Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 95
  1. #16
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Alright, here is my final system.

    Unfortunately, this system just doesn't work past 3.1ghz, and the issue seems to be related to the processors memory controller. With just a 15.5x multiplier, the system will boot windows and restart about 15 minutes into it. Regardless of what I'm doing. Changing the vcore has no effect at all (increases ranged from 1.350v to 1.42v) -- doesn't seem to need much, since it runs 3.050 ghz without any voltage increase.

    As a last ditch effort, i actually tried undervolting the CPU-NB voltage by .025 to .050, and that actually resulting in somewhat more stable system, but anything less than that, resulted in an unstable system. Trying to increase the NB voltage (was an idea of "making" up the voltage for the HT link) didn't go well. Even decreasing the ht/nb to 5x (1ghz each) didn't do anything.

    Bottom line, 3.1ghz is not attainable...I think this is so strange, because to me, there is either run at stock voltage, or nothing because it becomes unstable.

    The only thing it could be is the psu, it's not a great one, only 530 watts, but i can't justify buying a new one just for this. It will have to wait for my next system.

    Cooling on the processor was 40-42 full load, and when the memory controller undervolt, it peaked at 36c, lol. (Shows you how much heat that generates).

    So, in the end, i have to settle for 3.050 ghz, which is still slightly over 10% increase, so it's not horrible by any means. Increased FSB to 235 (final truly stable bus without having to pump .3v of power into the memory).

    Here's my little easier to read chart.

    speed: 3055 mhz
    fsb: 235
    multi: 13
    ht/nb: 2200 (+.050v to CPU-NB to stabilize)
    ram: 920 mhz (4/4/4/12/16/70ns/) (increased voltage to 2.025)

    in terms of performance, one very noticable increase was with sandra's memory bandwidth, showed nearly a 20% increase!

    Like I said, PSU could be holding me back, or it's the 700sb chipset. Neither is likely to change until i upgrade again, which based on my last system, may not be for another 3 years.

    Anyway, thank you all for your help, and now it's time to overclock the graphics card and call it a day.

    update 1:

    Had to drop the hypertransport back to 1.8ghz, seemed to be causing some stability issues. retesting with some prime.
    Last edited by ozzy983; 11-19-2009 at 04:31 PM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  2. #17
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Well, i think I'm on to something here; despite what I've read, it does seem the memory controller has issues, increasing it to around 1.4ish volts appears to increase system stability; some say it should run along side the cpu core, others say not so. dunno who to believe but the results

    Now time to test this out.

    Update 1: yup, it's as I figured, increase the CPU-NB increases stability, which leads me to the possibility that gigabyte somehow goofed and the voltages are somehow reversed. Any reseach I do indicates that the cpunb may have to be increased slightly to increase stability. so far, as I type on the pc that is priming, it's run for 45 mins, at .050 vcore and 1.25 cpunb. hmm, perhaps I shoudl try getting it running at 3.2 ghz, then those setting will probably get 3.1 stable .

    Update 2: we'll i decided i needed another variable in the equation, and i think i might have stubbled upon something else i had not considered...the operating system. worried i might corrupt windows 7 by the continual reboots, i went into my dual boot with xp. this dual boot was only setup with the bare essentials, not even a graphics card driver. it's sole purpose was a fall back incase i didn't like 7.

    everything just seemed far to convient, that everytime it would crash roughtly 30 minutes into testing, so i'm wondering if prime is really 7 compatible, or possibly xp cannot utilize some of these advanced features. even though they are diabled in the bios, perhaps one them them was installed with 7 and is now trying to run and cannot. also the overdrive works in xp wheras it was changing settings to crazy stuff in 7.

    runnign the amd stability test atm, been running it for 45 minutes, and then system was up another 15 or so before that. again will update as day progresses...way too excited to sleep, lol.
    Last edited by ozzy983; 11-20-2009 at 08:50 AM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  3. #18
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy983 View Post
    ............again will update as day progresses...way too excited to sleep, lol.
    Be warned that's is part of the oc'ing addiction, been there done that quite often!!

    Wish I knew something about Gig boards so I could help , but never have had one. However you are pretty much at what my "stable" is so you're not doing bad. I've seen some "uber" guys get as much as 3.5 but always debate what they are calling stable!

    However watch how tired you are when doing this because I have made things worse by "screwing up" from fatigue........
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 11-20-2009 at 10:51 AM.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  4. #19
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Well, it has to be windows 7, well I suppose it doesn't, but i've been running this amd stability test for 7 hours. Which is fine, since I could get the system to not restart on 7 and it would only last about 30 mins, so it's a step in the right direction.

    Gonna run a 3dmark, pcmark and encode a video with vdub. If all that passes than I'm gonna jump up to 3.2 ghz, and see if it even works.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  5. #20
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    OCCT is one of the best stess suites http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download

    Can't help you with Win7 still running XP (Pro & Home).

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  6. #21
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by jedihobbit View Post
    OCCT is one of the best stess suites http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download

    Can't help you with Win7 still running XP (Pro & Home).
    Hmm, I'm really glad you suggested this program, because if it's accurate, and I believe it is, it confirms what I have suspected all along. The CPU at 3.0ghz was not really stable at the default voltage. It was good enough to get by, probably because everything else was functioning 100%, but not the CPU. I needed a bit of a vcore incrase to get it stable both at stock (15x200) and my overclock test (237x12.5). Set it to .065v increase. This explains why such a drastic voltage increase is need to attain 3.1.

    For the time being, I'm better of in XP because the AMD Overdrive works. It enables me to have slightly finer control over the voltages, allow for very small increases, but mainly I stick to .015v increases on the vcore at a time.

    Also, I found there was a windows version of memtest, which I ran, and found some odd information. Basically, at 6/6/6/18/24, my ram has errors, and quite a few of them. At 5/5/5/15/20, it works flawless after a 1GB block, 3000% coverage. At 5/5/5/18/26, it also runs fine. So, I was running at 6t before, so thinking that was part of my instability.

    What I'm trying to do now, is be far more through. OCCT has some very nice features such as the logs which really help me evaluate my power supply and see if the vcore or other voltages are spiking irregularly. Also, the "power supply" test is a nice stress test for the system, but decided if I'm going to run that for an extended period of time, I better use percison to manually set GPU fan to 90% or so.

    Overall things are going good; but I'm wasted so much time messing around and not taking the time to properly bench and test the system, that half my data is skewed. Now, I'll be taking it one step at a time, and saving myself from having to "redo" it later.

    What I need to do is hook my storage HD back up, so I can listen to some music. But with all the restarting and BSOds i didn't want anything bad to happen to it. But, now, in light of this new information with the voltages, I may be able to do it, because it shouldn't be BSODing much anymore.
    Last edited by ozzy983; 11-21-2009 at 02:18 AM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  7. #22
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy983 View Post
    ..........Overall things are going good; but I'm wasted so much time messing around and not taking the time to properly bench and test the system, that half my data is skewed. Now, I'll be taking it one step at a time, and saving myself from having to "redo" it later........
    ozzy good to hear things seem to be working out!! However don't concider it was time but the learning curve! As some will agree here een my most "organized" attempts at oc'ing are akin to a shotgun pattern.

    As a matter of fact (if I stop killing PSUs) I have a setup that I working with that is giving me fits and has me scratching my head. I've matched a mobo and cpu that I've had with other components for over a yearthat oc'ed nicely. Now I can't get them to oc 10%.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  8. #23
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Yeah, there is definitely a learning curve to all this, and i consider myself to be computer savvy, but this is another ball game entirely.

    I'm actually a bit concerned about the PSU. I thought I bought a 630 watt PSU, but it's actually a 530W. I noticed the Egg has a 750W Corsair for $109 was thinking maybe santa might drop one off for me.

    There are a few voltages, such as the 3.3 (currently running at 3.41-3.42) that are a bit troublesome, and I'm not sure whether it's the PSU or the motherboard.

    I suppose, however, that getting it would be beneficial in either case; since my guess is that PSu would last me for a long, long time. Maybe santa will drop off a new motherboard too, one with the 790x NB and the 750SB

    Well, off to run some more tests, today, I'm going to try and see how far I can push a single core through AMD overdrive, wondering, if possibly, I can get at least 1 to 3.2, even if I gotta run 1 at 3.1 or 3.0.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  9. #24
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    on Santa!

    As far as a PSU is concerned the "common man" user can get away with a cheapie as there is no stress but when you start playing with oc'ing I've seen some nice systems brought to it knees by a funky PSU even to the point of damaging cpus. mobos, and the like.

    Right now I'm even having issues as I've just kilt the second "name brand" unit in two weeks! Heat I think is the issue as I've only been playing with mATX systems.......almost makes me want to go to a "regular" size!
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 11-21-2009 at 03:45 PM.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  10. #25
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Well, in the end, 3.1 seemed to be a pipe dream on this board; while it was more stable in XP, it still wasn't stable enough to be reliable.

    I've come to the conclusion that it's the motherboard holding me back, probably because of the SB700 chipset.

    I may take the plunge and upgrade the board to a 790NB/750SB, but I'll have to see what the wife thinks of that.

    I can sort of justify it because any reviews I see about the Kuma on a 790 chipset show the processor running about 3.4-3.5 GHZ. Some say too, I might be able to unlock one of the other cores, but that seems almost too good to be true; I believe they are dual core processors because the other two don't work. I've heard this is more common in the tri cores, but perhaps that's just because the kuma wasn't as popular and at the end of the dual core line for AMD.

    My goal is that if I could get say another 400mhz out of the processor and by change unlock another core, it'd be like buying another processor.

    I guess I'll see how things go and probably ressurect this thread once I decide what to get; the gigabyte 790 looks appealing, similar bios to what I'm used to and has some nice options, asus also makes some nice boards, but seem more overpriced -- tom's hardware o/c to 3.444ghz with a foxconn, which they considered bottom-mid, so that's hopeful, I guess.

    As you said, never know how "stable" stable really is.

    My system was stable until I tried to encode something, and then the system would just hang. I actually think this is more the northbridge than anything processor related -- since once I got my ram issues squared away, the "processor bsods" and system restarts went away. Even under clocking the northbridge, seemed to cause more harm than good; overclocking it didn't seem the answer either. Changing the HT link was also a dead issue.

    Who knows, for the future, I'll have to pay a bit more attention to overclocking; but I was inspired by the good results others were getting on even the stock cooler; but mine is less than great, but still good. Can't complain about an extra 300mhz per core.
    Last edited by ozzy983; 11-23-2009 at 03:44 PM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  11. #26
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    ozzy, you're findingg out what I did a little while ago.......people will always get wonderful results "other than you". I've gotten to the point that overclocking is a fun exercise that eventually will "abate" enough for one to return to the "real world".

    2.4 upped to 2.9 - 2.95 is, to me, marvelous and to be real you as an operator will not "notice" the dif between 3.1 and 2.8.

    Right now, as I may have mentioned, my issue is trying to get a M3A78-CM and PI X3 8750BE to work like I "want". That mobo with a Kuma was stable at 3.0 and the 8750 on another mobo was good for 3.0. However together while I can boot and do an 8M run of SPi "up there" it is looking more and more that I may have to drop back as far as 2.75GHz to be "totally" stable.

    That's why when you see used items for sale and they tell you what they were able to achive but YMMV is the given.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  12. #27
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Yeah, i think that's true, that it's always a grass is greener sort of deal. I can run prime and all with 3.1 but the system will crash when encoding video, which i need to do often, so it's not an issue of just saying, well it's not something i do all the time.

    everything, including occt will pass an extended test, which i why i'm really starting to doubt it's the processor itself. and it's one of the variables that is not consistently changing, like the northbridge voltage or something odd like that.

    I can somewhat reproduce the symptoms, the bsod and such, by increasing the nb multi, so i'm thinking that's part of the problem right there.

    It definitely was fun to do, and one that I learned alot from. I'm not convinced that I cannot achieve a stable 3.1 or even 3.2, but it's just about trying that one setting or voltage that I haven't. Figured though, I'd give it a few days to mull it over and hopefully, the next time i try, i find that "magic button".

    I'm also starting to think that too low a NB and/or HT freq the worse it is. And I'm starting to wonder if i should be looking at 2000mhz instead of 1800 from the 3.1/3.2 speed.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  13. #28
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy983 View Post
    ........and hopefully, the next time i try, i find that "magic button".

    I'm also starting to think that too low a NB and/or HT freq the worse it is. And I'm starting to wonder if i should be looking at 2000mhz instead of 1800 from the 3.1/3.2 speed.
    Been looking for that majic button for a long time myself! With my mobo the NB-HT frequency "automaticly" goes up with the FSB just like the memory does, so not sure there.

    If overclocking is not your sole passion then I really wouldn't worry about the extra .01 - .05 MHz as that is only for bragging rights and would not be noticed by you! But yes it is time to back off and chill a while.

    Take care!

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  14. #29
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    are you still running the htt up? have you tried your encoding app at 15.5x200?


    ud

  15. #30
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    are you still running the htt up? have you tried your encoding app at 15.5x200?


    ud
    I'm tried all HT/nB settings from 1000mhz up to 2400. And realistically, 1800-2000 seem to be the "sweet" spot. Even when running stable at 2200, i actually notice applications are less responsive. I've also tried running, say a 2000mhz NB with a 1600-1800 HTL, but still, seems to cause more issues running async.

    I may, however, be onto something here. Research is showing that the NB voltage for AM2/+ processor boards should really be set at 1.2V. My motherboard defaults to 1.1V. Not that that is a major difference, but possibly one that could be impeding my progress.

    As of now, I am testing the CPU running at 3060 mhz (15x204), this plateau was previously the spot where it dropped off and was completely unstable. So far, with upping the NB voltage to 1.2 it's passed at 2 hr, 30 minute encode. Good sign.

    I've also moved the tornado fan off the one 12v rail and put it on another; only had 3 cds roms and a few fans, but was thinking it's possible, there was too much of a draw on one rail, better to distribute it more.

    I also upgraded the ati sb drivers, though I doubt that will have any effect, but they were not installed under 7.

    I believe if i can cross this 3060 barrier, I maybe close to getting easy to 3.1.

    My testing config is 15x204, 2000mhz nb/htl (+.1v nb, .025 cpu-nb, .025vcore) seems to be the sweet spot so far.

    Once again, will keep posted of progress.

    And yes, it's almost a sickness to squeeze every last drop out of the cpu, but truth is, that when encoding video, even 100mhz makes a difference (specially when multi-threaded) of 10-15 seconds off the total time. May not seem like alot, but over x amount of videos it adds up.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •