Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 95
  1. #46
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Aside from the voltage, the memory is running complete stock settings; 5-5-5-18-23.

    Honestly, I can run 3.0 ghz at stock voltage, issue isn't the processor I don't think, it's with the motherboard. Random system freezes seem more heat related. Even assuming the core temps are wrong (which I believe they are slightly, under inflated) it's still well below their threshold.

    Also, i don't think it's really unreasonable to expect to get some additional mhz from an overvolt. In this case, all my attempts to do such have been met with failure...this processor -- especially considering it's a BE -- people pay for this.

    I've basically isolated the components to one of two, either the motherboard or the RAM.

    I can run FSB from 225-250 with no issues, in any 3.1 configuration I choose. prime/orthros will run small and large ffts until the cows come home with no errors or crashes. As soon as I run 3dmark it will crash -- something not right there.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  2. #47
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    if it runs prime without error then it isn't a heat issue with the cpu.

    got a spare hd?

    do a fresh install of some os and see if that's where the problem is.

    ud

  3. #48
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    [QUOTE=uddarts;4421056]
    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy983 View Post

    edit: your not trying to run command rate at 1t are you?


    ud
    When I read this last night, I misread it and I thought you said, use a T1 command rate; well, I did, and guess what, it passed 3dmark at 3.1ghz, lol.

    Actually, what I tried was walking the FSB up 1 mhz from 15x multiplier, and recording the results for each one, and seeing where the issue is and what is needed to resolve it.

    I'll tell you, your post gives me a clue, and I believe the issue is the memory, more the bottleneck the memory is causing. The problem is that T1 command is really hard to run on most memory modules, and the speed difference is noticeable, even in 3dmark it yields 300-400 points.

    I can get the PC stable @ 800 mhz (4,4,4,12,24) and get 3dmark to run and finish at 3098mhz (lol 2 shy of my goal).

    Looking over some forums and stuff, it's hard to find people with reasonable overclocks and ddr800 memory, so...i think santa is going to drop off some ddr1066 or 1200.

    Each chipset is different, and I think the 770 requires better memory settings to prevent it from bottlenecking. I could try raising teh NB multi 1 notch but that will also give teh PC a bit of a boost. See if freeing up some extra bandwidth will help by increasing the ht.

    Ud and jedi, I thank you guys for taking the time to help me with this. Been a fun project and even though it's been 2 weeks and many failed attempts, i learned a lot. Even from a diagnostics standpoint what causes what bsods and things. Really great wealth of information.
    Last edited by ozzy983; 12-04-2009 at 06:47 PM.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  4. #49
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by ozzy983 View Post
    Ud and jedi, I thank you guys for taking the time to help me with this. Been a fun project and even though it's been 2 weeks and many failed attempts, i learned a lot. Even from a diagnostics standpoint what causes what bsods and things. Really great wealth of information.
    That's supposedly part of the fun and the good Lord knows how many I've had and needed ud to bail me out!! Glad I may have added a little help to this adventure!

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  5. #50
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    When I read this last night, I misread it and I thought you said, use a T1 command rate; well, I did, and guess what, it passed 3dmark at 3.1ghz, lol.
    ud

  6. #51
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    if it runs prime without error then it isn't a heat issue with the cpu.

    got a spare hd?

    do a fresh install of some os and see if that's where the problem is.

    ud
    I actually dual boot with windows xp 64. And surprisingly enough, there isn't much installed under it. I just had it barebones in case I didn't like windows 7. Needless to say, I like 7, so I never got around to even installing the graphics card under it.

    So, did a few tests in 7 and the only real difference is that 3dmark06 runs better, even scores significantly higher under the same settings (118xx under 7, about 12.3xx under xp) Only 500 points, but still, I'm able to reproduce the results.

    I'm starting to think, if I can get my encodes running right, as of yet, I haven't tried much with them, and my games work, then i'll consider writing 3dmark off as poor programming. Since, even overclocked, setting the affinity to 1 core makes the program pass, eveytime.

    It does still bother me that it crashes, but...what can you do about it. On futuremarks website they say it's not designed for 64 bit oses, so I'm thinking it very well could be an issue.

    I do have a question, for you guys about a ram setting. dram termination. Basically, I have 4 options, 0 ohms, 50, 75 and 150. overdrive seems to default it to 75. i changed it to 50, since I know ohms are a measurement of resistance.

    I can't seem to find much info online about it, but it improved my 3dmark score by 300 points by reducing it. I'd be afraid to drop it to 0, but don't really know exactly what it's doing.

    Cheer,
    oz
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  7. #52
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Basically, I have 4 options, 0 ohms, 50, 75 and 150. overdrive seems to default it to 75. i changed it to 50, since I know ohms are a measurement of resistance.
    oh aren't you special. i just checked the gig 790x and don't see that option. wouldn't have been able to give an answer if it had.

    ud

  8. #53
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Ok, I have another question, if either of you has a Kuma handy.

    What is your CPU-NB voltage set for? After browsing the web, I came across a number of posts saying to increase CPU-NB to 1.30v @ 3.2ish to increase stability.

    Mine is defaulted in the BIOS to 1.325, same as the CPU Core, which apparently is supposed to be 1.275.

    I tested my system @ 3.0ghz, 15x200, 1800mhz ht/nb. I was able to drop the CPU-NB all the way down to 1.2250v before I noticed any adverse effects (namely sandra cpu arith benchmark was consistently lower, not significantly, but larger than margin of error. Increasing to 1.2250 from 1.20 put it back to where i was previously at 1.325v).

    Also, I thought it was odd that continuously in 3dmark the system crashes, so I went into occt and ran the graphics test with error checking on and OMG, it got like 5000 errors in 20 seconds! This graphics card is one of those super clocked versions...so I went into precision and found the issue is with the syncing of the core with the shader. it does run at 740 core with 1100mhz memory, but the shader can't be higher than 1770. Once there, it ran 2 hours with no errors (tested with multiple shaders selected).
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  9. #54
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    my thought is the default nb voltage is 1.20v and not determined by the cpu. i very well could be wrong.

    the ecs board with the kuma lists the nb default at 1.15v.

    the gig 790x with a 550 lists the nb default at 1.20v.


    ud

  10. #55
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Here are the gory detail of my final attempt at oc'ing the Kuma in an Asus M3A78-CM which has the cpu-nb voltage at +50mV (agree with ud on 1.2ishv for stock..........can't remember if I ever gave you a link for some bathroom reading but this is from my attempt at an oc'ing thread http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=462217

    Quote Originally Posted by jedihobbit View Post
    As usual I still can’t keep an organized overclocking record! Much has passed under the bridge since my last entry. The biggest thing is that I acquired a set of Corsair Dominator 1066s to try!



    The Twin2X2048-8500C5DF were picked up with the idea that I would need cooling for the memory once the water cooling was installed. Another thing is I’m now running the mem unganged as seemed to help with the 1066s more than the 800s.

    Anyway I messed around with all kinds of setting expecting wonderful and marvelous things……man what a crash and burn! However after going back to basics and remembering I had two sets of mem timings to set I finally managed to break the 3.2GHz barrier I had with the PC2-6400s. In the S&Gs department I was able to boot once at 13.5 x 248 and do a 1M run of SPi, but it locked up when I tried to use Paint to do the screen shot. Then I was never able to get the system to boot up at that speed again. Found that rather interesting as I tried upping the vcore to 1.5v (max on this board) because the sucessful the 8M run of SPi @ 13.5 x 247 used 1.45v.

    Anyway here is my best “bootable” setting………… 13.5 x 247 for 3.3336GHz

    Now for the “for real” part…….. which is 13.5 x 239 for 3.228GHz

    Interestingly enough cpu-z is picking up the 1066s as 800s.

    So here will be my “final” stable settings unless my RMA’ed G. Skill does different! BTW this was declared stable after stopping a Prime run at 13+ hours.

    Bios Setup Utility

    Configure System Freq / Volts
    CPU Over clocking = 239
    GPU Overclocking = Auto
    PCIE Overclocking = Auto

    CPU Ratio & Voltage
    Proc Freq Multi = 13.5
    Proc Voltage = [Auto] [+50mV] [+100mV] [+150mV]
    Proc – NB Voltage = [Auto] [+50mV] [+100mV] [+150mV]

    Hyper X-port Config
    Hyper X-port Speed = 18
    Hyper X-port Width = [Auto] [4 Bit] [8 Bit] [16 Bit]

    Memory Timing & Voltage
    Memory Clock Mode = [Auto] [Manual]
    Memory Clock Freq = [Auto] [200] [266] [333] [400] [533]
    DRAM Timing Mode = [Auto] [DCT1] [DCT2] [Both]
    CAS = 5
    TRCD = 5
    TRP = 5
    tRTP = [Auto] [2-4 CLK] [4-6 CLK]
    TRAS = 15
    TRC = 25
    tWR = 6
    TRRD = 5
    tWTR = 3
    tRFC0 = 127.5ms
    tRFC1 = 127.5ms
    tRFC2 = 127.5ms
    tRFC3 = 127.5ms

    Memory OverVoltage = 2.1v

    Chipset Voltage
    Chipset OverVoltage = [Auto] [+50mV] [+100mV] [+150mV]
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 12-06-2009 at 11:50 AM.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  11. #56
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Wow! My friend is a genius and I'm, well, not.

    So, my one buddy stops by this morning, he lives in new york, haven't seen him in ages, but he came down because he was tired of hearing me moan online about not being able to overclock my processor. He's not a hardcore overclocker, but he's been around the block, once or twice with the A64's.

    Well, he tries the multiplier and it doesn't work well for 15.5x @ 200. Says that's OK because one of his processors is like that too (so much for the black edition). He actually believes my memory is slowing it down and making things more difficult. So, he said, ok we have to overclock the HTT and be a bit tricky.

    Long story short, we got the FSB to 230 and I said it needed an increase in voltage for the mem, but he said, maybe...So, he upped the memory .025 and memtest was still failing, so he tried another .025 and still failing. So, he upped the CPU nb, and it failed less often, finally at 1.4v on the CPU NB, ram passed @ 1.925v.

    He drew out this really nice diagram for me explaining things. Basically, I was getting the HTT & HTL mixed up, and thinking I was increasing one voltage when i needed to increase others.

    Basically, in a nutshell he said the following:

    Vcore = cpu mhz
    CPU NB = NB freq
    VDimm = memory, usually needed when increasing timings or htt
    Northbridge core = PCI express * he said in newer motherboards this is defined, sometimes it's seperate, but it will control it.
    Southbridge = hyper transport link, said try not to go above 1800mhz and rarely should it ever need an increase.

    So, with that all out of the way; where are we with speed? Well, right now, trying this big post out at 3.150ghz. Had to increase the cpu nb to 1.425 and the cpu vcore to 1.425 temps are decent, but damn I need new cooling.

    Luckily I got this tornado macgyvered to the heatsink.

    I can def run 3.1ghz now, we've tested for 2 hours running 3dmark and resident evil 5 benchmark.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  12. #57
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    good!

    i'll see if i can squeeze a little more out of mine.



    ud

  13. #58
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    Kinda wish I still had the 7750 mounted as it appears the 8750 won't match it! No matter what I do there seems to be a wall at 3.15MHz and so far I can't get it to fold in back ground and be doing something else above 3.00GHz. Might try some prime of OCCT later tonight to see what I get......
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 12-06-2009 at 05:25 PM.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  14. #59
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)



    K, so that is the highest I was able to get to so far today, stable. 3 pass 3dmark, pass resident evil 5 bench, 1 hr of occt power supply test. temps peaked max of 44c.

    You'll notice my vcore is 4.24, but really it's 1.375, I was just getting through a few tests and figured i'd leave it at that, shoudl be good for a few more ticks of the clock.

    I dropped my nb and ht link down a multiplier to try and keep them as close to stock as possible. i'll tell you guys though, even at 1840 with this speed it is extremely fickle! I can see why people try to lower it further, but my system doesn't like that at all, lol.

    I can also run 4-4-4-12-16 ram timings, but loosened them up a bit just to make sure it isn't limiting my overclock.

    voltages are 1.375 vcore, 1.425 cpu nb, 1.150 nb, 1.3 sb, and 1.950 ram.

    sorry image a bit small, new to uploading this stuff, will get the next one bigger.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  15. #60
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: I overclocked, now what? :)

    You may find that your issue is "luck of the draw" as I've seen where two different chips ran in the same identical system give different results. Also it has been know for even to "identically" built systems to give different results.

    I've desided to declare my 8750BE "finished" as the extra 0.1 - 0.2 GHz wouldn't be all that noticable to me for what I do. Managed 12 hrs of Prime while doing GPU folding @ 15 x 200 = 3.0GHz with the mem @ 1066-5-7-7-28-2T. Besides it is going into a "for sale" build anyway!


    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •