it doesn't make sense to abandon your tries so quickly. Besides, if you really wanted to make it work, use a different computer to download the drivers for the Mobo on it's website:
    Code:
    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_Model.aspx?ProductID=2952
    Just copy and paste the link I provided in your address bar of your web browser for the support page and you can download whatever you need.

    I use USB memory sticks to transfer files easy, or my camera memory card with it's reader. Burn a DVD or CD if you don't have one, and even a floppy disk may even work.

    However that is only if you know what an address bar is, what copy and paste is or where your num-lock is on your keyboard.
    Last edited by Pixels303; 10-25-2009 at 11:05 PM.
    Two power supplies in one case (Connected the green wire) and a Thermaltake 550 PSU in the other.
    Two ASUS M2N-SLI Delux Motherboard
    Athlon X2-6000 and a Phenom 9850
    Big azz 11 bay server tower and a regular 4 bay full size tower. (Noname)
    A speedy PCIe based ATI 1950 chipset and a Radeon 5750 video card.
    4 Gig or 2 Gig Kingston brand (Total 6) DDR2-800 memory
    Around 19 Terabytes in 17 hard drives.
    I refuse to use DVD disks as they die by oxidization, get scratched and would take too many of them to write for the data I have.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Does the NIC showup under device manager and are there any unknown devices listed?

    Also which SP is XP updated to?

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tularosa, New Mexico
    Posts
    10

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    Does the NIC showup under device manager and are there any unknown devices listed?

    Also which SP is XP updated to?
    Bryan,

    No, it doesn't show in the Device Manage.

    XP Pro ver. 5.1 SP2.

    Thanks.
    W. Kirk Crawford
    Tularosa, New Mexico

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    The BIOS can see the Lan and tell me the length of the cable.
    The OP mentioned he was able to see it in Bios.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tularosa, New Mexico
    Posts
    10

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Greetings,

    I installed XP Pro twice, and it never did see the network.

    But I got another copy of XP Pro, installed it and it worked. OS now sees the network.

    W. Kirk Crawford
    Tularosa, New Mexico

  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    374

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    The OP mentioned he was able to see it in Bios.
    Device manager is not the Bios.

    Strange how two copies of XP could differ in such a manner that one would not let the network to function and the other would. The packager should catch CRC32 errors while unpacking CAB files while installing the OS, so I am at a loss why that would occur.

    Glad you got things working.
    Two power supplies in one case (Connected the green wire) and a Thermaltake 550 PSU in the other.
    Two ASUS M2N-SLI Delux Motherboard
    Athlon X2-6000 and a Phenom 9850
    Big azz 11 bay server tower and a regular 4 bay full size tower. (Noname)
    A speedy PCIe based ATI 1950 chipset and a Radeon 5750 video card.
    4 Gig or 2 Gig Kingston brand (Total 6) DDR2-800 memory
    Around 19 Terabytes in 17 hard drives.
    I refuse to use DVD disks as they die by oxidization, get scratched and would take too many of them to write for the data I have.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: XP Pro can't see the motherboard Lan.

    Maybe something as simple as enabling the LAN adapter in your BIOS?
    Was what you asked, when the OP already mentioned.

    The BIOS can see the Lan and tell me the length of the cable.
    Strange how two copies of XP could differ in such a manner that one would not let the network to function and the other would.
    Could be a number of slight difference, for instance SP integration or even OEM drivers pre-loads.

    To the OP was there any differences between the versions of the install media?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •