Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    First I have to say that I'm totally new on the overclocking world.

    I've been testing numbers of combination to get as much speed possible, but when I go up more the 400 hrz the computer starts to work weird.

    The maximum that I achieve was 3,5 GHz but after a while in Windows I got the blue screen of death.

    on 3.20 Ghz works fine no problems. I tried orthos to stress the system and after 2 hours no problem...

    The machine:

    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 3200 MHz (8 x 400)
    MB: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3
    RAM: 6 GB RAM 2 x 1GB DDR2-800 2x 2GB DDR2-800
    GPU: ATI Radeon HD 4850 (512 MB)
    HDD: Hitachi HDP725050GLA360 ATA Device (500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits

    When I check the RAM section in Everest shows this:



    why shows different numbers? In the BIOS i have that option for the ram on AUTO

    I know that this CPU can go up to 3.94 GHz and I will love to have that speed

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by pablosu; 11-23-2009 at 01:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    The figures are the JEDEC ratings for your RAM, not what they are running at. They are different because you have two different types of RAM on-board. This is never a good idea - I'd remove the 2 x 1GB if I were you. 4GB will be more than enough for most apps.

    Once you've done that, try raising the speed again. But you also need to think about changing the RAM/CPU divider and lowering the RAM speed. If that fixes any Blue Screens, then they were caused by the RAM running too fast (they usually are).


    M

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Well I took away the two 1 GB RAM (so now i hve 4 GB DDR2-800) and I managed to overclock until 3.40 GHz
    But now ORTHOS gave me this error:

    Type: Blend - stress CPU and RAM Min: 8 Max: 4096 InPlace: No Mem: 3838 Time: 15
    CPU: 3400MHz FSB: 425MHz [425MHz x 8.0 est.]
    2009-11-23 22:04
    Launching 2 threads...
    1:Using CPU #0
    2:Using CPU #1
    1:Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.
    1:Press Stop to end this test.
    1:Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
    2:Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.
    2:Press Stop to end this test.
    2:Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.
    1:FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
    1:Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
    1:Torture Test ran 0 minutes 22 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.
    1:Execution halted.


    This is how my BIOS looks like:





    any advices?

    thanks!
    Last edited by pablosu; 11-23-2009 at 04:29 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Make sure you are using the 6-6-6-18 timings at the voltage on the memory sticker.

    Make sure speed step is turned off and maybe jump the north bridge and cpu voltage one notch.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGlasMan View Post
    Make sure you are using the 6-6-6-18 timings at the voltage on the memory sticker.

    Make sure speed step is turned off and maybe jump the north bridge and cpu voltage one notch.
    after reading a lot
    I came with the conclusion that my limitation is my RAM memory
    I'm going to get this one at Wednesday:

    Corsair Dominator TWIN2X PC8500 4GB DDR2

    and this

    Corsair H50 Hydro Series CPU Cooler

    you think I can go higher with that?


    thanks for the answers!
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 OC @ 3200 MHz (8 x 410) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 | XFX ATI Radeon HD 4850 (512 MB) | Micron 2 x 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (6-6-6-18 @ 400 MHz) | Hitachi HDP725050GLA360 ATA Device (500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)


  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    You don't need new memory, you just need to change the ratio of RAM:CPU so that the RAM runs slower at the same bus speed (and thus same CPU speed).

    But if you still have a the standard Intel cooler, then the H50 is probably a good idea.


    M

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Quote Originally Posted by Meridian View Post
    You don't need new memory, you just need to change the ratio of RAM:CPU so that the RAM runs slower at the same bus speed (and thus same CPU speed).

    But if you still have a the standard Intel cooler, then the H50 is probably a good idea.


    M
    and how i change that ratio?

    check the maximum OC that I got http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=845079

    Last edited by pablosu; 11-24-2009 at 03:39 AM.
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 OC @ 3200 MHz (8 x 410) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 | XFX ATI Radeon HD 4850 (512 MB) | Micron 2 x 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (6-6-6-18 @ 400 MHz) | Hitachi HDP725050GLA360 ATA Device (500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)


  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    On the BIOS screen you posted first, you need to change "System Memory Multiplier". Your bus is x425, and your multiplier is x2, so the RAM is running at 425x2 = 850, which it reports on the line below (the right-hand figure). I don't know the board, but I assume that if you scroll to that setting ans click <Enter> you get a selection of choices. Pick a lower one - say 1.75 or whatever. This will lower the RAM speed to (in this case) 743. Initially, try to keep the RAM speed below 800 by adjusting that multiplier.


    M

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Quote Originally Posted by Meridian View Post
    On the BIOS screen you posted first, you need to change "System Memory Multiplier". Your bus is x425, and your multiplier is x2, so the RAM is running at 425x2 = 850, which it reports on the line below (the right-hand figure). I don't know the board, but I assume that if you scroll to that setting ans click <Enter> you get a selection of choices. Pick a lower one - say 1.75 or whatever. This will lower the RAM speed to (in this case) 743. Initially, try to keep the RAM speed below 800 by adjusting that multiplier.


    M
    thats my problem thats the lowest option on the Bios then says Auto :S!
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 OC @ 3200 MHz (8 x 410) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 | XFX ATI Radeon HD 4850 (512 MB) | Micron 2 x 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (6-6-6-18 @ 400 MHz) | Hitachi HDP725050GLA360 ATA Device (500 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)


  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,606

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    At 850mhz you'd probably need a slight voltage increase on the ram to run it at that. My DDR 6400 @ 880 required a total of 1.975v to run 4-4-4-12-16.

    I would do a google for memtest, there is one that runs in windows, and run it, and that would be a good way to start seeing what timings cause memory errors. i found out, that increasing latencies wasn't always a good thing.

    For instance, mine ran find at 5-5-5-18-23, but tried increasing to 6-6-6-18-26, and memtest had 120 errors in 2% coverage, lol.
    Rig:

    Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma @ 3360 Ghz @ 1.475V (14.5x223)
    (NB: 2240, HT: 2015)
    Gigabyte MA-790X-UD4P
    Sparkle GeForce 9800 GTX+ (755core, 1350 mem)
    Onboard sound (yuck)
    4GBs Mushkin DDR800 (6/6/6/18/24 @ 928mhz)
    2x74GBs RAID 0
    2xWD 1TB HD RAID 1
    Plexter DVD Burner
    Rosewill 530W

  11. #11
    Joined
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    8

    Re: Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Overclocked!

    Hardware:
    Intel E8500 3.16GHz (333MHzx9.5)
    Corsair Dominator DDR2(1066) 2x2GB modules
    Gigabyte EP45-DSR3v1
    300GB VelociRaptor
    1.5TB Seagate 7200.12

    I have recently had a problem with my system. I don't know when it started, I believe it was when I popped in some Corsair Dominator RAM sticks. Went with the 1066 modules, figuring this would give me a high overclock ceiling from the standard 333MHz or 667MHz(DDR2) speed of the CPU.

    Well, interestingly, whenever I would overclock my CPU....my computer would BSOD. I wasn't sure what was happening. I would start at the default CPU speed. Run Prime95 and start inching up with the clock rate...never able to pass 348, as it would error out.

    Upon investigating it further....I found that the mobo (GA-EP45-DSR3v1) was launching the memory at the 1066 default speed of the sticks...so whenever I slid up the FSB on the CPU, it would take the memory with it and overclock it as well. Problem is the memory is rated at 1066 and not really anything above that. So stability goes out the window after that 1066 ceiling.

    I was ecstatic that I figured out the problem.

    So the solution, I had to use a memory latch and tell the mobo to start the memory at the latch speed (333). Once I did this, I was in overclocking heaven, reaching 394MHz FSB or 3.74GHz on the Intel stock CPU cooler.

    Also, since I paid for the 1066 memory....and I knew this CPU would never be able to reach 533MHz without some freon cooling system....I decided to use a memory divider or 5:6. So the mobo launches the memory at 400MHz and the CPU at 333MHz. The memory still has another 133MHz before it starts acting flakey. So I have a ceiling of 466MHz FSB for the CPU.

    My CPU started getting warm...about 64C. I have a Xigmatek tower cooler I will be installing this weekend. I've used it in the past with great success.

    I hope my experience will help someone out there who is having issues with their overclocking.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •